We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay in Midtown, New York City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Kimberly Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Kimberly Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Kimberly Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   145 East 50th Street, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #100 of 451 hotels in New York City
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“A great place to stay in Midtown, New York City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We really enjoyed our ten-night stay at the Kimberly. Its location is wonderful. It's a short stroll from the Waldorf Astoria, but offering so much more comfort and individual attention than its more famous 'sister'.

The Kimberly is an all suite hotel. Suites appear to be different, but all offer a separate sitting area with bedsetee, TV, dining area, kitchenette (microwave, dishwasher etc) and spacious bedroom with second TV. Bathrooms are a bit squeezy, with not enough bench space. However the range of toiletries was good.

Unfortunately we could not use our balcony because renovations of the building were still being undertaken. Mind you, the 'view' of rooms in the Doubletree Hotel opposite did not really inspire us to venture onto the balcony anyway!

Quite different are the views from the 30th floor, where breakfast is served daily, and a rooftop nightclub/bar offers drinks later in the day. We could see the Chrysler Building and several other art-deco wonders of the city from this area. One evening we enjoyed some wine and looked at the spectacular views by night. We also ate dinner downstairs at the Kimberly's ground-floor restaurant 'Noir". Great food.

Waiters were friendly and efficient, as was concierge staff. I would have given the hotel a rating of Excellent had it not been for the sloppiness of staff when we checked in. We'd been stuck in a traffic jam (caused by road blockades for Pres Obama's visit that day) and our Tour Director had been in constant touch with the hotel. Never-the-less we were forced to wait while the receptionist hand-wrote our names and allocated our rooms, which seemed to take ages!

If we happen to be in NYC again, we would definitely stay at the Kimberly again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street have a view, but tend to be more noisy than rooms facing the rear of the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimmie145, General Manager at The Kimberly Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Kimberly during your time in New York. We are grateful for your stay and are glad that you were able to enjoy our spacious rooms and wonderful views of the city. I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced from our renovations on the balcony as well as the untimely check-in you experienced from our staff. I assure you that these issues have been addressed and I invite you to contact me directly I will personally handle your next reservation.

Sincerely,
Mujo Perezic, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    527
    315
    74
    31
    15
See reviews for
277
251
33
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed in the Kimberly for 4 nights in January 2014. The hotel is well located - far enough away from the tourist spots so you don't get the crowds, but close enough to walk to everything. Our room was a standard double and spacious, clean, and well stocked with coffee (but no regular or herbal tea!) and toiletries. The decor in the room and bathroom were perhaps a little dated and worn, but the space and the cleanliness made up for it. Having a fridge in the room was also really useful, although we did have to unplug it at night as it buzzed loudly. The reception and door staff were friendly, cheerful and helpful. We were disappointed that the roof top bar was not open during the day time as we’d read a lot of reviews about it, although we did have drinks and snacks in the connected bar adjacent to the hotel. It was good, but very pricey. Also a shame there was no complimentary wifi in the rooms. We didn’t eat in the hotel and found plenty of great places nearby for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our favorite was a diner called ‘Bloom’s café’ on Lexington.
Tip: we booked a minibus shared airport transfer on the way there - it was not worth the money and took ages even though we were the first drop off. On the way back to the airport we used the subway and airport express train. It was under $5 each and took half the time as the shared transfer, and the subway station is one block down from the Kimberly so very easy and quick with your luggage.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimmie145, General Manager at The Kimberly Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Kimberly hotel to accommodate your recent stay. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our amenities. I apologize for the inconveniences that you encountered during your stay regarding the refrigerator and the rooftop and that your stay was anything less than excellent. Therefore, I invite you to contact me directly and I will handle your next reservation personally.

Sincerely,
Mujo Perezic, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

This hotel is a great value compared to other hotels in the area. The rooms are a good size, and are clean and comfortable. I got upgraded to a suite, which had a small balcony. The bathrooms are very nicely done.

I like that the hotel gives plenty of soap/shampoos and other items. Further, they don't skimp on the towels. Plenty of towels, and they are good quality -- not like some hotels that barely give a small bath towel and a wash cloth.

