We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay at the Hotel Beacon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Beacon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Beacon to your Saves list
Hotel Beacon
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023 (Upper West Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Essex
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay at the Hotel Beacon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We picked this hotel based on other Tripadvisors' reviews, and stayed here in May 2011. We were not disappointed.

All the positives the other reviewers have said were spot on. We were in a one bedroom suite, which was very spacious, clean and comfortable. The bed was very comfortable and the aircon worked just fine.

Location was excellent for us, the subway on72nd street was just several minutes walk and we were able to get around to all the places we wanted to go - Macy's, Bloomingdales, Times Square, Ellis Island, Greenwich Village, Century 21, Tiffany's, Top of the Rock, Empire State Building, etc. However, just a tip - if you have not been to New York before, I recommend familiarising yourself with the subway network on the internet before you go as we found there were no maps available at the stations like there are in the UK. I printed off some maps before our trip and found them very helpful while we were there!

We ate at the Cafe Viand next door a few times - we had breakfast and dinner there. Everything we ate was lovely. There were 6 of us in our group and no one had a bad experience with food. The portions were quite large too so good value for money. Fairway supermarket across the road was fantastic. Everything you need could be found in there. We especially loved the hot meals you could buy in take away boxes. They charged per pound (I think it was $6.99 per pound) and that was enough for a meal or two! They had good selection of meat, fish, vegetables, rice and potatoes with different varieties presented each day. All of good quality, very tasty and saved us quite a bit of money. It was also very convenient, especially as we had a small kitchenette and dining area where we could eat our take away back at the hotel. They also catered for those with food allergies, stocking many wheat, gluten and dairy free items.

Central park was within walking distance and we decided to take a short ride in a horse and carriage on our last day. Central park is huge though so if you want to explore it properly you will need a few hours. We visited the American Museum of Natural History, which also was within walking distance of the hotel. We spent a couple of hours here but it wasn't really enough to get to see everything - it's massive!

All in all our first trip to New York was brilliant. Thanks to all the other Tripadvisors who left reviews about this hotel and helped us choose a good hotel. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,501
    793
    93
    31
    14
See reviews for
904
677
90
144
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed for seven nights and thought this was a great hotel. A wonderful location, close to the subway, Central Park and shops to buy groceries. The room was large and quiet, and the kitchenette very handy. The laundry facilities were great, and meant we didn't need to pack so many clothes. We also found the Fairway deli across the road useful for groceries, and enjoyed the restaurant upstairs.

Room Tip: Laundry located on 7th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We recently stayed for 11 nights at the Beacon which was recommended to us by a friend. I read the tripadvisor reviews and couldn't agree more. 72nd subway station is less than a minutes walk from the hotel and Fairways market across the street was wonderful. The laundry was a bonus. Our room was a corner studio with king size bed and kitchenette. Fabulous views from the 22nd floor. Helpful staff. The hotel is next door to the Beacon Theatre and is in a safe, Upper West Side neighbourhood with endless cafes and restaurants. We had organised to meet with a New York Greeter (great for first time visitors to the city) on our first morning and she walked around the neighbourhood with us and also taught us how to use the subway. This was invaluable with the train being so close to the hotel. We caught the train everywhere. I thoroughly recommend the Beacon.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2212 and were very happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed for three nights in April and thought it was a great hotel. Situated in a pretty tree lined street, the area had a nice feel to it. It's close to the 72nd street subway, which we used a lot. The room on Floor 14 was very comfortable, as was the king bed. We made use of the Fairway Deli and shop across the road and bought snacks and drinks (I think a 12 pack of water cost about $4.99 - bargain). We were happy to be able to use the laundrette in the building after travelling and I had quite a nice conversation with an older gentleman who still resides in the building and loves it there (It used to be all residential apartments). Staff were friendly and efficient. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

As a former New York who frequently returns home, the Hotel Beacon is always my destination.

From the attentive doormen, the friendly Front desk, the refurbished guestrooms, it is a great place to stay.

If you ask for one on a higher floor and receive it, some of the views are spectacular.

A small kitchenette, with the refrigerator micro, pots and pans and dishes, cannot only save money but adds to a pleasant stay, lounging around in pajamas and eating breakfast.

The upper West side neighborhood, that may be familiar to you from Seinfeld series, is a joy to walk around in and away from the tourist dominated areas where many New York hotels are located. Convenient bus and subway transportation to all of New York is located nearby.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

This was our first visit to New York and my husband & I are so glad we chose the Beacon Hotel. It was everything other reviewers had described. Perfect location, close to subway (brilliant once you get the hang of it) & easy walking distance to Times Square. Our room was clean and tidy and having a kitchenette was so convenient for putting a quick healthy breakfast together. Fairway Supermarket just opposite has everything you could possibly need. Viand Cafe right next door where you can eat in or they will deliver to your room. The Beacon staff were all so friendly and no request was too much trouble (special mention to Dave who really looked after us). We loved our time in New York and staying at the Beacon was perfect. We would definately stay there again. Highly Recommended!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

My friend and I stayed here in January for a girl's weekend and loved it! We purposely wanted to be away from Times Square and try out a different area of the city. There were plenty of good places to eat nearby and it was a short, easy walk (even in the snow!) to the subway. The parking garage was around the corner which was convenient (expensive, but it's NYC so we expected it). We had no trouble getting a cab outside the hotel either. This room was rather large (2 doubles, a bathroom and kitchen) by NY standards, obviously updated and very well appointed. The staff was very friendly as well!

I recommend this to all types of travelers because it's an amazing value and location!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in New York City
#29 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#33 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Beacon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Beacon NYC, a haven of comfort amid the bustling excitement of New York City. Located on the historic Upper West Side, amid tree-lined streets and landmark buildings, the hotel is a beacon for relaxation. Friendly and accommodating, we offer handsomely decorated, oversized guestrooms and suites. With wonderful views of Central Park, the Hudson River and Midtown Manhattan, the Beacon is the perfect vantage point from which to venture anywhere in New York. And when your busy day is done, you'll have a perfect place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Otel, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Hotel Beacon New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Beacon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.