We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Upper West side” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Beacon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Beacon to your Saves list
Hotel Beacon
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023 (Upper West Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Love the Upper West side”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel twice and both times it has exceeded my expectations and I always recomend it. The rooms are a good size - the kitchenette is all you need and with so many great supermarkets and delis nearby if you don't feel like eating out one night there are plenty of great options to prepare. I love the location as you are in the NYC where New Yorkers live yet it is so convenient to get the subway or walk to wherever you want to go. You can walk to Times Square in 20 mins. Also having the bar downstairs is great and having a laundry onsite is very useful especially for families.

Room Tip: Request a room on a high floor for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,629
    868
    100
    33
    16
See reviews for
995
739
96
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Traveling with 3 friends, we booked the two bedroom two bathroom suite. It was the perfect accommodation for four. Nicely appointed, clean, comfortable beds. Well-located close to subway (one block) restaurants and the fabulous Fairway Market which is open till midnight and has lots of great food easy to take to your room and nibble. Hotel personnel were friendly and helpful. I would stay here again in a minute.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Couldn't Give this hotel enough credit! Best hotel ever. Great value for money. We stay there for a week and then moved hotels to a different area, which did not even come close and was highly ranked also. We had a very spacious room with a little Kitchenette which was handy. The view was great. The king bed was so comfortable and room was very clean. The windows opened slightly so you could get some fresh air. This hotel had a great feel and was very cosy. The fairway markets is just across the road where you can buy a range of different foods. It is worth a walk through. The hotel also has a bar which has happy hour and the beacon theatre is next door also. Very close to Central Park. Starbucks is on the corner which is handy and a great little cafe next door that do a cheap and yummy breakfast. This hotel is away from the hustle and bustle but subway is close and only 6 mins to Times Square. Highly recommend this hotel and will be back for sure.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We got a one room suite with 2 queen/double beds. This hotel room is very spacious. I was with my husband and 2 kids. Check in/out was a breeze. There's a fresh grocery across and a Duane Reade beside it which makes it very convenient. There's also a laundry area which is a plus for our 3 week travel. The sitting area is spacious and we could order in and eat here and even do a workout video! I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

This is our new favourite hotel in NYC. We just spent 5 nights and loved it. King beds are super comfortable. Great location with Fairway Market across the street, Starbucks on the corner and the 1, 2 and 3 subway line a couple blocks to the south. The windows have been upgraded which reduces the street noise. No issues with wifi in the rooms. Try the great restaurants on the blocks to the east (Columbus and Amsterdam).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
104 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

I've stayed in several different hotels in NYC and nearly always have had a tiny room but no such problem here - we had a lovely big room with a big window letting in lots of natural light.

The location of this place is excellent, 2 blocks from 72nd st 1-2-3 and about 20 minutes walk to Times Square. It's close enough that you can get where you want quick enough but quiet enough that you don't step out onto the hustle and bustle.

Our room was really well appointed with everything we needed. The fridge and small kitchenette was very welcome. We did have a problem when we got back one night where the TV, AC and bedside lamp would not turn on, I believe due to a fault with the thing that you put the room card in near the door. I mentioned it to reception the next morning and by the time we came back later that day it was fixed.

The room was nice and clean each day.

Overall we really liked this hotel and would definitely consider staying here again for future visits to NYC.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at this lovely hotel and once again was great. Staff all friendly and helpful, rooms clean, comfortable and spacious. Great to have microwave and some cooking facilities with fridge as well. Two blocks from subway and only about 20 min walk to Times Square if feeling energetic!! Beacon Theatre next door with various events and cinema nearby as well never mind restaurant next door and deli across the road. Most definitely the place to stay in NYC!,!

Room Tip: We were on 18th floor great view and no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#77 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,795 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#120 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,641 reviews
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#172 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#24 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 357 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel
Distrikt Hotel
#26 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,861 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#212 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in New York City
#26 Business Hotel in New York City
#37 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Beacon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Beacon NYC, a haven of comfort amid the bustling excitement of New York City. Located on the historic Upper West Side, amid tree-lined streets and landmark buildings, the hotel is a beacon for relaxation. Friendly and accommodating, we offer handsomely decorated, oversized guestrooms and suites. With wonderful views of Central Park, the Hudson River and Midtown Manhattan, the Beacon is the perfect vantage point from which to venture anywhere in New York. And when your busy day is done, you'll have a perfect place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Hotel Beacon New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Beacon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.