We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and quiet hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Beacon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Beacon to your Saves list
Hotel Beacon
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful and quiet hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed in a suite with a small kitchen and refrigerator--terrific for leftovers from dinner. Bed very comfortable, plenty of space (in New York!) in the rooms, bathroom small but fine as expected. room was a little noisy with people in the stairway late at night--revelers perhaps? Not a long wait for the elevator. Happy hour at the bar was wonderful. Only complaint was not getting good dinner recommendations. They had a list, but not much in the way of useful recommendations. Would go back just for the great location--subway nearby, tons of restaurants. Felt like living in an apartment in a nice neighborhood.

Room Tip: Stay away from the stairs/elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,402
    750
    89
    28
    13
See reviews for
838
638
81
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed in mid September at the Beacon Hotel. We arrived at 11 am and we had to wait until 3:30 for our room to be ready. It has been long time for such experience in American hotels. I checked three times with the same person in the reception and he kept telling us that the room is not ready. Once someone else was on the reception, our room became available...at 3:30 pm. Upon arrival to our suite, we were welcomed by a huge (nothing you want to see...) cockroach on the walls of the bathroom. Upon returning to the lobby to report the facts, several rooms became available out of nowhere. The staff did not even seem surprised with our findings!! Eventually we moved to a similar room on a higher floor. Everything after this point regarding the hotel was wonderful. The room very sunny and comfortable with zero noise from outside. Certainly a place someone can stay for a week or even longer. Significant noise on the corridors after 9 am from some sort of construction. Also to our surprise, we received a note at 10 am that since we have the non disturb sign no cleaning of the room was to take place that day!!! That issue was resolved right away but certainly not the right message to give to your customers that were not able to check in until 3:30 pm!! Finally the location of the hotel is excellent to the Central Park and many fine restaurants. We will certainly give the hotel another try hoping for experiencing only the positive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This is my third stay at the Beacon Hotel and when in New York I always try to stay here if I can, the rooms are always spotlessly clean,breakfast the next morning was excellent, with a huge choice of fresh food. The service and facilities were excellent, friendly and attentive staff and I would recommend this to anyone

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I loved my stay at the Hotel Beacon! The location was great for me. I had business at Columbia University as well as in Midtown and this was a very convenient spot for both purposes...easy via subway or cab. In the evenings, it was nice to walk around the neighbourhood. Many restaurants, shops, and attractions (including Central Park and Lincoln Center) were within an easy walking distance. The one-bedroom suite was spacious with kitchen facilities. The room faced Broadway, but was very quiet. I really felt like I had an Upper West Side apartment for a week and will stay there again on my next trip to New York.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brixham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

First time in New York and this hotel was great. The staff were very friendly and I had ordered some flowers from a nearby place for my girlfriends birthday and they were happy to help with the order and put them in the room for our arrival! Would def go back.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I thought that this was a lovely hotel. The staff were welcoming and very helpful. The rooms were a good size with a kitchen attached which was ideal. The hotel was central and not far from Central Park. The beds were comfortable, everything was clean. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

had not stayed here in several years, front desk had attitude then, and nothing seems to have changed. Rooms are small, but at least mine was quiet. Renovations in the lobby made it seem even smaller, especially when checking in a group. Can't quite understand why a front desk staff can be so lacking in basic people skills/courtesy. If your not happy there, leave!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown , Upper West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in New York City
#25 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#33 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Beacon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Beacon NYC, a haven of comfort amid the bustling excitement of New York City. Located on the historic Upper West Side, amid tree-lined streets and landmark buildings, the hotel is a beacon for relaxation. Friendly and accommodating, we offer handsomely decorated, oversized guestrooms and suites. With wonderful views of Central Park, the Hudson River and Midtown Manhattan, the Beacon is the perfect vantage point from which to venture anywhere in New York. And when your busy day is done, you'll have a perfect place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Hotel Beacon New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Beacon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.