We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Manhattan East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Manhattan East to your Saves list
Hilton Manhattan East
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   304 E. 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Formerly Tudor Hotel New York) (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Winter Stay Package
Ranked #200 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
121 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Nice location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

For a luxury and historical hotel, the service does not stand up. I pulled my car up to the front, looking for the valet, and no one was present. I had to park and walk in to find someone to take my car. No one offered to help with the luggage. No one was ever out front to help with a taxi or open the door, etc. (yet there was supposedly a doorman and a bellman?)

As for the room: it was small, but fine. The bathroom ceiling, however, looked like it was going to fall open. It looked wet and moldy - quite gross. I don't know where this multimillion dollar renovation took place...could've fooled me.

For the price, I wouldn't return. I'd rather save my Hilton points for the Waldorf-Astoria or something.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
I am very sorry that your arrival experience at our hotel was unsatisfactory and for the condition of your bathroom. Please be assured that we have addressed these issues and would hope to welcome you back for a much better experience. I would be pleased to make your arrangements personally. I hope you will give us another chance to provide the quality of service so many of our guests have enjoyed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    499
    240
    95
    44
See reviews for
200
381
99
413
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tunis, Tunisia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

At a time when all hotels are fully booked because of the annual meetings of the United Nations, there lies a team of helpful staff that are willing to assist in all sense of the word including finding a room for me in this beautiful bit busy hotel.

The whole team is well groomed, well trained having always a smiling face even when the tides go up.

Room Tip: Choose always the top floors : great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for recognizing our staff for their poise, attentiveness, and caring demeanor during the busiest week of the year at our hotel. Hosting a multitide of guests and dignitaries from around the world during the United Nations General Assembly is a challenge we truly enjoy and we are thrilled that you appreciated our efforts. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Great experience. Staff was nice and friendly, especially the doormen. About 20 minutes from Times Square (walking) and 5 minutes driving. Close to many shops and restaurants that are in walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Many thanks for the nice comments about our friendly staff and our convenient location. We hope to see you again soon ....and a belated Happy Birthday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

the hilton manhattan lives up to 3 star standards. the rooms were small. had room facing a.....WALL. the location is great though. the room was clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. the staff made a few erros with requests so i would rate service as average. the hotel was sufficient for what we required. the area is quite busy and loud at night so may not be good for light sleepers. it was an adequate stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
We would love to have you back so that you can enjoy one of our many rooms with views of the United Nations, the East River or the Chrysler Building. Please accept our apologiy for not providing one of these rooms during your stay with us. We are not certain what "errors" were made, but we appreciate the feedback and we will continue our efforts to correctly provide personal and caring service to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Great location easy access to all business venues and tourist sights, small rooms but this is the case in Manhattan hotels anyway... compact, comfortable and well appointed bedrooms and bathrooms. Staff very friendly front desk staff extremely helpful and genuinely happy to help. Good breakfast, nice bar.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Many thanks for your comments about the convenience of our location and our friendly and accommodating staff. We look forward to welcoming you back for a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Great location walking distance to Times Square and Central Park, Empire State building, Grand Central Station and short walk to the subway to ground zero. Lots of restaurants and pubs to choose from close by. Staff very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed so many historic sites that are convenient to our hotel. Thank you for recognizing the friendly spirit and hospitality provided by our staff. We hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This has agood location no doubt. My office was right next to this hotel , so chose it. Rooms are small in size except the few rooms and you dont feel luxury at all. Many of the 3* hotels are better than this hotel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
We are pleased to know that our hotel is so close and convenient for the business you were conducting during your stay with us. We are a historic landmark hotel with unique and comfortable accommodations and a friendly and caring staff, but we have never claimed to be a luxury hotel. I am sorry we did not meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Manhattan East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Manhattan East

Address: 304 E. 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Formerly Tudor Hotel New York)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#115 Business Hotel in New York City
#120 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#152 Family Hotel in New York City
#169 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Manhattan East 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Tudor Hotel, this Midtown historic boutique hotel was transformed and reopened in 2010 as the Hilton Midtown East. 300 Guest Rooms and Suites located on East 42nd St. Walking distance to Grand Central, Midtown and the United Nations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Manhattan East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Manhattan East Hotel New York City
Tudor Hotel United Nations
Crowne Plaza United Nations
Tudor Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Manhattan East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.