We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A New York home from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Beacon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Beacon to your Saves list
Hotel Beacon
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023 (Upper West Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rolleston
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“A New York home from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We booked a short stay at this appealing, but unassuming hotel after reading its many rave reviews.
The Upper West Side location is excellent, a Subway station yards away, crosstown and downtown bus stops nearby, and plenty of local diners and small restaurants nearby.
Our bedroom was larger than the norm for the city, we had a small kitchen, perfect for preparing breakfast or a snack, the bathroom was good, with nice toiletries, and a coin operated laundry made it perfect for the longer stay we plan for our next visit. The concierge team are knowledgeable, helpful and friendly. Opposite is a superb Fairway food store, selling the widest range of foods we have ever seen, there is a wine store attached to the hotel, as well as a pleasant small restaurant, plus the bonus of the Beacon theatre on site. Within walking distance is the excellent Natural Hisory museum, and just a short bus ride away is the outstanding, glorious, Metropolitan Museum a feast for the senses. Wonderful walks and running paths are to be found in nearby Central Park, and the wide range of small local shops and businesses make the Beacon a perfect home from home, attested to by the hotel's permanent residents.

Room Tip: A higher floor gives the possibility of a New York skyline view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,500
    792
    93
    31
    14
See reviews for
904
677
89
144
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Was a little wary about staying at this hotel as it felt quite far out compared to other hotels we’ve stayed in in New York but having stayed here I wouldn’t waste anytime in the future looking anywhere else.

My only comment would be that if you’re wary of taking the subway (though it’s incredibly easy and safe once you get used to it!) then it is a little far to walk every day.

If you do choose to go for it turn left out of the hotel and walk for 2 minutes and the 72nd street will get you to most places easily on the 1,2,3 downtown lines. Don’t make the mistake we did though, we couldn’t decide whether to get the weekly pass for $30 each or pay $2.50 a ride and in retrospect we should have just got the weekly ticket!

We loved the Upper West Side location with The Fairway Market across the road (best bagels ever!), a deli on the corner, bars and restaurants close by and Central Park only a 5-10 minute walk away.

The hotel and the room itself was lovely, clean and modern and the kitchen with a fridge was great.

We didn't need anything from the staff apart from at check-in and to ask for extra towels and they were courteous and efficient so no problems for us then. We saw the concierge in passing a few times and he was very friendly so I'm sure would have been helpful had you needed him!

Very very minor complaint that we stayed for quite a few nights and you had to request for the sheets to be changed and when we did after a few days they were just switched around! We'd spilt a little coffee on the top sheet and this just became the bottom sheet! The next time they seemed to have been actually changed though!

Overall loved it! Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Try and ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
471 helpful votes 471 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We chose the Beacon for its location. You won't find better. The Upper west side is a residential area, classy, full of great local , non touristy restaurants bars and shops. Totally spoilt for choice for eating out. Words cannot describe how good the Fairway supermarket deli is across the street and the drinks store right next door with the best selection of wine and spirits I've ever seen. Central Park a 5 min walk away, some of he major museums a stroll away and an express subway stop a 2 min walk away combines to make the Beacon a true gem. The kitchenette has everything you need, the rooms are quite spacious ( but with a small bathroom). We had room 505 and despite being not particularly high, there was no street noise although you can hear adjoining guests occasionally . If you want swanky lobbies, lots of public areas and expensive hotel eateries in the middle of frenetic New York then the Beacon is not for you . If you want a peaceful stay with food, drink, culture and transport links on your doorstep then pick the Beacon . We will choose the Beacon when we return and highly recommend to friends and family

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londoner
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

You don't pay for a chi chi lobby at Hotel Beacon and you don't get it. But you do get good sized rooms, a kitchenette (in the suite I stayed in at least), a laundry room where you can wash your clothes pretty cheaply and friendly staff (the cleaner checked on me when I was ill and hadn't left the room for a couple of days). Location is great for those who want a less frantic NY experience and great for families. Supermarkets just across the street, Central Park 5 mins away, subway very close and a 24 hour diner next door. We were on a high floor and that meant great views too!

Room Tip: Higher floors = great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Hotel Beacon is my New favorite hotel. Anytime I go back to NYC I will stay here. Stayed for 5 nights with our 18 month old daughter. The suite was perfect and spacious with separate living area and bedroom. 17th floor no street noise with window closed. Room is beautiful and classy. So nice to be near park and grocery stores. No need for a hotel restaurant because so many places nearby deliver. Very happy with everything, did receive rude service from one front desk worker. Service in general is very efficient but a little brusque. Had no problems at all during stay and room was spotless. Just go! You won't regret it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Really loved the location of the Beacon Hotel. The Upper West Side is such a relaxing place after the hustle and bustle of downtown. It is about a 2 minute walk from 72nd St Subway Station and we used it every day.
Our room was a one bedroom with kitchen and it was excellent for 2 adults. Beautiful bathroom and great linens and towels.
Having the kitchen in the room and the fabulous Fairway Market over the road, we had breakfast in our room each morning.
There are lots of restaurants close by - lots of styles to choose from. I can't comment on the new bar as we didn't use it. It is not very obvious - seems hidden away.
The staff were excellent and most professional at all times. We loved the Beacon and would return if we were ever to go back to NYC.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room - the views are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

What a find this was. 4 of us shared a 2 bed, 2 bath suite with sitting room amid kitchen.
Spacious rooms, extremely clean, quiet and pleasant. Made a 10 day stay so easy as we
made our own breakfast - fabulous food shops across the road! Eating out is NOT cheap so this
helped enormously. On Upper West Side on Broadway, just a stones throw from a subway and a short walk to both Central Park and the Lincoln Centre. Perfect for opera and concert
goers but also easy to reach the whole of Manhattan. All in all this was absolutely perfect!

Room Tip: Floor 8 and above. Corner rooms good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in New York City
#29 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#33 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Beacon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Beacon NYC, a haven of comfort amid the bustling excitement of New York City. Located on the historic Upper West Side, amid tree-lined streets and landmark buildings, the hotel is a beacon for relaxation. Friendly and accommodating, we offer handsomely decorated, oversized guestrooms and suites. With wonderful views of Central Park, the Hudson River and Midtown Manhattan, the Beacon is the perfect vantage point from which to venture anywhere in New York. And when your busy day is done, you'll have a perfect place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Hotel Beacon New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Beacon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.