We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a lovely place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Beacon

Save Saved
You added Hotel Beacon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Beacon
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“what a lovely place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

for our first trip to NY we decided to stay at the beacon. Upon arrival late at night (1st sept 2014) we were blown away by the suite, the hotel and the staff. We had a king suite and I think it might have been bigger than my little house overall! The décor was of top standard and it was nicely furnished; very tasteful overall. The bed was the most comfy I have ever slept in on hols and I snoozed away like a dream (we both did). Our outlook was to the side road between Avenues of Broadway and Amsterdam, it was very quiet although the view was not up to much.

Just a few steps to the subway station; (out of hotel and turn left, cross one road) my partner soon mastered the subway system and we flashed up and down visiting various areas and the usual tourist attractions. An unexpected heatwave made it very tiring so it was bliss to get back to our suite at around 7pm to drop shopping, shower etc and head out for eats or if too exhausted to make an effort to pop to the supermarket either opposite or up the road to buy in supplies of beer and food! Then to sit with feet up having our munchies and relaxing in front of one of the 2 tvs! Note that the supermarkets do not sell wine but the beacon has a wine shop 2 doors away which was very handy). All washing up is taken away by the maid and replaced with clean crockery, cutlery, pans etc the next day. the hotel is spotless always!. The fridge freezer is full size and coffee maker and kettle (gas cooker installed in kitchen area) also supplied. You can get ice from the laundry and they even supply an ice bucket for this!

The bathroom is large and the toiletries are regularly replaced, they are very generous in efforts to make you feel at home including popping a daily (free) newspaper under your door. There is a laundry and a gym. I opted for collect and deliver laundry for some shirts which was very good service.

we would recommend exploring different areas for a change, for instance are you aware that the Bronx has a zoo? Set in 245 acres and with all animals you might want to see - including 5 gorillas with 2 babies (which made my day). The zoo was $33 each and you need quite a few hours to get around it all (not that we managed to see it all due to heat fatigue) but it is worth it. They do so much conservation work and breed animals that I feel we supported them a little in this. Also Union Square and Washington square (my favourite areas) are must do's! such pretty parks with SO MUCH going on, including a weekly market and lots of buskers of all types - a hive of activity on sunday for the locals and students putting on acts, playing chess and blackgammon in the sun.

Don't forget to explore your own area around the beacon for pretty cafes, restaurants of every nature and super bars! the local shopping is excellent too - I highly recommend DSW for shoes boots etc.

We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel for the staff, the quality of the rooms and the location. We simply LOVED everything about it. Our sincere thanks to the Beacon for making our trip to NY so fabulous!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,298
    707
    85
    28
    13
See reviews for
775
592
77
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Nice location in upper west side in a calm and silent neighborhood, you listen no noise at all during the night. And you are still 3 minutes walking from metro station 72 (72 St). This station has even a metro express line (train 2) from 42 St (Times Square) non stop. You are also 5 minutes walking from Central Park by Strawberry Fields area.
There is a nice supermarket right in front (Fairway) and a 24 hour drugstore (Duane Reade by Walgreens) less than half a block away.
Nice room, wonderful bed. . Actually it was a very a spacious room, good enough for 4 people. everything was pretty clean. There is a very well equipped small kitchen.
Only concern could be the bathroom, just because it is small. Elevators serving very well, no wasting time to wait and very fast. Internet wireless is good and free of charge.
Important that they do not charge for receiving packages for you, as they deliver everything your room at no cost.
Definitely, a good option for staying in NYC.

Stayed September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Out of the touristy areas and in a nice local area but only a few minutes walk from a subway station this place is in a great location.

The staff were amazing and quickly sorted out the only major problem we had - our travel agent had booked a twin room for our honeymoon. Within minutes we had the problem fixed and we were allocated a king room.

Only issue we had was the heat and the air con didn't seem to cope. This didn't effect our expletive at all.

Fantastic.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverloch, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed at this hotel as a group of 4 women. I explained this when I made the booking and when we arrived we were upgraded to a bigger suite. Everything was ideal - cleanliness, facilities - especially fully equipped kitchen, fabulous in house laundry. We loved the location, surrounded by great restaurants, a short walk to central park and the subway.
Couldn't find a fault if we tried!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Recently I stayed for 6 nights at the Beacon, sharing a suite with 3 friends. The hotel is situated in a good location, just a few minutes walk from a Metro station. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Right across the road is a fantastic deli where delicious food tempts anyone's appetite! There are many good restaurants within a few blocks of the hotel. Great area from which to explore New Uork.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent 4 days in a queen suite. Plenty of room and very comfortable. Had a view! Kitchen facilities were good but a saucepan and sharp knives would have been handy. Guest amenities were fine and staff very helpful. Our 4th trip to New York and the best so far.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_Travers, General Manager at Hotel Beacon, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear DonFBrisbane,

Thank you for having chosen the Hotel Beacon for your recent visit, and we are glad you enjoyed the view from your spacious suite. We are delighted to hear this has been your best New York City hotel experience so far, and hope to have you as our guest again for another wonderful stay.

Kind regards,
Thomas J. Travers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have just recently returned from a 5 day New York trip and I stayed at this hotel, sharing a room with my sister and brother-in-law. It was great, they had a spacious bedroom while I got a sofabed in the separate spacious lounge, which also had a small kitchenette with oven, microwave and coffee/tea making facilities. The sofabed had quite a dip in it and a thin mattress but hey, it's a sofabed and certainly after long days of sightseeing I had no problem sleeping. The location of the hotel is great, just a short walk from the subway at 72nd and close to Central Park. A pretty quiet neighbourhood and with a great grocery store right across the street. I would definitely consider staying there again and recommend it for its comfort, space, quietness and ease of accessing downtown

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_Travers, General Manager at Hotel Beacon, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear PhotosMusicMovies,

Thank you for your thoughtful review. We are genuinely pleased to hear you enjoyed the spaciousness and features of our One Bedroom Suite, as well as our convenient location which provides easy access to the subway and nearby attractions such as Central Park. We sincerely appreciate your feedback, and look forward to having you as our guest again in the future.

Best regards,
Thomas J. Travers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown , Upper West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in New York City
#23 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#44 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Beacon 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Hotel Beacon New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Beacon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.