We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Beacon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Beacon to your Saves list
Hotel Beacon
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Lafayette, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Spent 5 nights there on business with a little sightseeing mixed in. Close to Central Park and a nice walk to the Metropolitan Museum of Art. Subway and markets close by and a functional kitchenette. The staff were very nice. We kept the fan on the the AC/Heat unit on all the time to drown out noise from outside and the hallway. That would be our only complaint - noise and smells from the hall. One early morning it smelled like burned toast in our room (enough to wake us up) and suddenly there was a loud knock on the door and then lots of commotion and a loud vacuum. That evening the smell of some cooking was strong enough that we had to open our window to air out the room. Who is in the next room is the luck of the draw, but the door to the room does not seem to be an effective barrier. Overall, though we were very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,403
    752
    89
    28
    13
See reviews for
839
638
82
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights, and found the kitchenette one of the best features. It allowed us to cook our own breakfast each morning using supplies from the wonderful stores right across the street. The room was spacious and clean, but just a bit noisy for my liking with doors slamming and general noise from neighbouring rooms. Nothing earplugs won't fix. Location is excellent. This side of town is just so quiet and lovely, with a short stroll to Central Park and an even shorter walk to the Subway. Much better than the noise of Times Square. You can feel like a local New Yorker staying here. The hotel has everything you could want for a comfortable stay in this very busy City.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Just spent 5 nights at the Hotel Beacon, and loved it! Situated in a beautiful neighbourhood on the Upper West Side, we could not have asked for a better place to come home to every night. The room was spacious and clean, our only complaint was the air conditioner was loud and kept turning on every 5 minutes! The staff there are very friendly and helpful, check in and out was quick and easy. Very close to the 72nd Metro, and Central Park. We ate at Nick's and at the Amsterdam Pub, and both were very yummy. Great shopping in the area, too. Great view of the incredible Ansonia. Can't say enough about the great location. Would highly recommend, and stay there again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, La.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed here over the Easter break. Overall, I would say we had a nice clean stay, but it was certainly nothing fancy. My biggest complaint is that we were initially given a room on the 6th floor. Well, it turns out that the hotel was doing renovations and they had relocated the dishwashers to the room right next to ours. Each room has a kitchenette, so they would bring all the dirty dishes from all the rooms down on carts and line them all the way down the hall in front of my room. All day long all you could hear was the clanking of dishes. It would have been nice if they had warned me ahead of time and given me the opportunity to choose another room.

When I called to complain about this, we were moved to another room 2 floors above that one without any trouble. That room was fine. So the problem was addressed and solved. But I'm the type that believes if you have done something to upset a customer, you should do more than just solve the problem you should go above and beyond. A room upgrade, a higher room with a better view, something.

With that said, the pros were: Other than the dishes, the hotel was pretty quiet. Great location on the Upper West Side. Grocery store right across the street. Lots of dining options within walking distance. 3 blocks from the subway stop. 4 blocks from Central Park.

The rooms were clean and nice, but $275/night certainly doesn't get you anything fancy. Of course, we are talking about a hotel in NYC on the UWS, so I wan't expect opulence.

I will say I would stay here again. I was annoyed by our initial room location and that they did not do anything above and beyond the call of duty when I complained. But otherwise, I stay was fine.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

When you emerge from the 72nd St subway and very quickly find the delightful Hotel Beacon you breathe a sigh of relief. Away from the intensity of Times Square you find this oasis of calm and serenity. Imagine you own little clean and well appointed apartment with kitchen and living area ( we had a corner suite) you just go over the road and pick up your provisions, there is a wine shop next door, a theatre for concerts next door, lovely staff and excellent concierge service. It is a must stay in NYC ..actually with the great shopping nearby and excellent budget eats around the corner try The Cottage Chinese restaurant on Amsterdam you may never leave.
The drinks and coffee in the Beaon Bar are charming and I can say that this is my fifth visit and it's my favorite hotel ever as I love the feeling of independence and except for the discrete daily service of your room and paper left at your door you are left to your own devices which we love!
Super comfortable beds, large rooms and good showers. also a charming feature are the people you meet in the lifts - seriously happy hotel guests say hello and so too the residents also sharing
the building. It's charming and it feels like home. Just one very happy place and you need to share the experience!

Room Tip: Ask for a conner suite if you are traveling with friends as the bathroom off the kitchen rather than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stayed here with my wife and 29 month old son from April 24-27 (3 nights). We stayed in their king bed 'apartment style' room. That is basically two rooms - bedroom and living room - with a kitchenette. This was ideal, as my son could nap while my wife and I relaxed in the other room. The staff at the hotel is amazing. We were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived until we left. The location is ideal - not noisy, and close to shops, restaurants, markets, Starbucks, etc. If you are looking for a family friendly hotel in NYC, I cannot imagine a better place than Hotel Beacon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

On previous trips have stayed in Time Square area but chose the Beacon based on reviews. Check in was efficient and staff friendly and helpful. Problem with TV reception from time to time. The 1,2 and 3 train is less than a 5 min walk away and there are a number of bus stops close by. Yes take the bus when time is not an issue and see the different areas that make NYC one of the most diverse cities in the world ( but not in peak time). The Fairway supermarket is great to pick up a quick prepared meal when you're too tired from all the sightseeing and walking. Central Park is close by and one day I walked from the Met across the Park back to the hotel. A pleasant but long walk. Take time to also explore the immediate neighbourhood and see how the locals live. Many interesting buildings, shops and restaurants and Zabar is only a few blocks away.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor and away from the lifts and the service doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown , Upper West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in New York City
#25 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#33 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Beacon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Beacon NYC, a haven of comfort amid the bustling excitement of New York City. Located on the historic Upper West Side, amid tree-lined streets and landmark buildings, the hotel is a beacon for relaxation. Friendly and accommodating, we offer handsomely decorated, oversized guestrooms and suites. With wonderful views of Central Park, the Hudson River and Midtown Manhattan, the Beacon is the perfect vantage point from which to venture anywhere in New York. And when your busy day is done, you'll have a perfect place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Hotel Beacon New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Beacon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.