We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Good Value Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Manhattan East

Save Saved
You added Hilton Manhattan East to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Manhattan East
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   304 E. 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Formerly Tudor Hotel New York) (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2X HHonors Points!
Ranked #227 of 449 hotels in New York City
London, UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Friendly and Good Value Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I arrived at the Hilton Manhattan East just before the 'Frankenstorm' and had a wonderful stay. I didn't know the area that well, but the hotel had been recommended to me as it was good value and quite small, for Manhattan, with a local feel to it.
The location is on 42nd Street, between 2nd Avenue and the United Nations Building. It is in walking distance of Grand Central Station and therefore Macy's and even Times Square and it is easy to negotiate the area and the sights.
What is so wonderful about the Hilton is that after a day of sightseeing and shopping in all the famous areas you come back to a home from home, with staff that recognise you and wonderful 2nd Avenue is right on your doorstep with lots of eateries and shops. There is such an variety of restaurants nearby you are spoilt for choice and all the shops are 'real' (as in not touristy and a rip off).
The hotel itself has two towers, I stayed in the North tower and had a beautiful corner room with two windows. Being New York the room didn't have a view as all the buildings are so densely built, but there was plenty of light and the room itself was perfect. I had a huge king sized bed with plenty of pillows and a bolster. The duvet was like being at home and I slept wonderfully. The bathroom even had a window...a rarity in many hotels, not just New York! I think the rooms had been renovated recently as they were so clean and modern. Wi-Fi was speedy, but the hotel should look at making it free of charge as so many other hotels are doing nowadays...not just free in the public areas...it's difficult to do conference calls sitting in a busy lobby.
The gym is excellent and open all the time (I was up at 4am due to jet lag).
The people on Front of house were knowledgeable and very friendly, nothing was too much for them. I would recommend this hotel to both the business community and sightseers (as long as they were quiet).
I will definitely come again.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room...they are lighter, slightly larger than the average room and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
On behalf of our friendly and helpful staff, I thank you for writing such nice comments about our hotel, our people, and our location. I am glad we were able to provide for your comfort during the hurricane and hope to see you again when Mother Nature is as hospitable as we are.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,075 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    283
    448
    223
    82
    39
See reviews for
156
331
84
304
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
knoxville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Rooms were a nice size, especially for NY. Beds were extremely comfortable. Staff went over and beyond the call of duty to make our stay pleasant. A couple of things needed repair and cleaning in the room and the Houskeeping Manager, Maria Vega, was on it immediately! She not only got things fixed and cleaned right away, she sent up 4 waters for us. I would definitely stay at this hotel again and recommend it highly. Coffee maker and coffee in the room were delicious too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you so much for recognizing our staff, particularly Maria, for their outstanding service. Your comments about our hotel, our creature comforts, and our people are deeply appreciated. I hope you will visit with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pantelleria, Italy
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This Hotel I stay was nice and the Staff very friendly. The Room are a bit small but this Hotel still have same room as a smoking one and this is quite unique especially on the State. Also the room has a cafe machine with lavazza. Just stay one night, for business and I can't add more.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
We are pleased to know that we provided for all of your needs during your brief stay with us. Thank you for writing. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The boyfriend and I have a nice little trip planned to NYC next week and so it made perfect sense for us to book a room at the Hilton Manhattan East considering that he is a BLACKSTONE employee. Since it will be his birthday I decided to call the hotel ahead of time to arrange for some surprise ammenities in our room prior to arrival. Great idea, right? Wrong. Long story short: if you would like to speak to someone incredibly rude who doesn't want to listen to a word you say and then transfers you to the wrong department multiple times without so much as letting you finish your sentence, I would recommend you call Mercedes at the Hilton Manhattan East. Don't even get me started on what happened when I called back the third time to speak to a manager.

I can only imagine what service would look like onsite, and considering that there are a million other hotels to choose from (we chose this based on location and because of the Blackstone relationship) I will not deal with this unacceptable customer service. If you are clearly above taking my money then I am happy to take it elsewhere. Thank you, Mercedes.

