We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Manhattan East

Save Saved
You added Hilton Manhattan East to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Manhattan East
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   304 E. 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Formerly Tudor Hotel New York) (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2X HHonors Points!
Ranked #228 of 451 hotels in New York City
Flower Mound, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stayed here in January for a conference at the Grand Hyatt. I have never met such wonderful people! So very friendly. I travel extensively for work so I'm always on the lookout for hotels with great staff. THIS WAS IT!
Upon arrival, I realized I had lost my driver's license at the airport at home. They were very accommodating about the situation upon check-in. As a Hilton Diamond member, I was upgraded to a suite and had plenty of bottled water for the week.
Breakfast was a bit crowded but that's New York. Only reason for 4 stars and not 5 was scaffolding outside my windows...as a woman traveling alone, it made me a bit nervous.

Only 2 blocks from Grand Central (and nicer than the Grand Hyatt, IMO) and a block from the UN Building. We walked straight up 42nd to Times Square. Great location.
I will be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,095 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    290
    457
    227
    82
    39
See reviews for
158
335
85
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Definitely a hotel to consider booking when travelling to NYC. The hotel was a few minutes away from Grand Central station, and there are several dining options nearby. Nice boutique hotel with great charm.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my visit to this hotel.The rooms was quite large for Manhattan standards.It was also very comfortable. The staff was excellent. The location is perfect, so close to Manhattan attractions.I truly look forward to a return of this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed for two nights in a king bedded suite which I booked on the Hilton website. I was disappointed to see scaffolding out the windows of the sitting room of my suite and equally dismayed when the work commenced each morning with a constant drilling sound. (Note: the room was quiet at night). Apparently they are re-pointing the exterior brick work. This is not indicated on the hotel website. I called and spoke to the duty manager, Ethan. He refunded my internet and $20/day upgrade (from queen to king). The point remains that they should indicate that there is building work going on or at the very least, advise on check in.
Secondly, the landing page for Hilton indicates that this hotel has recently been renovated. Perhaps the lobby has, but certainly not the rooms.
Housekeeping notes: HVAC filter in bedroom very dirty and needs to be changed. Heater in bathroom chock full of dust. Ceiling in bathroom needs to be repaired. Otherwise, very clean throughout.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your input on the look and feel of our property and we will use your comments as we constantly look for ways to improve our guests' satisfaction. We are sorry for any disturbance the outdoor construction may have caused you and apologize you were not fully informed of the work taking place prior to check-in. We will share your comments with our team and use them in our constant pursuit to provide the best hotel experience possible to every guest. We hope you will consider staying with us again the next time you are in the area as we would love to have you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ, USA
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This hotel is nothing more than an old hotel that they slapped some plaster on and called it a renovation. Everything is old and outdated and the bathroom had NO HEAT. You couldn't even leave the bathroom door open cause it made the bedroom freeze. The drafts through the windows are rediculous. The only thing good about the room was the bed was that comfortable. The room also reeked of smoke. The breakfast buffet was mediocre at best and took forever to replenish the hot trays. The staff in the dining room was a bit annoyed with our presence as well. Getting ketchup was too much of an imposition. Someone should remind them - no guests = no job! Definitely would not stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your input and apologize you were uncomfortable with the temperature in your restroom. We have alerted our maintenance team to the issue and they will work on a solution. We have shared your comments on our breakfast offerings and service with our team and we apologize for the unpleasant experience you had as we strive to make every guest feel valued and welcome. We will use your comments as part of our ongoing service training and hope you will give us another chance to provide the quality hotel experience you have come to expect from our brand should you return to our are in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 4 nights while we explored NY city. We found the hotel to be located pretty much close to everything we wanted to see within walking distance. We were bed only and found we were often in either Mcdonalds just a stone throw away or the small cafe across from the grand central station, near the bridge were great for breakfast. The cafe again is only a short walk away. We didnt eat in the hotel but did have a couple of drinks. The prices in keeping with those in a London Hilton i should imagine.
The room we stayed in was tiny, but extremely clean and the bed was amazingly soft after a full day walking around the city. The bathroom again small but clean. The view out of the window was not as we expected, it was another room, not far away, a little close for comfort.
Overall i would stay here again as the price i paid for this with the 'Hilton' label was not much more than other hotels and the location for us in tudor town was fab.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Hilton took over the Tudor hotel in 2012, and has not yet been able to upgrade to their generally excellent standards. The rooms are old and small and have received some upgrading, but cannot hide that the hotel would benefit from a more thorough restoration. Our room has a cracked entrance threshold and various chips of the wooden furniture here and there. We had a room at the end of the corridor of the first building, and though bigger than some of the front rooms (where we stayed when it was still the Tudor) it was still your generally small New York hotel room.
The location is excellent, especially for tourists and for visitors to the UN. Grand Central is close by and from there you can go anywhere in Manhattan. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. If you can get a good rate, this is a good choice - however, if the price is high, I'd recommend to continue looking for other possibilities.
Let us hope Hilton brings this hotel fully up to standards.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your candid feedback on the look and feel of our property and we will keep your comments in mind as we constantly look for ways to improve our guests’ experience. We hope you will consider staying with us again the next time you are in Manhattan so we can show you the quality service and accommodations you have come to expect from our brand. We are glad to hear you found our location convenient for your activities in the city and look forward to seeing you back the next time you are in New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Manhattan East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Manhattan East

Address: 304 E. 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Formerly Tudor Hotel New York)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#110 Business Hotel in New York City
#126 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#222 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#226 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Manhattan East 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Tudor Hotel, this Midtown historic boutique hotel was transformed and reopened in 2010 as the Hilton Midtown East. 300 Guest Rooms and Suites located on East 42nd St. Walking distance to Grand Central, Midtown and the United Nations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hilton Manhattan East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Manhattan East Hotel New York City
Tudor Hotel United Nations
Crowne Plaza United Nations
Tudor Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Manhattan East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.