We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay in NYC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Beacon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Beacon to your Saves list
Hotel Beacon
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023 (Upper West Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Stay in NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Stayed at the Beacon Hotel for six nights, with four of us in a 1br suite (two rooms, two double beds plus rollaway). Great location very accessible to the subway, Lincoln Centre and Central Park. Just a little less hectic than midtown. Lots of good restaurants nearby in Amsterdam Ave and Columbus Ave. Good rooms, bathroom ok, small kitchen so breakfast provisions from two supermarkets across the road on Braodway. Would definitely go back

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,626
    864
    99
    33
    16
See reviews for
993
736
95
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (509)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is a very good hotel in an excellent location. The rooms have self-catering facilities and with 'Fairways' across the road this was a bonus. The rooms are well-equipped. Not only did we have an oven, microwave and large fridge-freezer, we also had a suite with two massive flat screen TVs and it could easily have accommodated four people. We had three walk-in wardrobes and masses of places for storage.

The free WIFI was appreciated, as were the additional ICT faclities on the ground floor, enabling us to print out our boarding passes for our return trip. The hotel is in easy walking distance of 72nd subway stop, Central Park, the Lincoln centre and several museums.

The Beacon next door hosted the Fox Autumn schedule presentation and celebrity spotting wouls have been an option if our suite had not been so comfortable! (sorry Simon)

Room Tip: Our room overlooking 75th Street was very peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This hotel is very nice, clean and in a great location on Upper West Side. Room has a small kitchenette which is useful in the morning for tea, coffee and breakfast. Small fridge so you can keep all the necessities. Nice bathroom, fantastic water pressure for the shower! Lots of restaurants, shops with groceries, fruit market across the road, pharmacy close by, everything is ver convent. Just a couple of short blocks to the subway. We took the subway to Time Square in 15 min for the hotel. Very close to Central Park, about a 10 min walk. All in all a terrified hotel and I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I stayed here with my family ( 2 adults and 2 teenage children) for 8 nights after seeing all the raving reviews, of which the hotel thoroughly lived up to! perfect location, made great use of supermarket and shops across the road. rooms were very large and clean, staff were very nice too. a great find in new york!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The room was spacious, really good bed, big kitchenette, friendly staff, good location close to an efficient subway station, close to a big market +++. Clean.

Only down was that the A/C wasn´t functioning properly, but would probaby have been resolved if we had reported it.

Room Tip: Above 5 or 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tauranga
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Our family of 4 (including 2 teenage children) stayed at this hotel for a 9 day trip to New York. I echo all the comments about great location and space. Its not a luxury hotel in terms of fittings etc but more than made up for by the luxury of having heaps of room for our family-more like an apartment than a hotel and perfect if travelling with teenagers who want their own space. Easy access to times square etc by a subway stop close to the hotel, yet a safe area for walking around at night (the great local shops including discount designer stores and younger options were open til 10pm ). Walking distance to central park. Teenagers loved celebrity spotting at the theatre next door too. Fairly pricey but for our family it was worth it.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolleston
Level Contributor
87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We booked a short stay at this appealing, but unassuming hotel after reading its many rave reviews.
The Upper West Side location is excellent, a Subway station yards away, crosstown and downtown bus stops nearby, and plenty of local diners and small restaurants nearby.
Our bedroom was larger than the norm for the city, we had a small kitchen, perfect for preparing breakfast or a snack, the bathroom was good, with nice toiletries, and a coin operated laundry made it perfect for the longer stay we plan for our next visit. The concierge team are knowledgeable, helpful and friendly. Opposite is a superb Fairway food store, selling the widest range of foods we have ever seen, there is a wine store attached to the hotel, as well as a pleasant small restaurant, plus the bonus of the Beacon theatre on site. Within walking distance is the excellent Natural Hisory museum, and just a short bus ride away is the outstanding, glorious, Metropolitan Museum a feast for the senses. Wonderful walks and running paths are to be found in nearby Central Park, and the wide range of small local shops and businesses make the Beacon a perfect home from home, attested to by the hotel's permanent residents.

Room Tip: A higher floor gives the possibility of a New York skyline view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#76 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,786 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#120 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,627 reviews
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#171 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#24 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 354 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel
Distrikt Hotel
#26 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,849 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#212 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in New York City
#26 Business Hotel in New York City
#31 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Beacon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Beacon NYC, a haven of comfort amid the bustling excitement of New York City. Located on the historic Upper West Side, amid tree-lined streets and landmark buildings, the hotel is a beacon for relaxation. Friendly and accommodating, we offer handsomely decorated, oversized guestrooms and suites. With wonderful views of Central Park, the Hudson River and Midtown Manhattan, the Beacon is the perfect vantage point from which to venture anywhere in New York. And when your busy day is done, you'll have a perfect place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Hotel Beacon New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Beacon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.