Room Tip: The one and only information piece that Mercedes shared was that there are no good views out of any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
I am sorry that you had this experience when calling our hotel, however, I can assure you that it is not indicative of the service our staff normally provides to our guests. I invite you to contact me directly so that I can personally make arrangements for you to have an enjoyable stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, USA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I booked this hotel blind. I had no idea until after booking if it would be a good choice. It was a great one. Located just 2.5 blocks from Grand Central Station, I was able to get around the city with ease. The hotel is clean and comfortable. The rooms are a bit small, as expected in the cty. The hotel staff was extremely courteous and efficient. Their dining recommendations were spot on and they helped with transportation guidance whenever needed. This is not a terribly noisy part of town and is close to the Chrysler Building and great restaurants. I highly recommend this hotel if you wish to stay on the east side.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
We are very grateful for your enthusiastic recommendation of our hotel. Thank you for mentioning our many features - convenient location, clean and comfortable, extremely courteous and efficient staff, good recommendations for dining and transportation, and close to great restaurants. We could not have said it better ourselves ....hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This would never be my first choice, ten minute walk off the beaten track, but those times when nothing is available under $400, this is a more than acceptable option.

Rooms a bit small and in my case what sounded like elevator related noise, but earplugs supplied by front desk together with comfortable bed made all ok.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
We are sorry that we won't be your first choice, but we do appreciate that we are a more than acceptable option for you. Just a reminder that we are only 2 blocks from Grand Central Terminal, so not so far off the beaten track. Thanks for writing and for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collierville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We arrived before check-in and the staff was very helpful. Our luggage was stored and Kevin Law, at the front desk, gave us suggestions for lunch. I had booked through Priceline and needed a room with two beds. Evidently this hotel only has 12 rooms with two double beds. This was a bit disappointing. Kevin did get us a room with two twin beds. Not really what we wanted but the best alternative.

The room wasn't huge but there seemed to be more space than other NYC rooms. Unfortunately our view was of a wall and a back alley.

The room was clean but mid way through the week, the four sets of towels were only replaced with three. No idea why. The shower looked complicated but there were great directions and it was more intuitive than it first appeared. The shower current was missing a grommet which I did not expect at a Hilton. My friend found a pair of socks under her bed as we were packing up. Unfortunately, they weren't hers!!

There is not free internet in the room since I'm not a HHonors member. We went down to the lobby each night. One night it wouldn't connect so the night manager took care of it. He was also very helpful but I didn't get his name. He suggested a great breakfast place that was only two blocks away.

I take medication that requires refrigeration so Kevin had a refrigerator in the room by the time we checked in. The only issue with Hilton refrigerators is they don't have a freezer compartment. This means that the ice pack for my med carrier has to be stored elsewhere. Kevin told me that he noted where it was located. This morning the staff was unable to find it! They saw the note but couldn't find it. The manager did give me another cold pack to use but it wasn't an ice pack or designed to fit my med carrier. Now I'll have to buy another.

A few issues but I would stay here again. The staff certainly made up for the small disappointments.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedMcCallum, General Manager at Hilton Manhattan East, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for your compliments directed to members of our staff who made sure that your special needs were accommodated. We also appreciate the few minor issues being brought to our attention so we can take corrective action. We hope to see you during your next visit to New York City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Manhattan East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Manhattan East

Address: 304 E. 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Formerly Tudor Hotel New York)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#110 Business Hotel in New York City
#124 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#215 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#232 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Manhattan East 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Tudor Hotel, this Midtown historic boutique hotel was transformed and reopened in 2010 as the Hilton Midtown East. 300 Guest Rooms and Suites located on East 42nd St. Walking distance to Grand Central, Midtown and the United Nations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hilton Manhattan East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Manhattan East Hotel New York City
Tudor Hotel United Nations
Crowne Plaza United Nations
Tudor Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Manhattan East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.