We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Beacon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bookmark
You added Hotel Beacon to your Saves list
Hotel Beacon
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 455 Hotels in New York City
Calgary
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Will be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I loved my stay at the Hotel Beacon! The location was great for me. I had business at Columbia University as well as in Midtown and this was a very convenient spot for both purposes...easy via subway or cab. In the evenings, it was nice to walk around the neighbourhood. Many restaurants, shops, and attractions (including Central Park and Lincoln Center) were within an easy walking distance. The one-bedroom suite was spacious with kitchen facilities. The room faced Broadway, but was very quiet. I really felt like I had an Upper West Side apartment for a week and will stay there again on my next trip to New York.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,371
    739
    88
    28
    13
See reviews for
816
629
81
127
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brixham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

First time in New York and this hotel was great. The staff were very friendly and I had ordered some flowers from a nearby place for my girlfriends birthday and they were happy to help with the order and put them in the room for our arrival! Would def go back.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I thought that this was a lovely hotel. The staff were welcoming and very helpful. The rooms were a good size with a kitchen attached which was ideal. The hotel was central and not far from Central Park. The beds were comfortable, everything was clean. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

had not stayed here in several years, front desk had attitude then, and nothing seems to have changed. Rooms are small, but at least mine was quiet. Renovations in the lobby made it seem even smaller, especially when checking in a group. Can't quite understand why a front desk staff can be so lacking in basic people skills/courtesy. If your not happy there, leave!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saline, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

After staying in several large hotels in major cities, we were expecting cramped accommodations. But we were pleasantly surprised to find a very spacious suite. The bedroom had a king size bed, large closet, and great view. The adjacent room had a sofabed, table and chairs, chair, tv, full kitchen and great view. Their was also a bathroom and two additional closets. We slept two adults, two teenagers, and one child very comfortably. The kitchen with a full-sized fridge and fully-stocked cabinets and drawers saved us a lot of money. We ate all of our breakfasts and most of our lunches in the room. Especially since their is a huge market right across the street where you can find everything from luncheon meat and baked goods, to ready to eat meals, paper goods, and endless fresh produce. My husband even found freshly-made sushi. We were expecting to pay a lot more for the groceries in the middle of New York City, but found the prices to be very comparable with those in our Michigan suburb. The hotel staff was very friendly and housekeeping took care of all the dirty dishes daily. The hotel is also in a very nice neighborhood with a short walk to the subway, Central Park, the natural history museum, and many stores and restaurants. My family felt very safe walking around the neighborhood at all hours of the day. The hotel also had a restaurant and laundry room. Overall, very pleasant and convenient for families.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our room and heard that the hotel offered several different sized rooms and suites to acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Our group of 4 friends stayed in New York for 9 days and at the Beacon. The room was well appointed, clean and came with a small kitchen suitable for making breakfast. The Fairway supermarket across the road is just brilliant.
The Metro is just a minutes stroll from the Beacon and takes no time at all to reach Times Square on the Express.
There are good restaurants close to the Hotel with Central Park a few blocks East.
The staff were courteous, young Patrick on the door was a favourite.
We spent a lot of time away from the Hotel but it was great to come home for a good nights rest after a busy day.
As we were travelling for over 5 weeks the internal Laundry facilities were most appreciated.
On the down side the bathroom was a bit small but quite serviceable.

Thoroughly happy with the Beacon and will recommend it to friends.

Bob and Moira

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Staying at this hotel as part of an organised tour, I wasn't expecting much considering the price we'd paid for the tour, but we were pleasantly surprised with the Beacon. However, when we first arrived in our room, upon first flush of the toilet, it overflowed and flooded the bathroom and soaked the carpet of our room. Of course we were unimpressed but we called down to reception and the way the staff handled it was quite good. They sent up a friendly and hilarious maintenance man to set up a large fan to dry out the carpet although did not offer to move us to another room until we asked, at which point they upgraded us to a suite!

The rooms were nicely maintained, clean and comfortable, the decor of the hotel was also ambient, old style feel but not dirty etc. Staff were usually helpful and friendly when we needed them. I'm quite the optimist so overall, great stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown , Upper West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in New York City
#26 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#37 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Beacon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Beacon NYC, a haven of comfort amid the bustling excitement of New York City. Located on the historic Upper West Side, amid tree-lined streets and landmark buildings, the hotel is a beacon for relaxation. Friendly and accommodating, we offer handsomely decorated, oversized guestrooms and suites. With wonderful views of Central Park, the Hudson River and Midtown Manhattan, the Beacon is the perfect vantage point from which to venture anywhere in New York. And when your busy day is done, you'll have a perfect place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Hotel Beacon New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Beacon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.