We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freezing bathroom!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Manhattan East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Manhattan East to your Saves list
Hilton Manhattan East
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   304 E. 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Formerly Tudor Hotel New York) (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2X HHonors Points!
Ranked #197 of 454 Hotels in New York City
NJ, USA
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Freezing bathroom!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This hotel is nothing more than an old hotel that they slapped some plaster on and called it a renovation. Everything is old and outdated and the bathroom had NO HEAT. You couldn't even leave the bathroom door open cause it made the bedroom freeze. The drafts through the windows are rediculous. The only thing good about the room was the bed was that comfortable. The room also reeked of smoke. The breakfast buffet was mediocre at best and took forever to replenish the hot trays. The staff in the dining room was a bit annoyed with our presence as well. Getting ketchup was too much of an imposition. Someone should remind them - no guests = no job! Definitely would not stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your input and apologize you were uncomfortable with the temperature in your restroom. We have alerted our maintenance team to the issue and they will work on a solution. We have shared your comments on our breakfast offerings and service with our team and we apologize for the unpleasant experience you had as we strive to make every guest feel valued and welcome. We will use your comments as part of our ongoing service training and hope you will give us another chance to provide the quality hotel experience you have come to expect from our brand should you return to our are in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    490
    237
    89
    43
See reviews for
192
376
96
402
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 4 nights while we explored NY city. We found the hotel to be located pretty much close to everything we wanted to see within walking distance. We were bed only and found we were often in either Mcdonalds just a stone throw away or the small cafe across from the grand central station, near the bridge were great for breakfast. The cafe again is only a short walk away. We didnt eat in the hotel but did have a couple of drinks. The prices in keeping with those in a London Hilton i should imagine.
The room we stayed in was tiny, but extremely clean and the bed was amazingly soft after a full day walking around the city. The bathroom again small but clean. The view out of the window was not as we expected, it was another room, not far away, a little close for comfort.
Overall i would stay here again as the price i paid for this with the 'Hilton' label was not much more than other hotels and the location for us in tudor town was fab.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Hilton took over the Tudor hotel in 2012, and has not yet been able to upgrade to their generally excellent standards. The rooms are old and small and have received some upgrading, but cannot hide that the hotel would benefit from a more thorough restoration. Our room has a cracked entrance threshold and various chips of the wooden furniture here and there. We had a room at the end of the corridor of the first building, and though bigger than some of the front rooms (where we stayed when it was still the Tudor) it was still your generally small New York hotel room.
The location is excellent, especially for tourists and for visitors to the UN. Grand Central is close by and from there you can go anywhere in Manhattan. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. If you can get a good rate, this is a good choice - however, if the price is high, I'd recommend to continue looking for other possibilities.
Let us hope Hilton brings this hotel fully up to standards.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your candid feedback on the look and feel of our property and we will keep your comments in mind as we constantly look for ways to improve our guests’ experience. We hope you will consider staying with us again the next time you are in Manhattan so we can show you the quality service and accommodations you have come to expect from our brand. We are glad to hear you found our location convenient for your activities in the city and look forward to seeing you back the next time you are in New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights and used it as a base for our sightseeing trips. This was partly due to its location meaning returning back to the hotel during the day wasn't really feasible.
Rooms have clearly been smartened up which was seemingly needed from other comments, and this has been done to a good standard.
Bit of a strange thing is the old smoke alarm system has clearly been decommissioned, but the old equipment left in place meaning an ugly orange plastic capping being placed on the old stuff???
Good value and cleaned properly daily with fresh towels in great supply

Room Tip: North tower gives good views of street from above, without too much noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawcatuck, CT
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The hotel has a good location , average facilty. I cold have lived with everything but housekeeping constantly turning on the heat and the room being over 80F. I was necessary every night to open the window. This caused eccessive noise.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your candid feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely apologize you were disappointed in the cleanliness and aesthetics of your room and we have shared your comments with our team to keep in mind as we work to provide the best experience possible to our guests. We will keep your decor suggestions in mind as we look towards future renovations and hope you will consider staying with us again the next time you are in the city so we might show you the quality stay synonymous with our brand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I've stayed in worse. But in the spirit of full disclosure - I loathe the Hilton chain. This hotel is horrible. For the price of say the Hudson or paramount - what you you get is a tiny tiny tiny ( I lie it's a standard NYC size hotel room but the drop ceiling makes it even smaller and claustrophobic) ny hotel room.

Ageing yellow walls and oh so tired deco. Had it been my PA that had booked this I'd have fired them. Luckily it was someone else's PA so I have to grin and bear it.

The bathrooms look like someone had cleaned it with a wet wipe rather than a proper clean. My room in particular smelt of the previous occupant.

Do not stay. There's much better to be had for the same price. And don't let someone else book rooms for you in a city they're unfamiliar with.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your candid review of your recent stay with us. We apologize for the poor conditions post Hurricane Sandy and appreciate your understanding as we did our best to provide our guests with the highest quality service and accommodations possible under the circumstances. We would love to have you return and stay with us under normal condition so that we may show you the level of hospitality you expect and deserve from our brand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Good value - got a rate much lower than other hotels in the immediate area. Historic property with two towers. Stayed in the North tower with only a handful of rooms per floor so it was very quiet. Rooms were small but had several windows and fit a queen bed, chair and small table near the window, desk and dresser with TV. Bathroom had a large counter with plenty of room for toiletries, etc. Lobby is small but nice contemporary decor. Front desk staff very friendly. Breakfast buffet had decent selection of fresh food. Gym was small (only a few machines) but all were well maintained. Good location close to Grand Central and a reasonable walk to Times Square. Good variety of restaurants (upscale, casual, and carry out) within a couple blocks.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Manhattan East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Manhattan East

Address: 304 E. 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Formerly Tudor Hotel New York)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#106 Business Hotel in New York City
#119 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#161 Family Hotel in New York City
#171 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Manhattan East 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Tudor Hotel, this Midtown historic boutique hotel was transformed and reopened in 2010 as the Hilton Midtown East. 300 Guest Rooms and Suites located on East 42nd St. Walking distance to Grand Central, Midtown and the United Nations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Manhattan East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Manhattan East Hotel New York City
Tudor Hotel United Nations
Crowne Plaza United Nations
Tudor Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Manhattan East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.