We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved This Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Beacon

Save Saved
You added Hotel Beacon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Beacon
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 451 hotels in New York City
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Loved This Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Our family of six were extremely pleased with the accommodations at Hotel Beacon. We booked a two bedroom suite and were not disappointed. Plenty of room for everyone, two bathrooms, a comfortable living and kitchen area. The upper west side location was perfect and the staff was extremely helpful. Grocery stores across the street, Museum of Natural History is a short walk and a subway stop a couple blocks away. We look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Higher the room the quieter it is. Bring a sound machine just in case.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,042 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,250
    669
    82
    28
    13
See reviews for
722
574
74
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

First things first: If you like Times Square, then don't stay at the Beacon. If, on the other hand, you want to experience New York as New Yorkers do, then don't miss this fantastic hotel. We stayed in a two-room suite that was giant by NYC standards, and even had a full kitchen. Wish we'd known about that when our two kids were small. The staff is exceptionally friendly, the location is phenomenal (fabulous restaurants and the 72d St. subway station all within 2 minutes' walk), the room was quiet and comfortable, and the price is extremely reasonable. Will stay at the Beacon whenever we visit the city from now on!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Location is perfect! Our one bedroom suite accommodation was perfect! Can't recommend this hotel enough. Stayed here for 3-nights at the beginning of travelling Coast to Coast USA. With the superb Fairways store across the road - marvellous store. So many things to see within walking distance from the hotel. If thinking of staying here, think no more!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I really wanted to like this hotel based on recommendations and other reviews.
The good things: Location is great, away from the busy midtown area but readily accessible, <5mins walk to subway, 3 blocks from central park. We had a one bedroom suite which was spacious and clean with a small functional kitchenette including refrigerator. Market across the road for any foodstuffs that you might need. Beds were comfortable. Laundry room with washers and driers.
Nice restaurant next door, lots of cafes within a short walk.
The bad things: sofa bed was quite uncomfortable with a thin mattress and bars sticking into back and shoulders. The elevators could be quite slow, often a wait for one to arrive. Our big problem, though, was the A/C in the bedroom which malfunctioned for 3 of the 5 nights we were there, cycling on and off resulting in sporadic noise making it impossible to sleep. We were told twice that it was fixed, but the problem recurred. Sleep disturbance turned a positive stay into an only ok one, at best.
Wifi available, but not uncommon to be told that "all available access is in use, please try later". That is irritating.
Oh yeah, and the bar: $16 for a glass of average wine, avoid it!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We spent 5 days at this hotel after a 14 day bus trip around Eastern US and used it as a base 'to do' New York and it's was superb. We were in room 708 and had a lovely view over Broadway. On 75th and Broadway the Beacon is just a 5 min walk to Central Park, and far enough away from Time Square and the down town rat race to be almost sedate - but still close enough and has got plenty of great nearby eateries and some quality boutique shopping and a great food market [Fairway] over the road where you can "get anything" and really well priced. Rooms have a small well equipped kitchen including microwave, small stove and fridge so can do your own breakfasts (or other meals) - oh - and lovely beds AND the room was thoroughly cleaned daily - not always our experience in US. The hotel had the best wash house we saw in 15 hotels on our trip with Maeteg washing machines and drivers and well priced to do your washing and drying. An on site small boutique bar had happy hour daily from 5-7 (as did many others and eateries) but being on site, provided a good interaction opportunity with other guests. Front office staff superb including Concierge and Bellmen. When needed, subway is one block away, bus stop almost at door and taxi only $15 to Times Square and other down town spots. We thoroughly enjoyed this hotel and definitely recommend it and if we return to NY will without doubt be our hotel of choice. Thanks to all at Beacon you helped make our NY stopover so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Any room that looks out over Broadway good and get good afternoon sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I have stayed here 3 times, most recently in June 2014. The rooms are huge by New York standards, and beautifully furnished. The location is fabulous - only one stop from Times Square if you catch the express 2 or 3 line trains. So close to Central Park, the Lincoln Centre and great restaurants. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Having a kitchen in the rooms is great, particularly with the market across the road, it meant we could buy breakfast supplies. Love this hotel, it will always be my first choice in Manhattan.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarbert, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Friendly and helpful staff.
Comfortable rooms + kitchenette. Good value for rooms with 2 beds in (to allow our teenage son and daughter to share a room)
Location on Upper West Side close to the river and Central park.
A good variety of places to eat nearby - Viande Cafe next door excellent for breakfast
Not too far to downtown Manhattan via subway or cab.
Somehow my review on Booking.com came out at 7.9- it really should be 9.0!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown , Upper West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in New York City
#24 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#36 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Beacon 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Hotel Beacon New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Beacon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.