We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton Standard?.....no” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Manhattan East

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Manhattan East to your Saves list
Hilton Manhattan East
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   304 E. 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
NYC Weekend Getaway!
Ranked #236 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Naas, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Hilton Standard?.....no”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

I like Hilton hotels for the conformity of service, and real good quality even if frills are sometime excluded.

For staff service at the Hilton was good. Rooms were nice (no natural light and boarded windows, but it was after Hurricane Sandy, so no problem). However breakfast buffet really was substandard. Food quality was terrible. Disappointing!

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
I am sorry that you were disappointed with our breakfast buffet. The boarded windows that resulted from Hurricane Sandy have been repaired. We thank you for your positive comments about the staff and service and for taking the time to share your thoughts with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    615
    305
    115
    51
See reviews for
264
490
117
514
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We are just glad to be home after our stay at the Hilton!!!! We arrived the evening of the 16th of November, no valet, no bell boy just a one man show night manager! We checked and were assigned our room. We got to our room.... Blinds and chairs were stained, the bath tub and the bathroom celling very dirty! We tried get over it and enjoy.... The heat would not get over 62! But what realy made me go crazy is when i decided to go to bed and we found an open pack of Condoms on the night table! What the hell???? I went to the front desk a showed it to the manager! He made us look at other rooms so we could change! We had to visit 2 more rooms in order to find something adequate and short of clean! We were advised that the housekeeping manager would be advised and make a fallow up with us. We never heard from that manager. After our short night in our new room.... I found a Cantaloup container's lid on our coffe table under the magazines dated! EXP Nov 4, 2011!!! Wow! That housekeeping manager should upgrade his or her standards a little!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
On behalf of our staff, I apologize for your recent experience at our hotel. This is not who we are and I assure you it is not at all typical of the service we provide to our guests. Please be assured that all measures will be taken to prevent this from happening again. If you plan to visit New York City again please contact us so that we can arrange for a perfect stay as my guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
215 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Recently updated, this east side hotel near the UN building has small regular rooms, but bedding and bathroom were clean, fresh and up to date. My room had a "harry potter" under the stairs quality (Room 603) but all the basics were there. The desk chair was especially good.

Room service food was quick and hot. Can't say the same for the breakfast buffet. Instead of paying upwards of $20 plus for the buffet, just order off the menu for something made for you, rather than tired eggs and crusted over hardened bread.

Bell Staff were VERY HELPFUL and Front desk staff were coming off the storm and all the mayhem, so great in the help they provided.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Your comments about the comfort of our guest rooms and the great service delivered by our bellmen and front desk agents are very much appreciated. I am sorry that our breakfast buffet was not to your liking, but glad to see that you found our in-room dining food and service to be so enjoyable. Thank you once again for taking the time to share your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We got a good rate through priceline. Room was recently renovated and was more than adequate for our needs (i.e. clean room, comfortable bed to sleep and reasonable amount of space). We also got complimentary in-room internet which was very helpful. The location (close to the UN) is about a 10 min walk from Grand Central station and maybe a little more "east" than we were looking for. All in all, if you want a midtown location away from the crowds and a good night's rest, then this is the place for you.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your recommendation to those looking for conveniently located, comfortable accommodations in a relatively quiet sector of the city. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Hotel has recently been renovated, stayed on business in anticipation of Hurricane Sandy. Hotel is split into 2 towers, my elevator bank was on far side of entrance. Queen room was small as expected, but extremely clean, bed is comfortable, modern light switches and plenty of outlets. Bath was huge with working window. Even had a decent view of Manhattan. Free WSJ in lobby next morning. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for recognizing some of the nice features of our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Manhattan East when you return to New York City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Second visit to this hotel,just after hurricane Sandy. Staff outstanding, throughout. Room (ended in ..20) was spacious and very comfortable. Previous reviewers commented that the rooms are tiny, well some most definitely are so check when you make the booking. Bathroom good and wonder of wonders you can open the windows!! Breakfast was ok but pricey. Plenty of places to eat nearby plus interesting bars etc. plus you are close to Macys if that floats your boat, its an easy walk up 42nd street to the other grand avenues, and Grand Central is nearby. Starbucks a bit tricky to find, its opposite the hotel 42nd st . as I mentioned the staff really are very helpful and forthcoming, baring in mind the problems associated with the aftermath of Sandy they dealt with everyone with good humour! Overall a good experience, pity no mini bar or fridge! Wifi fast, TV okay .rooms very clean, bed comfortable, some of my colleagues complained the heating did/did not work, but I am certain that maintenance would have resolved the problem quickly. So well worth a stay.

Room Tip: Check room size before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for the praise bestowed on our staff for the service they provided during the aftermath of Hurricane Sandy. We also appreciate the many nice comments about our hotel and the multiple features of our convenient location. Thanks so much for writing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
189 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed at this hotel on the Friday and Saturday of the week that Hurricane Sandy hit the east coast. The hotel was booked solid yet you would not have known this by the ythe hotel was so well run. The staff was unflapable and very friendly; the service was excellent.
The hotel itself has a cozy feeling about it while having a Hilton feel, too.
The hotel is at 42nd and 2nd and is "next door" to the City. It is within walking distance of the United Nations. There are lots of interesting restaurants and pubs nearby. I walked down 2nd Avenue around 7 p.m. on a Saturday evening and felt safe.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Our entire staff appreciates your kind comments about their friendliness and excellent service during the aftermath of Hurricane Sandy. I am very proud of the dedication and caring they displayed to our guests during a very challenging period. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hilton New York Fashion District
Hilton New York Fashion District
#139 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,443 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/United Nations
Hampton Inn Manhattan/United Nat...
#80 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 772 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#135 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
ONE UN New York
ONE UN New York
#340 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,237 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#224 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,915 reviews
Midtown
The Lexington New York City - an Autograph Collection Hotel
The Lexington New York City - an...
#311 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Manhattan East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Manhattan East

Address: 304 E. 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#141 Business Hotel in New York City
#152 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#180 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#225 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Manhattan East 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Tudor Hotel, this Midtown historic boutique hotel was transformed and reopened in 2010 as the Hilton Midtown East. 300 Guest Rooms and Suites located on East 42nd St. Walking distance to Grand Central, Midtown and the United Nations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Otel, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Manhattan East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Manhattan East Hotel New York City
Tudor Hotel United Nations
Crowne Plaza United Nations
Tudor Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Manhattan East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.