We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive and depressing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Manhattan East

Save Saved
You added Hilton Manhattan East to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Manhattan East
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   304 E. 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Formerly Tudor Hotel New York) (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2X HHonors Points!
Ranked #227 of 449 hotels in New York City
Paris
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Expensive and depressing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Small (but nicely furnished) rooms with tiny windows. No mini bar so we ordered two beers and a scotch which with tax, service and tip came to USD70!! Internet prices are abusive and connection is mediocre. The lobby is depressing and the surrounding area is dull. At USD320 a night this hotel has little going for it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed in your stay and we appreciate your candid input on the look and feel as well as value of our property. We will use your comments as we constantly evolve to best meet our guests' expectations and hope you will return to stay with us and let us know how we are doing the next time you visit the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,075 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    283
    448
    223
    82
    39
See reviews for
156
331
84
304
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hooksett, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed her during a rare NY snowstorm. The coldness of the weather was nicely balanced by the warmth of the staff, particularly the bartender and waiter. Food was surprisingly fresh, unique and tasty.The rooms are stylish, and very clean. They are somewhat small, but what do you expect in a downtown hotel. Wish they would include internet access in the room rate. IS close to the UN(walking distance) and the Chrysler building. Short walk (about 4 blocks) to Grand Central Station to access the subway and/or trains.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Hilton apparantly hates their guests: if you use the internet in your room, they charge you separately for every device you use! For me and my wife's phone, plus our iPad, they charged 3x15$ ! I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing this quick feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input on our internet service and we will keep your suggestion to make our WiFi complimentary in mind as we constantly look for ways to improve our guests' satisfaction. We hope to have another opportunity to show you the quality service and amenities you look for should you return to the area in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I've seen some negative reviews but all in all this is good hotel in a great location. You are within two miles of anything you would like to see. While the rooms are small, I didn't feel cramped. There was plenty of room in the bathroom as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The hotel is very nice, and the rooms are great, for manhattan, Dont expect a huge room, but there was enough room to move around. The shower on the other hand had 7 step directions on the wall. Thank god for the directions otherwise someone would have had to come show us to how use it. There was no taking a quick shower when it takes 5 minutes to figure out how to use it. The hotel is close to grand central, and far enough away from the tourist craziness. So if you want a hotel that does not have insanity of Manhattan outside the door then this is your place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed in this hotel in Feb, in a Junior Suite. Room was long & narrow, more like a corridor than a room. Small, even by NYC standards. For people on work in NYC, major offices are very conveniently located. Many restaurants - Indian, Mexican, Italian etc., are within a 10-15 minute walk. Also convenient for quick shopping, incl chain stores like Staples. Also a Starbucks closeby to get your caffeine fix. Expensive. Nothing special about the hotel, but probably worth it because of that. It lives upto the standardized Hilton image.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your input and we are glad to hear you found our location and amenities convenient for your needs in the city. We hope you will return to stay with us the next time business brings you to New York so we can continue to provide the quality hospitality to have come to expect from our brand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed here over the recent holiday weekend. Yes this is a small hotel but great location and service. We even got an upgrade the second night to a larger room as we requested upon check-in. The rooms are much smaller than normal but the value and location make up for that as we were out in the city most of our stay. We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Manhattan East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Manhattan East

Address: 304 E. 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Formerly Tudor Hotel New York)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#110 Business Hotel in New York City
#124 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#215 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#232 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Manhattan East 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Tudor Hotel, this Midtown historic boutique hotel was transformed and reopened in 2010 as the Hilton Midtown East. 300 Guest Rooms and Suites located on East 42nd St. Walking distance to Grand Central, Midtown and the United Nations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Manhattan East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Manhattan East Hotel New York City
Tudor Hotel United Nations
Crowne Plaza United Nations
Tudor Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Manhattan East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.