Staff is very friendly. The only drawback during my stay was that one of the elevators being repaired, so the wait for an elevator was a bit long -- but that situation is supposed to end by mid-June.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimmie145, General Manager at The Kimberly Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at The Kimberly. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your suite and our friendly staff. Thank you for your patience with us during the renovations of our elevator and we look forward to having you stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Mujo Perezic, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos,California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

My daughter and I returned "home" to our 2 bedroom 2 bath suite on the 25th floor. Our 6 nights were worry-free and oh so comfortable. The staff was gracious and helpful as usual. Peter, the concierge, is a real asset. The only disappointments were not being able to use our balcony and having the Upstairs inavailable for breakfast several mornings and having Upstairs closed for a party on our last night , when we were looking forward to drinks and bar food and the view. Really miss the sliders on brioche, which were the best ever. Oh well, next time.

Room Tip: We prefer higher floors but not the floor right beneath the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimmie145, General Manager at The Kimberly Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at The Kimberly and we are glad that you have made us your “home”. It is our pleasure to have you as our guest and we are glad to hear that you enjoy all the hotel has to offer. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,
Mujo Perezic, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Indiana USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The hotel is well suited to the business and casual traveler. It is an oasis of calm and quiet in a very noisy city. The housekeepers do a fantastic job of keeping your room and bathroom clean and well stocked with toiletries. I can't say enough good things about the doormen. From early morning to midnight, they were unfailingly cheerful, helpful and just wonderful gentlemen. We ate at Noir, and this restaurant is a jewel. It is elegant, romantic, and the food is fabulous.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimmie145, General Manager at The Kimberly Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Kimberly. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, our friendly staff, and Noir during your time. We look forward to having you again.

Sincerely,
Mujo Perezic, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

There's no such thing as perfect. And that would be boring anyway. But The Kimberly Hotel was as close to perfect for me as it comes. From the moment I first contacted with booking, to the last good-bye, I was more than happy.

I've lived overseas and been to more hotels than I can count. Many in the lavish Middle East Dubai and Bahrain.

The Kimberly did not disappoint.

I first chose The Kimberly because they had a balcony. For smokers with non-smokers, this is a life-saver. The balcony was spectacular! Great views from 30E. The building you are seeing is even more historic than the Chrysler Building. It is the 1931 Art Deco original RCA, later GE building with architectural lightning bolts and radio waves.

The door staff was stellar. The front desk staff was stellar. The room service staff was stellar. The housekeeping staff was stellar.

Full disclosure: My name is Kimberly. They gave me a sumptuous Kimberly Hotel Robe. Just because my name is Kimberly. How cool is that?

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimmie145, General Manager at The Kimberly Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Kimberly,

Thank you for staying and choosing The Kimberly hotel. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay were able to take advantage of the lovely views and wonderful staff the hotel has to offer. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,
Mujo Perezic, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I arrived early and was hoping to store my luggage but I was checked in early by a very polite and accomodating staff. Everyone, from the front desk, maintenance, housekeeping, concierge and doorman were great. We ate at Noir and the food and service were excellent . The rooftop bar is beautiful and the most pricey part of the trip. It caters to a different crowd and some of the bar personnel really held on to that "persona" But the hosts and the BOH staff we saw were extremely friendly. There were reviews which said it was dated, but I thought it was great. If you are looking for ultra modern ad sleek, maybe this is not the property for you. But if you want afforadable with plenty of room( and REAL dishes and flatware!) then coem for a stay in one of the suites .

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimmie145, General Manager at The Kimberly Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Kimberly during your recent stay. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed Noir and Upstairs lounge. We look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Mujo Perezic, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Kimberly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kimberly Hotel

Address: 145 East 50th Street, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in New York City
#53 Family Hotel in New York City
#67 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#140 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kimberly Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kimberly is a traditionally styled, boutique suite hotel located between 3rd & Lexington Avenues. With 30 rooms ranging from 266 to 372 sq ft and 158 suites, ranging from 460 to 935 sq ft., we offer personalized service from a warm and caring staff. Most of our suites have balconies, a rarity in NYC and many offer views of the city. Our mattresses are covered with feather beds and decked with Frette linens, which earn comments such as "I didn't want to get up" from our guests. A bonus here, is that in addition to our on-site fitness center, work-out enthusiasts can use any of the NY Heatlth and Racquet Club's 9 locations, including pools and work-out classes at no additional cost and can enjoy a cruise for three hours on their 75 ft yacht (in season) for a fee of $25 which includes a light buffet supper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Venere, TripOnline SA, Priceline, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Kimberly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimberly Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kimberly Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.