We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fabulous Place ....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Beacon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Beacon to your Saves list
Hotel Beacon
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Fabulous Place ....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Thank you to the Beacon Hotel, a fantastic place to stay, everything you could need! Our 2 families of 5 have just left the Beacon - perfect for families, the 2 bed suite has a kitchenette and with the Fairway Market across the road it is easy to do breakfast and dinners in to help the budget. In the upper west side, it is so close to walk to Central Park, the Met Museum, and other key attractions and also only 2 blocks to the closest subway stop. Lots of great local places to eat and quirky shops in the area - the more than helpful staff will point you in the right direction. A perfect place to stay when in NYC.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,395
    749
    89
    28
    13
See reviews for
833
636
81
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Very well located and quiet hotel on the Upper West Side, close to subway and cross-town buses. Very comfortable room. Great bar off the lobby for a quiet drink late at night. Guest coin laundry was a bonus, as I stayed for just over a week. Staff friendly and helpful, offering advice on everything from local restaurants to bus routes. Hotel offered free wifi but it wasn't entirely reliable. But it had a small business corner in the lobby with computers and access to a printer. Lots of good places to eat in the area and large supermarket & fresh food market opposite. Can definitely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Stayed at the Hotel Beacon for 5 nights in Dec 2013 with my boyfriend in a standard king room. My favourite thing about the hotel was the location. I loved the quietness of the upper west side yet also how close we were to the metro station. If you get on a express line its no more the five minutes to times square. Room was a nice size and was also clean. Would most definitely stay again and will be recommending this hotel to my friends and family.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united states
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Just got back from three nights. Staff very friendly and helpful. Beautiful, spacious rooms with great views from the 21st floor! Kitchenette a plus as we could eat breakfast 'in.'
One very picky negative: There was no fan in the bathroom, and 4 of us taking hot showers.
We will be back!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

This was our second one week stay following the first in 2009. The location is brilliant, the staff very efficient, friendly, and helpful. The suites, which we have booked on each visit, are very good for a New York visit as they allow you a place to rest from the bustling city. The new guest laundry was also most appreciated. Only downside for this visit was that the room we had was a bit tired and in need of maintenance.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We showed up early for our check-in, hoping to at least check our bags while we went to eat. My son was not feeling well and they not only checked us in early, but found us a two-bedroom suite so we could all be together even though our reservation was for two one-bedroom suites. After sleeping for a few hours and waking up miserable, we told the front desk we had to leave as our son was ill. I was not looking for a refund as we used a bed, both bathrooms and left trash from lunch, but was just letting them know we were leaving so they could clean the room and book a late arrival if needed. Well, they cut our bill in half anyway and offered to keep our bag while we picked up our SUV, or loan us an umbrella knowing we were leaving. The suite itself was clean and efficiently laid out. Great location near Central Park, Lincoln Center and Museum of Natural History. Hopefully we can return when our family is in better shape.

p.s. They also offer free WiFi which is a rarity in Manhattan.

Room Tip: Even though the hotel is on Broadway, the rooms were very quiet with very little street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Stayed here with my brother & parents in December 2013. Really good hotel, in a nice location.
Had a 2 room suite which was perfect for us staying together as a family - 2 double beds in the room my brother & I were sharing, & the kitchen area was handy to have also.
There are loads of places to eat nearby & the Fairway market opposite was very handy for getting some food in to have breakfast in the room.
We walked to a lot of the places we were visiting, however the subway is very near if you wanted to use that.
Despite being on Broadway, it's a very quiet hotel & very comfortable.
Would definitely recommend to friends who were planning on visiting New York.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown , Upper West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in New York City
#25 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#31 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Beacon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Beacon NYC, a haven of comfort amid the bustling excitement of New York City. Located on the historic Upper West Side, amid tree-lined streets and landmark buildings, the hotel is a beacon for relaxation. Friendly and accommodating, we offer handsomely decorated, oversized guestrooms and suites. With wonderful views of Central Park, the Hudson River and Midtown Manhattan, the Beacon is the perfect vantage point from which to venture anywhere in New York. And when your busy day is done, you'll have a perfect place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Hotel Beacon New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Beacon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.