We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Small, But Clean Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Manhattan East

Save Saved
You added Hilton Manhattan East to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hilton Manhattan East
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   304 E. 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Formerly Tudor Hotel New York) (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #265 of 446 hotels in New York City
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Small, But Clean Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The room was extremely small but it did the job for what we needed it for. Staff were friendly. Location was pretty good. Out of the rush a little too far east but nice to be out of the xmas rush. Close to grand central to walk with a suit case.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    223
    393
    210
    74
    37
See reviews for
127
299
75
255
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leawood, Ks.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Usually when in NY I stay at the Millennium Hilton, but since I wasn't sure how Battery Park had fared since Hurricane Sandy, I elected to stay at another Hilton property. I chose the Hilton Manhattan East largely because the pictures on the Hilton website and description of "boutique" hotel interested me. I don't usually associate the terms "Hilton" and "boutique" in the same sentence, and, as a frequent traveler, wanted to see how this played out.

I was pleasantly surprised. At check-in, there was a problem with my credit card (ended up that the bank was having computer issues) which the manager himself came out and handled, saving me potential embarrassment (there were other people checking in at the same time). When I arrived at my room, I was awestruck. I was a little wary given the descriptions of the room size from this website. While it might have been a little too "cozy" for two, it was perfect for me...and SPOTLESSLY clean! Furniture is of high quality, hallways are pristine, floors are absolutely quiet (there are only 5 rooms per floor) and the bathrooms are large and lovely.

The restaurant was wonderful, and I adored the server. : ) (Didn't get his name, but he was on duty the weekend evenings of Nov. 30 and Dec. 1). Everyone was so friendly. Members of the Red Cross who are helping out in Staten Island are staying here, and it was like a "family" atmosphere...much appreciated during te holidays as a solo traveler!

You do need to stop and think about the shower controls and light controls...they are a little unique...but my FAVORITE touch is the doorbell outside of each room! The closest train station is Grand Central (about a 5-10 minute walk) and there are plenty of restaurants and shopping nearby.

Overall, good job Manhattan East! I'll be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in the Hilton for one week, the location was great for exploring New York. The room was clean and comfortable. The catering staff need some training in how to present food. The whole dining experience was dreadful, better to eat out in town.
Some reception staff would benefit in customer service training.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for your comments about our clean and comfortable hotel. I am sorry that our food service did not meet your expectations, as we usually receive high marks in this area. We will hope to demonstrate this to you during a future visit to New York. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed at the Hilton Manhattan East over Thanksgiving and will not stay there again.

This "boutique" style hotel does not do the Hilton brand any favors.

There is a lot of potential here that is just not realized.

Kimpton does a much better job with a property like this and I'd like to see just what they'd do here. Anything is better than what Hilton is doing.

Needless to say, I would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
I am sorry you were disappointed with your experience at our hotel. We take your comments to heart and they will be put to positive use with all members of our staff. I hope we may have a future opportunity to win you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stayed here for two nights on a business trip.

The hotel is very close to the United Nations, Grand Central Station and the Chrysler Building. (Also note that it is right next to both the Israeli and Palestinian consulates, with regular demonstrations outside!!!).

The hotel itself is quite old, but the rooms are fairly modern. Although a little on the small side, they are not too bad for NYC. I stayed on the 16th floor in a corner room and had a slight view of the East River. Each floor only had a few rooms, so did not feel crowded or overly busy. Never had any problem getting an elevator. The room itself had a nice flat-screen TV, although the channel selection was not the best, but when in NYC, there is so much more to do than watch TV!!

The bathroom was OK, but the water pressure was very poor, as was the drainage in the bath. Also, there was scaffolding outside the hotel and I did hear workers and there was a weird smell when I got back to the room on my second evening. For once, the internet speed was good!

The bar downstairs was a bit cold and boring. The breakfast buffet was a little on the boring side, with the choice of food not much better than a Hampton Inn. Also, the service was not great and felt a little impersonal (they were more worried to know if I had a coupon or not.) Also, the tea was luke warm and tasteless. Overall, not a great breakfast experience. (I did get this compliemntary as a HHonors Gold member, so cannot complain too much).

Hotel had a gym, but no pool, so would not bring my kids here.

For the price paid, this was a good stay and I would stay here again if I got a similar rate. Anymore than that, then I would maybe look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a high floor to minimise street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
We thank you for your detailed comments about your stay with us and we will certainly focus on the issues you point out. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and that you would return to our hotel. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester,ny
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

$115/night on hotels.com. Couldn't beat the price and really enjoyed the location. Service was great too. A little delay getting fresh towels from housekeeping and carpet wasn't vaccumed thoroughly before we arrived. But doormen, bellman and front desk personnel were all great. Didn't eat at hotel, as there are plenty of options in the area. Would definitely stay again for the right price.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
We appreciate your recommendation and the kind comments about our location, our staff and the service they provided during your stay. We hope to see you again for your next visit to New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naas, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

I like Hilton hotels for the conformity of service, and real good quality even if frills are sometime excluded.

For staff service at the Hilton was good. Rooms were nice (no natural light and boarded windows, but it was after Hurricane Sandy, so no problem). However breakfast buffet really was substandard. Food quality was terrible. Disappointing!

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
I am sorry that you were disappointed with our breakfast buffet. The boarded windows that resulted from Hurricane Sandy have been repaired. We thank you for your positive comments about the staff and service and for taking the time to share your thoughts with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Manhattan East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Manhattan East

Also Known As:
Hilton Manhattan East Hotel New York City
Hilton Manhattan East Hotel
Tudor Hotel New York
Tudor Hotel United Nations
Crowne Plaza United Nations
Tudor Hotel New York City
Tudor Hotel Ny
Tudor Hotel
Address: 304 E. 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Formerly Tudor Hotel New York)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#135 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#141 Business Hotel in New York City
#275 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Manhattan East 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Tudor Hotel, this Midtown historic boutique hotel was transformed and reopened in 2010 as the Hilton Midtown East. 300 Guest Rooms and Suites located on East 42nd St. Walking distance to Grand Central, Midtown and the United Nations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Manhattan East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Manhattan East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.