We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NYC Marathon Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Beacon

Save Saved
You added Hotel Beacon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Beacon
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 446 hotels in New York City
Port Orange, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“NYC Marathon Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

For anyone who is running in the NYC Marathon, this is an excellent place to stay. The 72nd Street subway is only minutes away with express trains available downtown. There is a market and a deli just across the street with excellent food choices. The 5th floor ice maker had plenty for after race recovery. There's an excellent diner adjacent to the hotel. The room was absolutely perfect for this event. Nice bed, excellent shower, good linens along with having a kitchenette. An added bonus was the dirty silverware replaced every day. No need to even do dishes if you didn't want to. We did cook in the room and this was easily accomplished. Parking was on the other side of the hotel for $55 a day. Not cheap but it's NYC and a splurge. There were other parking garages available also. Absolutely no complaints and would stay there again. Staff was excellent!

Room Tip: We had a room facing East towards Central Park. The fireworks on the first night were breathtaking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,894 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,147
    630
    76
    28
    13
See reviews for
659
527
70
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tibenham, Norwich
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This was our first night in a 21-day visit to the USA. The hotel was average with a comfortable pair of beds and good service. However, the effect was marred by the lack of a restaurant. This was slightly overcome by a good location just a few minutes from Central Park.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This hotel was our first opportunity to sleep in a bed after 19 hours on an aircraft. The front-desk person was very cheerful and we even managed to get an extra bed (fold-out couch rather than a roll-away). With Fairfield Markets across the road (Broadway) and Starbucks around the corner, we decided that breakfast could be sorted in the morning. We were able to walk down to 42nd Street without any bother. The kitchenette had a good sized fridge so we were able to stock up on essentials like milk and soft drinks (Americans call them sodas). Future breakfasts were cereal, toast and that all important coffee.

Room Tip: We had no noise problems on the Northside, even though there were two different concerts at the Beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed here for one night before and after a cruise, we stayed on a high floor on the side and then on the front both great views! Bed was lovely and comfortable and also the kitchenette well equipped, loved the coffee maker! 10 minute walk to the Natural History Museum and an entrance to Central Park and about 15 mins in a taxi down to Times Square. Would definitely stay in Hotel Beacon again if we went back to NYC!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honiton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The hotel's location, within 4 minutes walk of 72nd St subway (Lines 1,2 &3), is great. Excellent food shop opposite. 12 minutes walk to central park, 15 to Lincoln Centre.

We had a king suite on the 15th floor facing east. it was great, just what we needed. having a separate sitting room is a boon for city holidays. We used the small kitchenette for preparing breakfast, and snacks that need little work. Although it has a full sized cooker, there is not really sufficient space or equipment for preparing major meals. i wouldn't want to anyway. I was on holiday! Staff clear away dishes left in the sink & replace them with fresh ones each day. Bed was very comfortable. Room was quiet with windows shut.

We were first allocated a spacious suite on the 6th floor, but it faced a brick wall and was dark. We had booked 6 months in advance, but the manager took on board our disappointment and moved us the following day. thank you!

Warning for European travellers. In New York taxes are added on top of the quoted price. So our room cost $385 but we ended up paying near to $450 per night. The same applies in shops and restaurants - taxes on top of quoted price. :-(

We would stay at the hotel again if we returned to NY.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 14th floor or above, particularly at the rear, facing east, in order to have g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Lincoln, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed seven nights in this hotel and loved it. We were on the 20th floor so had a great view. The staff were first rate, the rooms were clean and very comfortable. Great little kitchen with food market across the road so could eat at the hotel. Close to everything. Only took us 1/2hr to walk to Times Square. Thanks for the great time.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Arlington, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

First of this reveiw is only about the bar, not the hotel itself. I had drinks at the bar with a friend, I ordered Captain Morgan and coke, after having three drinks I found out that they did not have Captain Morgan and was giving me something else. The bartender never told me she did not have Captain Morgan or asked me if another type of rum was ok. After finding out and complaining about it, all that was done was one drink was taken off of my bill. Everyone of the false drinks should have been removed. Not only was I fooled but I was also made to pay for something I did not order. All the phoney drinks should have been removed. On top of that, between myself and my friend we had 5 drinks all together and the bill was over 100 dollars. that averages 20 dollars a drink. That is crazy. Being in hotel management and also managing a bar all I could say is this would never happen at my place. I say stay away from this bar cause it is so overpriced and you may not know what it is you are getting to drink.

Room Tip: Stay away from the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Beacon Hotel New York
Hotel Beacon New York
Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown , Upper West Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in New York City
#51 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Beacon 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Beacon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.