We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you need in NYC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Beacon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Beacon to your Saves list
Hotel Beacon
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Perth, Aus
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Everything you need in NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Loved the Beacon! Close to Central Park, museums, galleries, restaurants, a subway station and shops, what more could you ask for?
The Beacon Theatre is also next door hosting great acts from the Allman Brothers to Diana Krall and Rodriguez and even ice hockey teams.
Our room at the Beacon was like a mini suite, a spacious living area complete with kitchenette and a big bedroom with lovely ensuite and our view was of the roof tops towards Central Park, a view I never tired of. The stores across the road, Citarellas and Fairway supplied every type of food you could want, fresh or pre-prepared and that gave us real flexibility if we did not want to venture out for meals. The liquor store next door was also handy for us to buy a bottle of wine to have with dinner.
The staff were very helpful and welcoming and the chocolates left with a personal card from the manager were a nice touch.
Loved the Beacon and would recommend it for couples or a small family as there is a pull out sofa in the living area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,402
    750
    89
    28
    13
See reviews for
838
638
81
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Allentown PA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is my second review for this hotel and about my 6th time staying here. I did not give it an excellent this time as several things fell short. I stayed 7 nights over the course of 10 days.
It took 45 minutes after check-in to get in our room upon arrival. Then when we finally did we encountered a window that would not latch shut (maintenance came twice and finally locked it shut). Housekeeping was spotty getting to the room at first although by the end of our stay they had worked it out. I switched to a larger suite mid week which had no heat in the main part of the room, 5 phone calls later and 2 visits my maintenance; they brought us 2 quartz heaters that worked great. Although the thing that was the most disturbing was a food delivery was made to our room by one of the front desks attendants, who “just walked right in without knocking or calling”, totally unacceptable!
The reason for the Average review is all my experiences to date have been exceptional at this hotel and that the people working there are very considerate of our needs, I will write this one off as a fluke, let’s see what happens next year. Love the place and the location. BTW Mary and Dennis at the front desk are great people to deal with, Thanks!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My family and I stayed a weekend at the Hotel Beacon and thought it an excellent hotel. The room was really a small suite with separate bedroom, living room and kitchenette: a great deal for New York City for the price. There were four of us and there was plenty of room to spread out. The staff were very helpful and we had no problems whatsoever. The hotel is close enough to midtown to enjoy the city and the neighborhood has a great vibe. We plan to stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beltsville, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The Hotel Beacon offers clean, comfortable rooms in a convenient location to explore all that Manhattan's Upper West Side has to offer. Our room, a one-bedroom suite, was equipped with a mini kitchenette which came in handy as the Fairway Super Market is right across the street. The Fairway has a pretty exhaustive inventory (fresh produce, meats, cheeses, etc.) It is worth a quick trip across the street just to check out even if you have no intention of shopping for any groceries. The mini kitchenette comes complete with pots and pans and a basic set of plates, cups, and silverware. You can do a pretty good job of preparing a nice economical meal if you choose not to patronize one of the many restaurants or pubs which intersperse Manhattan's Upper West Side.

There is plenty to see and do all within a few blocks in any direction from the Hotel Beacon regardless if you are into shopping, sight-seeing, pub-hopping, or going out for a nice meal. Also, it is only a short and relatively inexpensive cab ride (about $15) from Penn Station if you are coming in from out of town on a train.

Although most of our time was spent exploring the Upper West Side, the time spent inside the room was very comfortable. The hotel staff at the front desk were very pleasant and were able to check us into our room early which was a huge convenience. Our room was on the 23rd floor, so street noise was practically non-existent due to the well-insulated windows.

The major negative point that prevents this from being a 5 out of 5 review is the fact that we needed to use the pull-out sofa bed and it was one of the most uncomfortable sofa beds I have ever had the misfortune of sleeping on. The queen bed in the bedroom was adequately comfortable, but we had 2 couples staying in the room which required the use of the sofa bed. Sofa beds by their nature are not expected to be the apex of comfort, but this was one of the worst I have experienced. The springs were worn-out and it was past its functionality. We had considered a 2 bedroom suite, but the price of a 2 bedroom suite was a bit prohibitive for this weekend trip. If a hotel is going to advertise a room that can comfortably sleep four people, it should prvoide the means by which four people can comfortably sleep.

If you don't need to utilize the sofa bed, I would give the Hotel Beacon my highest recomendation for the average person travelling to Manhattan's Upper West Side. If you are going to a show at the Beacon Theatre or are looking to explore Central Park, booking a room at the Beacon is a no-brainer. I expect to go back there again for my next trip to the city and can hopefully improve my next review to a 5 out of 5.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eldridge, Iowa
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

This is a great, roomy hotel in a super upper west side location. It is not far from the subway station-- a few blocks. Grocery store and shopping across the street. The corner two bedroom suites and also the one bedroom suite are fabulous. It is reasonably priced for NYC. Tastefully decorated with a kitchenette and sitting area. There is a cafe down the street which is quite good. I would stay here whenever in New York if possible. Check their website for specials!

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

A fantastic hotel on Upper West Side in Manhattan. I chose this hotel as I wanted a family friendly hotel since I was travelling with a two year old toddler. The hotel honoured my request for a quiet room as I was provided one on the 19th floor, away from the street, which meant that we were not bothered by the street noise. The hotel is the official hotel of the Beacon theatre next door and is also located on Broadway. The room was typical of New York hotels but still had 2 queen sized double beds and a working mini kitchenette. The Fairways supermarket right across the road, loads of eating joints in the surrounding streets, walking distance to Central Park (5 mins), the subway (less than a min away) and Lincoln Centre (10 mins) make it an ideal location to stay in NYC. The reasons for not giving it a perfct score: a bit expensive considering that breakfast is not included in the price. Also there is no breakfast facility at all, which is expected out of a top hotel. There is a cafe attached to the hotel (Cafe Viand) but thats a separate establishment in itself and is not affiliated with the hotel. Also we stayed there during the week of the snowstorm and as we were leaving for the airport late afternoon, we requested for a slightly later checkout than noon but were denied citing that they were quite full up. Although they offered to store our luggage until we left for the airport, it only meant that we would have had to spend our time in the almost tiny lobby due to the weather outside. We chose to checkout at the stipulated time of noon and go directly to the airport early. I just felt that the reception was too quick to deny us the late checkout without taking into consideration that we had a toddler with us. Otherwise, this hotel is deserving of the praise that it is getting.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Very convenient for Broadway, Manhattan and surrounding areas, handy for metro etc

Room good, with decent en suite, clean and in good decorative repair.

Although the main entrance area is fine, I felt the public areas, ie corridors etc, in the main part of the hotel let it down, feeling a bit dowdy in comparison.

Excellent, amazing shop, called Fairdeal I think, just opposite. Even if you don't need to food shop, you should take a look inside.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown , Upper West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in New York City
#25 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#33 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Beacon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Beacon NYC, a haven of comfort amid the bustling excitement of New York City. Located on the historic Upper West Side, amid tree-lined streets and landmark buildings, the hotel is a beacon for relaxation. Friendly and accommodating, we offer handsomely decorated, oversized guestrooms and suites. With wonderful views of Central Park, the Hudson River and Midtown Manhattan, the Beacon is the perfect vantage point from which to venture anywhere in New York. And when your busy day is done, you'll have a perfect place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Hotel Beacon New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Beacon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.