We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, location ok” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Manhattan East

Save Saved
You added Hilton Manhattan East to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Manhattan East
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   304 E. 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Formerly Tudor Hotel New York) (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2X HHonors Points!
Ranked #229 of 451 hotels in New York City
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, location ok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights and used it as a base for our sightseeing trips. This was partly due to its location meaning returning back to the hotel during the day wasn't really feasible.
Rooms have clearly been smartened up which was seemingly needed from other comments, and this has been done to a good standard.
Bit of a strange thing is the old smoke alarm system has clearly been decommissioned, but the old equipment left in place meaning an ugly orange plastic capping being placed on the old stuff???
Good value and cleaned properly daily with fresh towels in great supply

Room Tip: North tower gives good views of street from above, without too much noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    287
    456
    226
    82
    39
See reviews for
158
333
85
312
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pawcatuck, CT
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The hotel has a good location , average facilty. I cold have lived with everything but housekeeping constantly turning on the heat and the room being over 80F. I was necessary every night to open the window. This caused eccessive noise.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your candid feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely apologize you were disappointed in the cleanliness and aesthetics of your room and we have shared your comments with our team to keep in mind as we work to provide the best experience possible to our guests. We will keep your decor suggestions in mind as we look towards future renovations and hope you will consider staying with us again the next time you are in the city so we might show you the quality stay synonymous with our brand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I've stayed in worse. But in the spirit of full disclosure - I loathe the Hilton chain. This hotel is horrible. For the price of say the Hudson or paramount - what you you get is a tiny tiny tiny ( I lie it's a standard NYC size hotel room but the drop ceiling makes it even smaller and claustrophobic) ny hotel room.

Ageing yellow walls and oh so tired deco. Had it been my PA that had booked this I'd have fired them. Luckily it was someone else's PA so I have to grin and bear it.

The bathrooms look like someone had cleaned it with a wet wipe rather than a proper clean. My room in particular smelt of the previous occupant.

Do not stay. There's much better to be had for the same price. And don't let someone else book rooms for you in a city they're unfamiliar with.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your candid review of your recent stay with us. We apologize for the poor conditions post Hurricane Sandy and appreciate your understanding as we did our best to provide our guests with the highest quality service and accommodations possible under the circumstances. We would love to have you return and stay with us under normal condition so that we may show you the level of hospitality you expect and deserve from our brand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Good value - got a rate much lower than other hotels in the immediate area. Historic property with two towers. Stayed in the North tower with only a handful of rooms per floor so it was very quiet. Rooms were small but had several windows and fit a queen bed, chair and small table near the window, desk and dresser with TV. Bathroom had a large counter with plenty of room for toiletries, etc. Lobby is small but nice contemporary decor. Front desk staff very friendly. Breakfast buffet had decent selection of fresh food. Gym was small (only a few machines) but all were well maintained. Good location close to Grand Central and a reasonable walk to Times Square. Good variety of restaurants (upscale, casual, and carry out) within a couple blocks.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This hotel is ok but even with top tier status, the room is average at best and incredibly small, even by Hilton standards. Clean, but tiny and looks out into a dark dirty courtyard. Although this is a historic property, the room does not represent a historic ambience. If you are staying in NY, pick a hotel with rooms with a view. This place is ok if you aren't going to spend any waking hours in your room, but is overpriced for what it is, hence the poor rating.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the front of the hotel, but you'll pay for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. I apologize that you were not happy with your room assignment during your recent trip. We strive to provide the best in service and amenities for all of our guests. We hope you will consider giving us a second chance if you return to the area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I stayed there on a friday night. the staff was friendly and helpful. the room was small but still comfortable. the bed and pillows were surprisingly comfy. the bathroom however was the worst part! the shower had hair on the walls like it hadnt been properly cleaned after the last person left, the water was not hot enough for even a quick shower no matter how much it was turned up. the sink was clean but it must have been an old room because the marble like surface was cracked and looked to be falling apart. It was good for the price but it was advertised to be within walking distance of time square(Wrong...it was a mile from time square) but very short distance on shuttle. i would stay there again but id hope to get a different room

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank C, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us. We appreciate your input and apologize for the state of your room. We have shared your concerns with our facilities team who are working to correct the issues and prevent similar ones in our other rooms. We strive to provide our guests the best in comfort and quality and we will use your feedback as we continually work towards this goal. We are glad you were able to enjoy your time in the city and we hope you will consider staying with us again the next time you are in New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Nyack, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Clean, helpful staff, cozy rooms. Queen size bed took up most if the space in the room, but it was still perfect or the Expedia price we pad for a one nights stay. Would def stay again. Great location if you take train to Grand Central. Close to FDR Drive if you opt to drive in. Lots of garages nearby for at least $12.00 less to park overnight at hotel.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Manhattan East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Manhattan East

Address: 304 E. 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Formerly Tudor Hotel New York)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#110 Business Hotel in New York City
#127 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#220 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#233 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Manhattan East 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Tudor Hotel, this Midtown historic boutique hotel was transformed and reopened in 2010 as the Hilton Midtown East. 300 Guest Rooms and Suites located on East 42nd St. Walking distance to Grand Central, Midtown and the United Nations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hilton Manhattan East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Manhattan East Hotel New York City
Tudor Hotel United Nations
Crowne Plaza United Nations
Tudor Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Manhattan East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.