We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need 3 beds? This is the place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Beacon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Beacon to your Saves list
Hotel Beacon
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023 (Upper West Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Plymouth, Michigan
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Need 3 beds? This is the place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I did a lot of research to find a nice hotel on Manhattan and close to the subway which would accommodate my husband and me, plus our teenage son and daughter. We needed three beds. That's hard to find without spending a fortune! At Hotel Beacon, you can get a suite that has two double beds and a queen-size sofa for a reasonable price. Perfect for our family! I liked this hotel a lot. It was stylishly appointed, and had a kitchenette with a stove, refrigerator, sink, coffee maker, microwave and dishes. There is a market right across the street and there are a lot of restaurants nearby. There were minor issues: We were by the elevator and it was noisy at times [room, 907]. The bathroom was really small and not ventilated plus had a chip on the tub, but that was a small price to pay for the rest of the amenities. We had problems with our AC unit and with our thermostats, but those were taken care of. We also had a problem at check in where they tried to tell us there was no suite available with two double beds and the sofa bed, though I had made the reservations 6 months in advance PLUS had called two days before check-in to verify. I absolutely would not hear of it, and they did somehow find us a room. Not sure what was up with that. Overall, I did like this hotel and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far from elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,490
    787
    92
    31
    14
See reviews for
895
673
87
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This was our first time in NYC and the hotel was perfect for exploring Manhattan. Brilliant location, very clean, comfy beds, very spacious rooms and quiet. We did not overlook Central Park but as we were hardly ever in the room, we did not mind. Our room was a suite and really big with two rooms and a kitchenette. Fairways market just across the road stocks everything you could possibly need. Perfect for our needs. Would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east coast
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

This has become my favorite hotel in New York. Here are my reasons:
- Getting around: The subway (1-3) is basically right out the door at 72nd St.
- Morning coffee: I love the ability to boil water in my room, and the presence of a decent fridge to
keep my coffee cream in.
- Pet free: 100 percent. This alone would keep me coming back over and over again.
- Feels unique: For example, the art on the walls in the rooms are plentiful and interesting.
- Amazing views from rooms facing the park
- Love the neighborhood, cafes, shops etc. Feels a bit almost European...
- Staff are great, not overly fawning, no pre-fab speeches etc.

Criticisms:
- thumping elevator noise on top floor room
- shower heads need replacing

Room Tip: facing the park on a higher floor = fantastic view
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Beacon for 5 nights in July 2014 and loved it.

Great room,spacious,comfortable and quiet.Cooking facilities also although not used too much as the location is perfect for cafes,supermarkets and restaurants.Across the road there is several deli/food outlets .

Service was excellent and being in Upper West side we could walk everywhere.Loved it and would stay here without any hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stayed there in August of 2012. I was attending classes at Columbia and stayed there for a week. It was very clean, cool (ac) near the subway, starbucks and the grocery store. Room was large and light blocking curtains were great. The neighborhood is quiet (for NYC) and feels very safe walking about at night. Would recommend to anyone in the NYC area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robina, Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

My son and I spent 8 nights in this hotel and I am so thankful that I discovered this gem on Tripadvisor!
The location is perfect - away from the Times Square chaos but so convenient to get there and other sights via subway very nearby.
We loved the market across the road and were able to prepare breakfast and sometimes lunch too in our little kitchen. The bakery nearby had cookies to die for and we really enjoyed a lot of the other local restaurants.
Staying so long meant we used the laundry a few times which was very convenient.
Staff were all so friendly and helpful.
Beds comfortable and we were blessed with an amazing view from our 21st floor corner room.
When next in NYC we need look no further for where we will stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockledge, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I have traveled to NYC more times than I can count. I have stayed in extremely high end hotels and loved them, but ever since I have stayed at the Beacon I wouldn't stay anywhere else. This is in the perfect area. The hotel has recently been renovated and the rooms are perfect. I love the use of the kitchens in the room and there is a grocery store right across the street to stock up on goodies with. The staff has never been anything but amazing! I will be back again ....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in New York City
#28 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#30 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Beacon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Beacon NYC, a haven of comfort amid the bustling excitement of New York City. Located on the historic Upper West Side, amid tree-lined streets and landmark buildings, the hotel is a beacon for relaxation. Friendly and accommodating, we offer handsomely decorated, oversized guestrooms and suites. With wonderful views of Central Park, the Hudson River and Midtown Manhattan, the Beacon is the perfect vantage point from which to venture anywhere in New York. And when your busy day is done, you'll have a perfect place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Hotel Beacon New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Beacon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.