We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Convient Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Beacon

Save Saved
You added Hotel Beacon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Beacon
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 451 hotels in New York City
Cabot, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very Convient Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

4 of us come to NY to see a rehearsal of La Sonnebelum at Lincoln Center and could easily walk there from our hotel. We had booked 3 Broadway shows and again either by Taxie or the #2 Subway made getting around to these easy as well. Now as to eateries the hotel desk were very helpful in pointing out places for breafast as well as dinner. One of our favorites that they advised was the Citrus grill.

Now on a return trip to NY we would give this hotel a try again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,046 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,254
    669
    82
    28
    13
See reviews for
726
576
74
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed in a suite with 2 children and 4 adults. Although cozy, we had enough space with the 2 bathrooms and living space. It was great to have the kitchen available for cooking breakfasts. The cleaning staff took care of cleaning the dishes. The hotel staff was very responsive to a few request. They brought up a DVD player for us. The sleeper sofa mattress was uncomfortable so they brought in a twin rollaway which turned out to be a box spring and mattress, the most substantial roll-away ever. The location was terrific with just 2 blocks from a subway stop. In walking distance from Central Park and several museums and a great supermarket across the street, Fairway.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karma5207
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Not to get into a long story, so let's just say that my opinion changed from complete dissatisfaction to would now recommend this for families based on location and price. The standard room met our needs and the staff was accommodating. Great find and may return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Wonderful ! My favorite hotel in NYC. We just Love being inn the upper westside. The hotel has such a strong neighborhood feel. The rooms are spacious, and the service is simply outstanding. It's NY at its best.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

My family and I recently stayed at the Hotel Beacon during a seven night, first time visit to NYC and were really happy with our hotel choice. We had a suite with a King bed in the bedroom and our two children shared the pullout sofabed. Well, the youngest eventually decided to turn "her" closet into a mini-apartment and set up a bed in there with the seat cushions from the couch. That's how big the closets were! The housekeeper straightened our daughter's "mini-apartment" and set the couch cusions up as a chair during the day - she was so thrilled!

And there were 3 closets, so each of the kids was able to have her own closet, with my husband and I sharing the large one in our bedroom. It was an unexpected treat to have so much room to put away our luggage and hang clothes, etc. The kitchen was perfect too and we enjoyed cooking on the mini gas stovetop - having the dishes done for us was another bonus! We weren't on as high a floor as I'd hoped for, but still had a really nice view of the Ansonia building and absolutely no street noise. The air conditioner/heater shutting on and off was a little noisy, but we got a fan and drowned that noise out without any problem.

Finally, the location was perfect for us. We enjoyed the feel of the neighborhood and the easy walking distance to Riverside Park and Central Park. We also enjoyed the Viand cafe next door and Levain Bakery - it was dangerous having that so close by! The Allman Brothers were having their final concerts at The Beacon next door during our visit, so the sidewalk in front of The Beacon was crowded with ticket seekers and hawkers, but that just added to the fun. The Fairway across the street was very nice too and we shopped there several times. The 72nd street subway station with its access to the express or local subway trains was very convenient.

This is not a high-end service hotel - no room service and a small lobby that was perfectly serviceable and fine with us, but nothing like some of the over-the-top fancy lobbies in other hotels in the city. We are fairly self-reliant though, and found this hotel a perfect fit for us. When we come back to NYC, we will definitely return to the Hotel Beacon.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view. We never had to wait more than a minute on an elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

My favourite hotel to recommend in New York, we stayed 5 nights and were looked after so well - thanks to the reception for being able to answer all our questions and pointing us in the right direction! We stayed in a standard room and it had an amazing view, very roomy for 2 people could easily fit 3. Didn't use the kitchenette (who wants to cook while on holiday??) but great addition. 1 stop from times square and 2 mins from nearest subway. Cannot fault this place, for the price and the value, it's hands down one of the best places to stay in New York! DEFINITELY STAY HERE!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

I had to return to New York for my mom's funeral, and never had to stay in a hotel there before, always staying with family. So first I faced the daunting task of finding a reasonably affordable hotel that was available. Thank you to all the Trip Advisor reviewers that helped us find the Hotel Beacon. Great location (upper west side), great prices, great rooms, and great service.

We were on the 24th floor with a suite for $255-$275 per night (varied by night) - two rooms with spectacular views of the City, the Hudson River, and the New Jersey shoreline. Didn't hear a sound. Beautiful decor with soft colors, white trim, and 3 huge closets (most New Yorkers would die for that much space). Small kitchenette withe stove, microwave, full size refrig. Smallish bathroom, but nice. The only problem was the toilet didn't like to flush much - asked to have it fixed, but didn't happen and may just be the problem with an older New York building (which didn't feel old except for this). Also the windows would have opened - it was just too cold this winter. Beds were incredibly comfortable. Plus energy efficient - when you enter the room you put your room card into a docking station which then turns on the power. Separate controls for each of the rooms, too.

Brand new large gym with nice equipment. New large laundry room. No restaurant, but tons in the neighborhood including a terrific diner right next door.

I can't say enough about the service. So as if they hadn't already done enough, here's an update. We left over a week ago and I immediately had to leave Michigan for a week-long meeting on the west coast. My husband couldn't find his Kindle after our trip. So Sunday morning I called, expected to have no favorable results, and asked if it might be possible that he had left it in the room over a week ago. They had it logged in and offered to package it and send it to us!!! It could so easily have disappeared, but they were terrific.

Now we have a favorite place for future trips. Absolutely terrific.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown , Upper West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in New York City
#23 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#39 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Beacon 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Hotel Beacon New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Beacon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.