We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Kimberly Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Kimberly Hotel to your Saves list
The Kimberly Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   145 East 50th Street, New York City, NY 10022 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #101 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
kentucky
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2007

Loved this hotel! Our apt. suite was more than I could have hoped for. I have made many trips to N.Y. city and stayed in quite a few 4 star hotels. This by far was the best. Every day that I returned to my suite I felt like I was coming home to my own apt. instead of just a plain hotel room. The livingroom combo kitchen was big enough for a small party. The bedroom was bigger than most 4 star hotels with more than enough room as not to feel cramped. Both rooms had windows that took up an entire wall. Great open feeling. The balcony was to die for. It was really nice to be able to have my morning coffee sitting on the balcony and looking up at the sky. The maid service was excellent. Very clean. The resturant is some of the best Italian food I have ever had in New york. I have found my home away from home.

  • Liked — the balcony
  • Disliked — i had no complaints with anything
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    365
    85
    35
    16
See reviews for
331
275
39
166
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
528 reviews 528 reviews
352 hotel reviews
Reviews in 313 cities Reviews in 313 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2007

Suite was very nice and the beds extremely comfortable. Good location within walking distance to Rockefeller Center, Times Square, Central park etc. We had a nice dinner at Fretto's next door and a good buffet breakfast there too. Doorman was very pleasant and helpful as were the concierges.

Only 2 complaints. Room was noisy from all the air conditioning units on the roof below us. Worst of all was the situation with the lifts. Typically one of them was not working so the other was over used by 29 floors of rooms. On our last day we waited about 30 minutes for the lift to stop on our floor to take our cases etc to check out. Major rehaul of the lifts is sorely needed

  • Liked — Beds
  • Disliked — Elevators
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2007

I was referred to the Kimberley Hotel by a good fiend who said the location was great and the kitchens were a nice addition for snacks, drinks and anything else you could want while staying in a hotel. She was right. The location was awesome. Almost everything you need is within walking distance. You can pick up fresh produce and grocery items 2 blocks away, there is a liquor store across the street from that. Bars, restaurants, shops, everything you can imagine is nearby.
But the best part of our stay was the beds! I have never slept in a more comfortable bed in my life! We had a two bedroom suite with one king bed and one queen and they were both heaven to sleep in.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool England
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2007

We are a family of 5, 2 adults 3 children. I chose the Kimberly after reading reaviews on trip advisor. This hotel was great. We were all in a suite 1 bedroom. The room was spotless, the conciege staff were fab especially ralph my kids loved him. I found New York over whelming and very busy. the hotel in in a great location.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2007

One of the nicest hotels we've stayed in. The staff was most accomodating and attentive. The rooms were lovely, the bed was wonderful. We were in town for our daughter's wedding and had booked several rooms. Upon the last check-in there was a slight miscommunication, however it was immediately taken care of. The location was very convenient, yet quiet. We will absolutely return to The Kimberly.

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2007

My sister and I stayed at the Kimberly for one night. It was lovely. The beds in the rooms were ultra comfortable. The rooms are equipped w/ safes and even an room alarm, so I felt very safe. The staff was professional and nice, especially the doorman.

All in all, I was very satisfied with the Kimberly and would stay there again.

(By the way, Jimmy Carter has and continues to stay at the Kimberly when he goes to NYC. Posted at the front desk is a framed letter written by Carter in which he lauds the hotel).

  • Liked — The ambiance
  • Disliked — The fact that $8 is charged to access the wireless internet server
  • Stayed June 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2007

We stayed here for our 20 anniversary and found the location to be fantastic. We love to walk and were located less then a 20 minute walk from Time Square, Central Park or Grand Central Station and just around the corner from Rockerfeller Center and lots of shoppping. It did not matter the time of day we walked we always felt safe compared to other areas of Manhattan. There were door man at every hotel in this area as well as alot of extra security due to all the diplomats staying in the area. Our Room was 6I and had a large dressing area and bathroom plus sitting area with 2 queen size beds. The beds were very nice with nice cozy feather comforters. The umberllas in the room were a nice touch to bad we didn't take one with us on one of our walks. The concierge was knowledgable and helpful but Rolph the doorman was great recomending little pubs and getting taxi or limos.

  • Liked — the safe location
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kimberly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kimberly Hotel

Address: 145 East 50th Street, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in New York City
#64 Family Hotel in New York City
#75 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#140 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kimberly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kimberly is a traditionally styled, boutique suite hotel located between 3rd & Lexington Avenues. With 30 rooms ranging from 266 to 372 sq ft and 158 suites, ranging from 460 to 935 sq ft., we offer personalized service from a warm and caring staff. Most of our suites have balconies, a rarity in NYC and many offer views of the city. Our mattresses are covered with feather beds and decked with Frette linens, which earn comments such as "I didn't want to get up" from our guests. A bonus here, is that in addition to our on-site fitness center, work-out enthusiasts can use any of the NY Heatlth and Racquet Club's 9 locations, including pools and work-out classes at no additional cost and can enjoy a cruise for three hours on their 75 ft yacht (in season) for a fee of $25 which includes a light buffet supper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your The Kimberly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimberly Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kimberly Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.