We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, great location, fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Beacon

Save Saved
You added Hotel Beacon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Beacon
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 452 hotels in New York City
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable, great location, fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Fantastic hotel, friendly porters and great location to subway, deli, and Central Park. Rooms were spacious and beds were sooooo comfy after hours of walking the streets of this fabulous city. Highly recommend to anyone with children as well as couples.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,100 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,283
    693
    83
    28
    13
See reviews for
761
586
75
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Oregon
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed for 6 nights in April 2014. Since we had taken a red-eye, no room was available. The front desk staff greeted us with a smile and a customer-focused, helpful attitude, and the concierge efficiently checked our bags so that we were able to enjoy a day of sightseeing prior to checking in that evening. That friendly greeting was repeated every time we entered or departed the hotel. In addition, each member of the housekeeping staff also asked us how our day was going, etc. The room was a very spacious suite - unlike some of the cramped spaces one can encounter in NYC. The room was clean and in good repair. The pod coffee machine (with complimentary pods!) was a plus. We stopped by local bakeries for pastries when we returned every evening and there is a nice grocery store across the street to purchase OJ and milk for the nice-sized refrigerator. It's an easy walk to Central Park, and 2-3 minutes walk to the subway. We're looking forward to a return stay.

Room Tip: The suites with king-sized beds have bedrooms that are near elevator shafts, so there is the chance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, MD
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I always stay at the Beacon when I can get a room. Very convenient and comfortable. I met my grandchildren at the new Beacon Bar which was very "New York." All in all, it was great. I highly recommend breakfast at the Fairway, across the street.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artarmon
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

This was our second Beacon Hotel stay in two years. I usually hate returning to the same place because it's never as good as you remember but that's not true of NY or of the Beacon. This place is a gem and what made it even better was that one of the front desk staff whom I remember fondly, Mary ,was there. She exhibited her great service and humour. Love her. Our room was fantastic, pity the weather wasn't!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great and roomy, fantastic value for NYC
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

My husband & I stayed for 5 nights with our 2 daughters aged 18 & 15 in April 2014. The location is great right near the subway with an express train to Times Square (42nd st). Staff were friendly & helpful, a supermarkets & dinners, Starbucks close by. We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite. 3 closets held our 4 suitcases so they were accessible but out of the way. Only 2 minor negatives (or hotel requests) The closets would have made finding things in our suitcases even easier if they had lights & like all sofa beds it could have been comfier. Would stay again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

just back from NYC having spent 6 nights at the hotel beacon, there were 5 of us, we had a bedroom, sittingroom with small kitchenette which was a great size for the family. we were on the 18th floor which was very quiet. Fairways across the road for picking up a few food items, viand diner next door was very good. the staff were very friendly and helpful. The subway was less than 5 minutes walk away!. We had takeaway pizza from patsys pizza which was very good. Levain bakery had lovely cakes to take away.

We got great value with the room rate and would highly recommend especially to families! Look forward to coming back there in the future!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

My husband and I recently returned from10 fabulous days in New York at the Beacon Hotel with our 3 children aged 14, 12 and 12. The hotel was fantastic from start to finish. We had a 2 bedroom suite on the 14th floor facing Broadway. They were great sized rooms with very comfy beds, 2 bathrooms and excellent kitchenette with all we needed. We ate various meals in the room as well as eating out which saved us a lot of money. There is a great market across the road which is pricey but cheaper than eating out. It is close to the subway and a short walk from the river and Central Park. It is the best hotel we have stayed in as a family and we would highly recommend it. The staff are friendly and helpful, it is quiet at night (for New York!) and there is a guest launderette which is easy to use and useful as we were staying over a week! We were sad to leave and would return in a heartbeat. Well done Beacon!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown , Upper West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in New York City
#24 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#44 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Beacon 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Hotel Beacon New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Beacon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.