We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Beacon

Save Saved
You added Hotel Beacon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Beacon
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 451 hotels in New York City
Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Traveling with 3 friends, we booked the two bedroom two bathroom suite. It was the perfect accommodation for four. Nicely appointed, clean, comfortable beds. Well-located close to subway (one block) restaurants and the fabulous Fairway Market which is open till midnight and has lots of great food easy to take to your room and nibble. Hotel personnel were friendly and helpful. I would stay here again in a minute.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,038 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,246
    669
    82
    28
    13
See reviews for
719
573
74
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Couldn't Give this hotel enough credit! Best hotel ever. Great value for money. We stay there for a week and then moved hotels to a different area, which did not even come close and was highly ranked also. We had a very spacious room with a little Kitchenette which was handy. The view was great. The king bed was so comfortable and room was very clean. The windows opened slightly so you could get some fresh air. This hotel had a great feel and was very cosy. The fairway markets is just across the road where you can buy a range of different foods. It is worth a walk through. The hotel also has a bar which has happy hour and the beacon theatre is next door also. Very close to Central Park. Starbucks is on the corner which is handy and a great little cafe next door that do a cheap and yummy breakfast. This hotel is away from the hustle and bustle but subway is close and only 6 mins to Times Square. Highly recommend this hotel and will be back for sure.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We got a one room suite with 2 queen/double beds. This hotel room is very spacious. I was with my husband and 2 kids. Check in/out was a breeze. There's a fresh grocery across and a Duane Reade beside it which makes it very convenient. There's also a laundry area which is a plus for our 3 week travel. The sitting area is spacious and we could order in and eat here and even do a workout video! I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

This is our new favourite hotel in NYC. We just spent 5 nights and loved it. King beds are super comfortable. Great location with Fairway Market across the street, Starbucks on the corner and the 1, 2 and 3 subway line a couple blocks to the south. The windows have been upgraded which reduces the street noise. No issues with wifi in the rooms. Try the great restaurants on the blocks to the east (Columbus and Amsterdam).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

I've stayed in several different hotels in NYC and nearly always have had a tiny room but no such problem here - we had a lovely big room with a big window letting in lots of natural light.

The location of this place is excellent, 2 blocks from 72nd st 1-2-3 and about 20 minutes walk to Times Square. It's close enough that you can get where you want quick enough but quiet enough that you don't step out onto the hustle and bustle.

Our room was really well appointed with everything we needed. The fridge and small kitchenette was very welcome. We did have a problem when we got back one night where the TV, AC and bedside lamp would not turn on, I believe due to a fault with the thing that you put the room card in near the door. I mentioned it to reception the next morning and by the time we came back later that day it was fixed.

The room was nice and clean each day.

Overall we really liked this hotel and would definitely consider staying here again for future visits to NYC.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelso, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at this lovely hotel and once again was great. Staff all friendly and helpful, rooms clean, comfortable and spacious. Great to have microwave and some cooking facilities with fridge as well. Two blocks from subway and only about 20 min walk to Times Square if feeling energetic!! Beacon Theatre next door with various events and cinema nearby as well never mind restaurant next door and deli across the road. Most definitely the place to stay in NYC!,!

Room Tip: We were on 18th floor great view and no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We are another Aussie couple who enjoyed a fabulous 10 night stay at the Hotel Beacon in April 2014 and would highly recommend this hotel as a very comfortable home away from home whilst in New York.
Fantastic location with restaurants, grocery/wine stores, great shopping and subway within easy walking distance. Easy walk to Natural History museum as well as across Central Park to The Met.
Friendly, welcoming staff plus well appointed and quiet room with very handy kitchenette. Good closet space esp. for someone who started with 2 suitcases and left with 4!
A very special thanks to Reservations Team especially Jim who ensured we had a wonderful room on the top floor (Level 25) with amazing views across Central Park to celebrate my birthday! I think Jim might have even arranged the late evening snow fall on the evening prior to my birthday - thanks again for this incredible spectacle!!
.

Room Tip: We loved our higher floor ( top level 25) which faced Central park and had amazing views!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown , Upper West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in New York City
#25 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#36 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Beacon 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Hotel Beacon New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Beacon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.