We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique hotel in NYC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Kimberly Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Kimberly Hotel to your Saves list
The Kimberly Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   145 East 50th Street, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #122 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Long Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Boutique hotel in NYC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The Kimberly is well priced and has a great location. The room is large for NYC standards, bathroom is average, but try and get a room off the street or located on a higher floor as you will get some street noise. We loved the location as it is Central to everything without all the crazy congestion of Time Square. The hotel has a good gym and a great roof top location for breakfast, or afternoon tea, coffee, etc. The evening we went up it was very loud and crowded so we skipped it, but it is beautiful by day.

Room Tip: Not facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimmie145, General Manager at The Kimberly Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with The Kimberly. We are glad that you enjoyed your experience and found our location to be ideal during your visit. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again soon.

Sincerely,
Mujo Perezic, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    352
    83
    36
    15
See reviews for
310
264
38
153
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

You want a hotel in New York city which typifies the spirit of America and the Big Apple. I heard about two brothers who are excellent managers of buildings there and one of them, Mujo Perezic who keeps the Kimberly Hotel hopping with significant improvements every year. Starting at the top the glass Penthouse has a view of the city with Chrysler building glistening in the morning sun. Breakfast is my favorite. If my two egg white plumb vegetarian omelet isn't cooked to perfection, they do it again without hesitation. You can choose from all kinds of biscuits, buns and breads, fresh fruits, breakfast drinks, waffles, and french toast. The disco in the Penthouse is popular with the best looking and fashionably dressed people in the city. Bedrooms lead to curved balconies to view gardens below. Large sitting rooms/parlors/living rooms are perfect for informal and formal entertainment or relaxing with large screen TV. Blinds and drapes are electronically operated. Most hotels have small bathrooms but the Kimberly's are larger than the bathrooms in the Taj Mahal in Delhi. What really impresses me is the bath: it has a flexible hose adjustable swivel head to stimulate any part of the body; an oversized overhead shower; and a deep tub for a Cleopatra-like soak. Besides twin sinks they provide a two sided lighted swivel mirror, a thin electronic scale and other amenities not provided in other hotels. They spoil you. The bar provides hot coffee. The New York Times is delivered daily. Umbrellas are in the foyer for rainy days. White bathrobes hang in the closets and guests are invited to take home the plush white slippers. Since last year a floor to ceiling aquarium with colorful fish now sits in the middle of the lobby. How many managers stand in the lobby talking to guests as Mr. Perezic did to me. I asked him why all the improvements and he said "...to keep up" but it is more than that. I merely suggested bathtub mats for those 82 year olds like me who requested them. Minutes later a knock on the door and I was handed a mat. BUT, but less than a month after I left I received a letter stating, "...have purchased non-slip mats for the bathtubs and have almost completed the process of having tubs glazed with a non-slip agent...to insure the safety of our guests"! "We will be sure to have a mat for you if you would like that for your next stay with us." Mujo Perezic

It is my privilege and pleasure writing a review like this and I thank my daughter for recommending the Kimberly--the best in New York City.

Room Tip: Describe to Dena McConnell the assistant gen manager or the reservations manager what you would like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimmie145, General Manager at The Kimberly Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay at The Kimberly and that you were able to take advantage of the Upstairs rooftop lounge and all that the hotel has to offer. We look forward to having you stay with us again and thank you for choosing The Kimberly.

Sincerely,
Mujo Perezic, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We recently had a stay in this excellent hotel we had a one bedroom suite and were very impressed the rooms were very spacious extremely comfortable spotless clean we had a fridge coffee maker dish washer dining area dishes glasses really well equipped the roof top is amazing open air bar music wonderful views food was great can only say wonderful things about this hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimmie145, General Manager at The Kimberly Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at The Kimberly during your recent visit. We are delighted to hear that the one bedroom suite gave you the space and amenities you needed
during your stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Mujo Perezic, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

This is our second visit to the Kimberley. This time the hotel has had a full refit, including roof top bar. It's excellent, within walking distance for all the major tourist spots. We think we will return in another few years! It certainly lives upto everything we wanted from the staff to the location.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimmie145, General Manager at The Kimberly Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for returning to The Kimberly for your visit. We are pleased to hear that you once again enjoyed your experience at the hotel and we anticipate you staying with us again.

