We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend this hotel if you don't need wi-fi” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Manhattan East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Manhattan East to your Saves list
Hilton Manhattan East
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   304 E. 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Formerly Tudor Hotel New York) (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Winter Stay Package
Ranked #204 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
“Recommend this hotel if you don't need wi-fi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The location, the staffs, the cleanliness of the room, overall value is extremely good for anyone not in need of a wi-fi connection. If you need wi-fi connection, the connection this hotel provides if extremely volatile, and often cuts you off.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    504
    242
    96
    45
See reviews for
205
382
101
415
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dover, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Attention to detail, even the smallest details make my stay exceptional. It's location afforded access to the UN building, Time Square, Soho, and everything in between. The staff is courteous and attentive making the stay one of the best I've ever experienced.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankCosentino, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
We are so pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Wer look forward to welcoming you back as your travels bring you to NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Pros
1. The hotel is at a very good location. I feel the location is because, it was a bit away from where all the traffic is. Times Square is about 10-15 walk from here.

Cons

1. Rooms - Extremely Small
2. My location of the room was not good. It seems there was a construction going on. So the window view was not good.
3. Breakfast was ok. I stayed here for 3 nights. The breakfast menu was the same, not much choice in the buffet.
4. The business center is paid which I thought was weird.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankCosentino, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input and apologize we did not better impress you. We will use your comments as we work to improve our guests' satisfaction and we hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Our room was frigid. Maintenance came and said sorry, we can't turn off the air conditioning. $500 a night. Okey dokey. I don't blame the staff...they are actually quite friendly....but that doesn't help when your room is freezing

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sykesville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Great location for Manhattan. Would stay again. Clean and accommodating. Staff was professional and respectful. If you want a great price and be located in a great part of Manhattan, then this location is for you. Location of the hotel has everything you may need within walking one block of hotel. For example, convenience stores, quick breakfast and affordable lunch and dinner options are within one block. If you don't feel like walking the NYC cab service can get you to any high profile terrorist location at $20.00 or less.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankCosentino, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for chosing to stay at the Hilton Manhattan East and sharing your positive experiences from your stay with us. I have shared your commentary with the staff and we Thank You for being a loyal guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Great hotel, convenient location to Grand Central (2 blocks). About 10 blocks walk to Time Square, which was not bad. Not a lot of restaurants in the immediate area,, but you're not far away from anything. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankCosentino, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
We are so pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Wer look forward to welcoming you back as your travels bring you to NYC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, Surrey
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Pretty centrally located for Manhatten at 2nd Ave and 42nd street so Grand Central is just a few blocks away.

Stayed on the 15th floor with nice views towards Queens. Rooms are about average in size for New York hotels and whilst its all pretty standard it was clean, quiet and the air conditioning worked well. Had everything you need; TV, coffee maker, decent bed, decent shower and good lighting.

I can't say anything stood out but I've stayed in much, much worse hotels in New York and still payed through the nose for it! This one is ok.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankCosentino, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for sharing your positive review of your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Manhattan East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Manhattan East

Address: 304 E. 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Formerly Tudor Hotel New York)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#112 Business Hotel in New York City
#123 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#166 Family Hotel in New York City
#179 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Manhattan East 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Tudor Hotel, this Midtown historic boutique hotel was transformed and reopened in 2010 as the Hilton Midtown East. 300 Guest Rooms and Suites located on East 42nd St. Walking distance to Grand Central, Midtown and the United Nations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Manhattan East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Manhattan East Hotel New York City
Tudor Hotel United Nations
Crowne Plaza United Nations
Tudor Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Manhattan East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.