We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Beacon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Beacon to your Saves list
Hotel Beacon
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Worcester, Uk
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A good place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The hotel is on Broadway and about 100 meters from the subway at 72nd Street one the 1.

The hotel is under going renovation, so the new smart looking bar is open and the reception was being worked on while we were there. They were also painting one of the lower floors.

Our room was on the 20th Floor and had fab views of Central Park and the San Remo Appartments.

It was spotlessly clean and had two small double beds and a massive TV.

There was a small kitchen, but the cupboard with the plates and cutlery was far too high and I had to get a chair to stand on each time I need anything.

Also the smoke detector is right over the kitchen area, so it is impossible to toast or fry anything without setting off the alarm.

When we went in the room there were no lights in the bathroom, but they came up immediately to repair this and later in the week the handle came off one of the draws and this was also repaired while we were out that day.

There's a supermarket opposite called Fairways, which has everything you could wish for for your little kitchen and the blackened Cajun prawns were lovely. Prices about the same as the UK.

There is also a gym, but no pool. Not that I had any energy for working out!!

Overall it was great to be away from the noise of mid town and so close to many little diners and restaurants. There's also a Hagen Daas shop by the 72 Street subway!!

I would stay here again if in New York.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with a view of Central Park. You get to see the sunrise over the park. The Hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,430
    763
    90
    30
    14
See reviews for
858
650
83
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We have just returned from New York where we stayed for two nights before joining a cruise at the Hotel Beacon. On returning from the cruise we then spent another night at the hotel. The hotel is on Broadway between 74th and 75th Street. This was a five minute walk from Central Park, the Dakota Building (where John Lennon died) and a two minute walk from the subway where the fast train on lines 2 & 3 took you to Times square within 5 minutes. It was a perfect spot as everywhere was very accessible but you were in a relatively quiet spot. Times Square was actually only a 30 minute walk away if you did not want to use the subway (2.5 dollars each way) or take a yellow cab (10 dollars). Half of the walk was through Central Park so a lovely walk indeed.
The rooms were amazing with a full suite and cooking facilities to cook for a full dinner party. Across from the hotel was The Fairway - a famous market where we bought cereals and other items for breakfasts which we prepared in our kitchen - a saving on both time and money. The Fairway also had a cafe upstairs which became a steak house in the evening. This was very popular with the locals and some locals who use the cafe every Sunday morning told us it is often frequented by celebs. There were also plenty of cafes, restaurants of every nationality and bars nearby and we were only two doors down from the famous Beacon Theatre.
The staff in the hotel could not have been more pleasant and helpful. We returned from the cruise at 10.15am and our room was ready for us. They also allowed us to store our luggage on our leaving day as our flight was not until late evening. Check out was 12 noon so you never felt rushed. If I ever return to New York I will certainly only stay at The Beacon.

Room Tip: We had rooms on floor 10 and floor 4 both of which were excellent. Floor 10 was a corner room and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The end of the line on my trip from LA to New York, and to be honest, a bit of an anti-climax. I had another huge room (814), this time with kitchen, super-king size bed, two TVs again etc. (it is possible my group was upgraded to suites). However, for what could be mistaken for a smart city apartment, the bathroom was surprisingly small and awkward to use. Why is there a shelf overhanging the wash basin? The view from the two big windows is the ugliest I have ever seen anywhere in the world - just a ragged black curtain trying to cover dirty tenement blocks. Yuk! No wonder the blinds were down when I arrived. There's not much activity in reception area either. No meals are served in the hotel, although there is a bar and theatre next door one way, and Viand diner the other, which does serve good breakfasts. The hotel is on Broadway and west 75th about 1.5 miles north (uptown) of Times Square, and is very conveniently placed for Central Park. There is a subway station at 72nd street, just 100 yards downtown.
Despite its size, and there is nothing wrong with the place, I felt an atmosphere of anonymity here. It's OK I suppose but nothing more. As for New York City- give me Chicago any time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Broadway itself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Spent 2 nights at The Beacon before going on a cruise- all the reviews I've read about The Beacon are spot on - the staff are superb, couldn't do enough for you - we had a fabulous room on the 15th floor - a very big room (we have stayed in New York before and know how small the rooms usually are!) - the kitchenette was great - and very well equiped - everything you could need - toaster, kettle, cutlery, dishcloths, tea towels - you name it they had it - even washing up liquid!! The position of the hotel is fabulous too - on Broadway 3 short blocks from Central Park (Strawberry Fields is right but the entrance) - I would recommend this hotel to anyone and would not stay anywhere else in New York ever again. Would also suggest that visitors go to the Amsterdam bar in Amsterdam avenue - great food at very reasonable prices,

Room Tip: Go as high a floow as possible and negotiate nicely with the Reception staff - they are very accomm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

An excellent find - comfortable bed, very friendly, helpful staff and a wonderful location for the 8 days we spent in NYC. Our corner room on Level 22 was very quiet at night, and with a Starbucks on the corner, easy to grab your morning coffee. Great to have kitchen facilities and fridge on hand, instead of an overpriced mini bar, especially with the fantastic market across the road. Very easy to get to the subway - 42nd St only 2 stops away on the express. Plenty of restaurant choices available within a 2-3 block radius, and Central Park just a stroll away. We will definitely be recommending Hotel Beacon to friends looking to holiday in NY, and we will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Our stay at the Hotel Beacon was very comfortable. From the doormen, housekeeping and bell hop(s) their knowledge and suggestions of the city were helpful and made our stay very eventful and relaxing. Overall the staff made the time away from home - one to remember.
The location of the hotel was very accommodating to the subway, central park and to other cities (Brooklyn/Harlem).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Once you stay on the UWS, you just wonder how could you not stay there before. Amazing location !
The hotel itself is quite simple. Bathrooms need improvement and are quite small and outdated. What you get from this hotel is space. The room has a good size and there is an adjacent living space that might have the same size of the room. There's also a mini kitchen, that can be very helpful.
I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown , Upper West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in New York City
#25 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#32 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Beacon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Beacon NYC, a haven of comfort amid the bustling excitement of New York City. Located on the historic Upper West Side, amid tree-lined streets and landmark buildings, the hotel is a beacon for relaxation. Friendly and accommodating, we offer handsomely decorated, oversized guestrooms and suites. With wonderful views of Central Park, the Hudson River and Midtown Manhattan, the Beacon is the perfect vantage point from which to venture anywhere in New York. And when your busy day is done, you'll have a perfect place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Hotel Beacon New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Beacon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.