Sincerely,
Mujo Perezic, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My mum and I stayed three nights June 18-21 in 4L (annex). Was worried about street noise from the 4th floor but no issue at all. Room was fairly large, clean and comfortable. The staff were fabulous - friendly and helpful. With the help of the concierge, we shelled out $26 for the evening boat cruise on the NYHRC yacht the evening we arrived, which was well worth it, except for the loudish, tinny, pop music and a shortage of top deck seating. Lots of surprisingly decent food to nosh on plus a cash bar. Of course it helped that it was a lovely evening. Back at the hotel ... Free Wi-fi in lobby only but lobby comfortable with an amazingly round tropical fish tank. My sole complaint was that the exterior windows in the room were filthy, but that might just have been temporary as there was scaffolding and some work being done out front. Subway only a block away, as well as Duane Reade for pharmacy and basic groceries.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimmie145, General Manager at The Kimberly Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at The Kimberly. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed you stay and that you were able to experience a lovely evening cruise on the NYHRC yacht. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,
Mujo Perezic, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Fab location and quiet at night so can sleep really well & bed is fabulous. The hotel is about 15 mins walk to Times Square but on the way you can stop at numerous cafés or bars. Subway located around the corner as well as cheaper alternative cafés for breakfast. However the rooftop bar does a lovely breakfast and it's lovely there at might also with the view if the Chrysler building and the ambience is great. We had a room in the annex section which was large with good size tv but no view or balcony as some rooms have. Would recommend for families as in a quieter safe location.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimmie145, General Manager at The Kimberly Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Kimberly during your recent visit! We greatly appreciate your business and are glad to hear that you found our hotel and location accommodating during your stay. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,
Mujo Perezic, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We spent several days at The Kimberly for a family celebration in May and it was the perfect place for our needs. 9 of us shared several lovely suites, some with large, full kitchenettes and living rooms that were big enough for all of us to gather for breakfast and/or lunch (even if some of us were sitting on the floor).

Because there were so many of of us - I got the opportunity to see multiple suites on several different floors. Some are slightly larger than others and have different layouts, but all are quite lovely. In general, the rooms are beautiful, spacious, elegantly appointed with luxurious (electronically controlled) window treatments. The beds are great, linens are of beautiful cotton, there are TVs located in both bedroom and living area and most important - the rooms are clean.

That said, I liked my suite best! My rooms were located on quite a high floor in the hotel so that my balcony looked down on some nice buildings and gardens below. The views were not brilliant, but I loved that we could actually go outside into fresh air!!! My bathroom was the best of all the suites I saw! It was spacious with a large double sink, heated floors, a deep soaking tub with rain shower head and all the nicest amenities. That gorgeous bathroom probably was the reason my kitchenette was so little. (Basically it fit into an armoire) It had a fridge, coffee maker, microwave and a small "dining" table for 2 in the living room which really was all that was needed for 2 people. Some people complained about the speed of their WiFi, but since I did not use it, I won't comment. I was just happy it was available!

The Kimberly has a lovely rooftop bar/restaurant. Having read the reviews in advance, we knew that drinks were going to be overpriced. But since we were all staying at the hotel, celebrating - we chose to go up anyway and enjoy the views. It was busy and took quite a bit of time to get served, but it was a lovely evening and the view of the Chrysler Building was terrific. Certainly it was worth enjoying once. (And the front desk staff warned us in advance that they had a no sneaker rule, so we knew the dress code)

The hotel is located off the main busy streets so it is quiet, but it's location makes for an easy walk or subway ride to most anywhere you would want to go. Great restaurants are everywhere near by - from fabulous bagel shops to The National, owned by celebrity chef Geoffrey Zakarian, which is almost next door. However, when you need a cab or car, the staff make that happen with ease. The concierge does her job well! High marks for the staff!

The Kimberly Hotel is an excellent place to stay. I would stay again and highly recommend it!
Don't stay here if you are looking for the most "hip and cool" hotel in NYC. But if you want to stay in in NYC, have space, feel elegant and pampered, reserve your room now. You will be happy you did!

Room Tip: Request a suite on a high floor in the hotel (but not under the restaurant/ bar) and ask for one wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimmie145, General Manager at The Kimberly Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent visit to The Kimberly. We take pride in our suites and spacious bathrooms and I am glad that your family was able to enjoy their celebration with us. We look forward to having you back to stay with us soon.

Sincerely,
Mujo Perezic, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kimberly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kimberly Hotel

Address: 145 East 50th Street, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#75 Business Hotel in New York City
#83 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#85 Family Hotel in New York City
#138 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kimberly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kimberly is a traditionally styled, boutique suite hotel located between 3rd & Lexington Avenues. With 30 rooms ranging from 266 to 372 sq ft and 158 suites, ranging from 460 to 935 sq ft., we offer personalized service from a warm and caring staff. Most of our suites have balconies, a rarity in NYC and many offer views of the city. Our mattresses are covered with feather beds and decked with Frette linens, which earn comments such as "I didn't want to get up" from our guests. A bonus here, is that in addition to our on-site fitness center, work-out enthusiasts can use any of the NY Heatlth and Racquet Club's 9 locations, including pools and work-out classes at no additional cost and can enjoy a cruise for three hours on their 75 ft yacht (in season) for a fee of $25 which includes a light buffet supper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Priceline, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Kimberly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimberly Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kimberly Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.