We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money, quality establishment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Beacon

Save Saved
You added Hotel Beacon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Beacon
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 451 hotels in New York City
Dudley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money, quality establishment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Just spent 4 nights in the Hotel Beacon, found the hotel to be excellent value for money. Had a one bedroom suite for three adults, room very spacious for a big city hotel. Staff courteous and very friendly, location good, excellent fairway market across the street, within walking distance of Central Park and the onwards to centre of Manhattan. Will definitely use the hotel again when next visit NYC.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,043 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,251
    669
    82
    28
    13
See reviews for
723
574
74
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

This is a brilliant hotel, situated outside the chaos of Times Square. As we were on a holiday visiting New York for the first time, we were up early every morning travelling to all the tourist attractions.

We travelled into Times Square everyday. There is a subway station 3 blocks from the hotel (6 or 7 minutes walk) named 72nd street. From this station there were express trains frequently which took less than 5 minutes to get to Times Square. The hotel front of desk staff were very helpful in showing us where to go and provided maps etc.

There is not a restaurant in the hotel beacon, however there is a diner next door which is reasonably priced, lovely food and always busy! (French toast was amazing!)

Hotel beacon rooms were very spacious, we had a two bedroom suite, one room was a double sofa bed, and the other room had 2 double beds in, which easily slept two of us in each of them. There were kitchen facilities although we did not use them, as well as tea and coffee facilities. Both rooms had big flat screen TV's, and the whole suit was very spacious.

The bathroom shower was very good (powerful) and we were also provided with shampoo, conditioner, bar of soap, body lotion and dental rinse, which were all useful.

The whole hotel was extremely clean all the time and would recommend anyone to stay here. Was a brilliant all round stay and would definitely stay here again!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I can't say enough good things about this hotel. I was a little skeptical of all the good things I read on TA, but they were all absolutely true! The location in a busy residential area is unique and especially convenient if you are doing concerts at Lincoln Center and/or the 92nd Street Y. The front desk, doormen/bellmen, and maids were all welcoming. Our large two room king suite with three closets and kitchenette was a great value by NYC standards. The bath is quite small but usable. Our 15th floor rooms looked newly refurbished and were immaculate. Housekeeping was excellent. The Levain Bakery around the corner on W 74th has the best cookies in the world!

Room Tip: Pick a high floor (15-25) for a view or a refurbished floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my parents and it was fantastic. We had an apartment which was lovely and spacious. When we arrived after a long day travelling, we were told we had be upgraded to a corner suite. The views were beautiful from all three windows, on two corners. My parents had a beautiful room and walk in wardrobe. And I was very happy with my pull out bed in the sitting room. There was still space for me to put my clothes away. It gave us all space from one another so we were happy (as I am 24 and need a little peace, ha). The bathroom was nice and clean with the usual freebies. The only problem here, was the harsh shower. It hurt so much as the water pressure was so hard. No matter which we turned it, it still hurt. But we got over it as a funny story. There was a little kitchen and dining area where we had our breakfast from a bakery just over the road. Very happy! The staff are very helpful and will help you with any questions. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

This hotel is just perfect for a citytrip to NYC. It's located in the upper West-Side, only 2 blocks from the subway stop 72. So you're in Times Square in only 5 min. My husband was celebrating his 30th birthday so i've requested a higher floor, but we've got a higher floor and a cornerroom. So a special thanks again to the staff. The room itself was spacious, nice kitchen area and bathroom.
If we ever go to NYC again, we'll book this same hotel. It was fantastic.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

The location of this apartment hotel is quite good - close to the metro and central park, and in a nice area. We appreciated having a kitchenette for a stay of a few days. The deli opposite has an excellent range of food. Staff were polite, room was kept clean.

Room Tip: We were given a room opposite the lifts. We could not hear the lift in operation, but when we opened...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

It was a good choice for us especially the location in a safe district which is important for a New York hotel. Close to main attractions. Room was good enough for a family with kids. It was clean and comfortable. The price was average and worth for it. The staff was nice and polite.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown , Upper West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in New York City
#24 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#36 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Beacon 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Hotel Beacon New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Beacon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.