We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Beacon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Beacon to your Saves list
Hotel Beacon
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023 (Upper West Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good value and location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in NYC for two nights to attend a friend's wedding. All of the wedding guests stayed there- the bride and groom, who are from NYC, did their research in choosing this hotel to block off rooms- it was very reasonably priced (I compared to other hotels before we booked). The rooms were clean, quiet, service was good, and location was great! There is also a diner next door that serves great breakfast! There is no parking at the hotel, but this is the case with many NYC hotels...there is a fairly cheap parking garage about one block away- the hotel's website has information on the current pricing of this garage. Overall, I would stay at this hotel again when in NYC.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,502
    793
    93
    32
    14
See reviews for
905
677
90
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

Stayed at the Hotel Beacon for four and a half weeks in 2010. I chose the hotel from the reviews on this site, after specifying that I needed a hotel room with a kitchen. Location was perfect - two short blocks to a major subway station, beautiful/safe neighbourhood, grocery across the road, short walk to Central Park, all convenient amenitites close-by. Although the hotel is right on Broadway, the windows completely shut out the noise. Taxi fares to Midtown/Times Square was about $7 in reasonable traffic.

Room was great (we stayed in a One Bedroom Suite) - decorated modernly in a calming green theme; had two televisions (one in bedroom, one in lounge room); the best king-size bed I've ever slept in; large size rooms; kitchen that had everything; two large closets; great view onto Broadway. The only thing I would say against the room was the size of the bathroom - but I would much rather a small-ish bathroom than a smallish bedroom or loungeroom.

The staff were extremely helpful and recognised us and greeted us accordingly each day. Special thank you to the doormen, who were very friendly and accommodating.

Internet is available on site via two computers downstairs in the lobby - I waited in line several times to use it but thats understandable with the high amount of guests. I also paid $10 per day on a few occassions to use WiFi. No room service or restaurant, but there is a diner next door (not highly recommended though!) and many restaurants around the hotel - my favorites were an Asian fusion restaurant behind the hotel and Patsy's Pizzeria a few blocks down!

All in all, I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

We (2 Parents, 2 Teenage Boys) stayed at the Hotel Beacon New York from 22nd - 30th December 2010. The location is fantastic and within walking distance to Central Park; Time Square and the 72nd Street subway to be able to go to all the other wonderful New York attractions. The staff are friendly and helpful and always have a smile on their faces and a friendly greeting when you come and go from the Hotel. The onsite guest laundry is well stocked with machines and dryers and not too expensive to use. Our room had 2 queen beds, a sofa bed, a kitchenette and bathroom which were all very adequate for our needs as afterall it was really just somewhere nice, clean and safe just to put our heads at night. The housekeeping staff also need a mention as it was lovely to come back after a day out and find the room had been cleaned and beds made. We will return one day back to New York and would not hesitate to stay again at the Hotel Beacon.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

When staying at 75th and Broadway, you feel more like a New Yorker than a tourist trapped in an overpriced hotel in Times Square.
This hotel has been recently renovated. The rooms are clean and large for NYC. Location is great, 2 blocks to the subway and a couple of blocks from Central Park. The room also has a fridge, stove and microwave.
I asked about having a late checkout and was immediately given one. Front desk staff were helpful.
The hotel has no restaurant but is adjacent to a cafe, where you can get a good breakfast for under $10.
Great value.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel beacon (our second stay) for New Years Eve (2nights). We had 4 adults and 2 kids, with a 2 bed suite our selected room. The kids and tehir parents slept in 2 double beds in one room and we slept in the large bed in teh other room. The room has a lounge with a sofabed and table and chairs. The kitchen is well kitted out and ample for our requirements of snacks and cold food. The staff are fantastic and very helpful.
The hotel is located at the top of Broadway on the west side of Central Park. There is a supermarket over the road, bakery, starbucks and a lovely restaurant next door. All the sights of the city are within easy reach by metro, or our preferred method, walking.

We will be going back again

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

I stayed in Hotel Beacon for 5 nights during my first visit to New York, and couldn't fault it. The hotel is in a great location, away from the hustle and bustle of Times Square, but still wilthin a short travelling distance on the Subway (we bought a 7 day subway pass for about $30, we managed to travel everywhere we needed to go in the city with this ticket, and definitely saved a fortune on cabs).
From the minute we arrived the staff were friendly and helpful. We stayed in a 1 bedroom suitem and I was pleasantly suprised by how spacious it was. It was great having a little kitchenette and living room area as it meant we could make breakfast before the day ahead. With regards to cleanliness, the room was spotless, and the bed sheets were clean. The beds were really comfortable! Although we didnt use them, the 2 flat screen TVs were a nice touch, and it was great having an iPod dock.
On one ocassion, our bathroom flooded, and hotel staff were very promptly to fix the problem.
Overall, Hotel Beacon made my first trip to the Big Apple one to remember. I will definitely be returning there on my next visit.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

I can't recommend this hotel enough. I have stayed there easily 6 or 7 times in the last 12 years. The suites are spacious and simply perfect for a middle of the road hotel experience. Lots of shopping and a good place for foodies. The rooms are always quiet. Nice view of the streets from whatever room you end up with. Shop around for price on this hotel and make sure you go to their website for pricing. If you call the hotel directly you can end up with a good deal or getting scalped! Beware of the laundry situation, in other words, don't send out your laundry. The only thing is, the location isn't great if you are going to Midtown every night for shows. But, it is a great location for Lincoln Center events.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in New York City
#29 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#33 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Beacon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Beacon NYC, a haven of comfort amid the bustling excitement of New York City. Located on the historic Upper West Side, amid tree-lined streets and landmark buildings, the hotel is a beacon for relaxation. Friendly and accommodating, we offer handsomely decorated, oversized guestrooms and suites. With wonderful views of Central Park, the Hudson River and Midtown Manhattan, the Beacon is the perfect vantage point from which to venture anywhere in New York. And when your busy day is done, you'll have a perfect place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Otel, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Hotel Beacon New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Beacon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.