We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would stay here again most definitely!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Beacon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Beacon to your Saves list
Hotel Beacon
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023 (Upper West Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Eldridge, Iowa
Level Contributor
124 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“I would stay here again most definitely!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

This is a great, roomy hotel in a super upper west side location. It is not far from the subway station-- a few blocks. Grocery store and shopping across the street. The corner two bedroom suites and also the one bedroom suite are fabulous. It is reasonably priced for NYC. Tastefully decorated with a kitchenette and sitting area. There is a cafe down the street which is quite good. I would stay here whenever in New York if possible. Check their website for specials!

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,595
    846
    98
    32
    14
See reviews for
967
721
94
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

A fantastic hotel on Upper West Side in Manhattan. I chose this hotel as I wanted a family friendly hotel since I was travelling with a two year old toddler. The hotel honoured my request for a quiet room as I was provided one on the 19th floor, away from the street, which meant that we were not bothered by the street noise. The hotel is the official hotel of the Beacon theatre next door and is also located on Broadway. The room was typical of New York hotels but still had 2 queen sized double beds and a working mini kitchenette. The Fairways supermarket right across the road, loads of eating joints in the surrounding streets, walking distance to Central Park (5 mins), the subway (less than a min away) and Lincoln Centre (10 mins) make it an ideal location to stay in NYC. The reasons for not giving it a perfct score: a bit expensive considering that breakfast is not included in the price. Also there is no breakfast facility at all, which is expected out of a top hotel. There is a cafe attached to the hotel (Cafe Viand) but thats a separate establishment in itself and is not affiliated with the hotel. Also we stayed there during the week of the snowstorm and as we were leaving for the airport late afternoon, we requested for a slightly later checkout than noon but were denied citing that they were quite full up. Although they offered to store our luggage until we left for the airport, it only meant that we would have had to spend our time in the almost tiny lobby due to the weather outside. We chose to checkout at the stipulated time of noon and go directly to the airport early. I just felt that the reception was too quick to deny us the late checkout without taking into consideration that we had a toddler with us. Otherwise, this hotel is deserving of the praise that it is getting.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Very convenient for Broadway, Manhattan and surrounding areas, handy for metro etc

Room good, with decent en suite, clean and in good decorative repair.

Although the main entrance area is fine, I felt the public areas, ie corridors etc, in the main part of the hotel let it down, feeling a bit dowdy in comparison.

Excellent, amazing shop, called Fairdeal I think, just opposite. Even if you don't need to food shop, you should take a look inside.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This was my first stay at the Beacon with my family of four (kids 3 and 4 years old). The staff was consistently cheerful and eager to help with just about any request. The room was clean and the housekeepers were delightful and diligent in their efforts. I had a snafu and booked the wrong date for check-out and with two small kids and an event that night, it would have been a hassle to say the least if we had to relocate. The manager was understanding and accommodated my request for the extra night. The street noise was negligible not because it was quiet but because they have awesome windows!

The 1, 2, and 3 trains are 1-1/2 blocks away which gave us access to EVERYWHERE. Midtown, downtown, crosstown. The natural history museum is a 5-10 minute walk as is the Childrens Museum of Manhattan. While this trip was a family event, it didn't go unnoticed that the bar (Blondie's for wings, Boat Basin in Summer!) and restaurant scene in and near the neighborhood is tremendous (a quick bus ride across town will take you to the best Chinese "Pig Heaven" on 2nd avenue!).

The kitchenette was fantastic with a market right across the street and Trader Joes a few blocks away!

Room Tip: Go for the one bedroom suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stornoway, Isle of Lewis, Scotland.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Good hotel in a great location, with lots of great restaurants and shops are nearby. We were in a large one bedroom suite, which was big enough for a family of four. The 72nd St Subway is a few minutes walk away and the train will take you to Downtown New York.

Would stay there again, it was a perfect hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I went with my 23yo son. We felt very Comfortable in a doble room bed, it has kitchen, coffe maker, and all the elements you need for cooking...also a toaster.
The location is great. A huge supermarket on the other side of the street. And the metro (red line) so close as 1 block (72st)
Perfect!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Being first time Aussie's to NYC we were a little apprehensive about travelling around the big city. The Beacon Hotel was perfectly located. Approx, 200m to the nearest subway (amazing transport system!), across the road from a supermarket, 7 min walk to the southwest end of Central Park and plenty of places to eat and shop. Far enough uptown to make us feel very safe and close enough to make us feel part of the hustle and bustle. We made our way to Times Square for the NYE ball drop and had a very pleasant easy walk back to Hotel Beacon. The hotel was clean, comfrotable, spacious and quiet. Staff were not as friendly as some of the others places we visited whilst in the US but were not unpleasant. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#78 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,755 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#108 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,537 reviews
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#173 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#16 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 337 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#205 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,465 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel
Distrikt Hotel
#21 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in New York City
#25 Business Hotel in New York City
#29 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Beacon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Beacon NYC, a haven of comfort amid the bustling excitement of New York City. Located on the historic Upper West Side, amid tree-lined streets and landmark buildings, the hotel is a beacon for relaxation. Friendly and accommodating, we offer handsomely decorated, oversized guestrooms and suites. With wonderful views of Central Park, the Hudson River and Midtown Manhattan, the Beacon is the perfect vantage point from which to venture anywhere in New York. And when your busy day is done, you'll have a perfect place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Hotel Beacon New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Beacon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.