We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious Property in New York” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Kimberly Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Kimberly Hotel to your Saves list
The Kimberly Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   145 East 50th Street, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #119 of 454 Hotels in New York City
Ireland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Luxurious Property in New York”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

This is a nice property, the suites are bigger then the standard room, ideal if staying for a number of days. The rooftop bar offers spectacular views and is nice to sit and relax in during the early evening, it gets very busy later into the evening making it nearly impossible to find a table let alone a seat. Breakfast is also served on the roof and where the location is nice the service is a little disjointed, the staff are friendly and try to advise but it doesn't quite work. This hotel is definitely worth checking out if you are considering a few nights in New York, ideal for groups and families as the suites offer plenty of space.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front magnificent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    548
    339
    80
    35
    15
See reviews for
299
262
37
144
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northbrook, IL
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

This hotel exceeded our expectations. We were a total of 3 (married couple and sister), and we got a one bedroom suite on a high floor. While not inexpensive, it was less than getting two rooms -- and we had more total space than you would have in two standard NYC hotel rooms, as well as a kitchen, dining room table, and balcony.

Highlights of living room:
comfy fold out sofa bed (mattress a bit hard)
dining room table with 6 chairs (!)
game table with two chairs
desk, hutch, two closets, coffee table, easy chair, HD flat screen TV
segregated kitchen area with wet bar, fridge, microwave, coffee maker and dishwasher
"real" silverware, glasses, and dishes
plenty of storage and cabinets
walk-out balcony
windows can be opened

Bedroom and bathroom:
bathroom a bit small, but nicely appointed; Neutrogena toiletries
bedroom a bit bigger than standard size
comfy bed and pillows
plenty of drawers and close space
electric shoe shiner

Lots of little nice touches in this place.

Negative comments:
slow elevators (one was out of service - so that should be temporary)
balcony door very hard to open and close -- I would guess this problem would not apply to every room
If you are facing 50th, you will get the usual street noises at night, even on a high floor (we were on 19). Few hotels in NYC are immune to that.

Other:
bell staff and doormen very nice and attentive
bathroom sink drained slowly -- we mentioned it, and it was fixed right away
Location is fantastic -- lots of good restaurants within walking distance
Don't miss going "Upstairs" for a drink (see photo)

This hotel has some very nice touches, and the service is excellent without being intrusive. This hotel should be considered by anyone who is travelling in a group of 3 or 4 as you will have more space, a kitchen, and other amenities for less than two rooms of similar quality. .

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

OK. Don’t expect bells and whistles at the Kimberly. I had a two bedrooms suite. Large and comfortable but certainly needed some refreshment -indeed the whole hotel is a bit outdated-. The location is very good and the staff helpful and friendly, especially the door staff. The hotel rates are very gook taking into account the size of my rooms and the Midtown location. They have a problem with the elevators. Simply they are not enough to attend all the people using them, especially at peak hours. If you are going to the theatre I would advise you to take into account that you could easily spend more than five minutes only to get to the lobby. All things considered I think that the Kimberly offers a very good deal for the money. I especially recommend it for couples traveling with their kids.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stayed in Kimberley for 6 nights and overall we enjoyed our stay. We booked luxury suite with two double beds and the suite itself was really perfect. We had no compaints about anything but... we got a suite with a backyard view which was horrible. It was on the 8 th floor even if I asked good time in advance to give us the highest possible floor. And it was impossible to sleep because of the terrible smell coming from the vent of a diner downstairs. Windows were not really well sealed to prevent the garlicky fumes making us reay unwell. After a few medicated nights I gathered my courage to ask reception to move us to the higher floor, away from the smelly vent. They did that tout de suite and we were so happy - away from that smell and sad looking walls- we got a view on the 29th floor, even if it was still backyard. To your information- all luxury suites with 2 double beds are with a view to the backyard!! Which is a shame. And if the price on the 8th foor and 29th floor is the same, I find it really unfair to the fellow traveller- difference is enormous even if rooms are the same. For one night we booked a suite with a kingsize bed and got a room with a street view. It was very nice suite.
Anyway, hotel is very nice, service is exellent and very professional. I just expected the guys in the reception to be more plesant - no smiles in 6 days. Girls in the reception, on the other hand, the doormen and porters, were really lovely people. Super professionals!
So, exellent and affordable hotell with superb location in Midtown provided you get a highest possible floor.

Room Tip: Highest possibe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

This hotel is in a great location in midtown. Our room was large and clean. The rooftop bar was great with amazing views. Our only issue was that there was only 1 elevator working and we waited 40 minutes and eventually had to walk down from the 11th floor with our luggage. The staff, however, were amazing and handled a difficult situation very well. Juliette at the counter was friendly and professional and Harry, the doorman, provided exceptional service. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I have spent a lot of time in New York, and have always been underwhelmed by the hotel rooms. This hotel is the exception. I attended a conference at the Waldorf, but chose to stay at the Kimberly instead after having a few bad experiences at the Waldorf in years past. My decision was a good one.

The rooms at the Kimberly are huge. I stayed in the cheapest room available, and had a huge room, seating area, and bathroom. The room was both comfortable and extremely clean.

In addition, the rooftop bar is beautiful and the location great.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

This is a smaller hotel on the east side of midtown Manhattan. Convenient location, but I was pretty underwhelmed by my stay. Staff didn't seem very friendly, elevators were slow (there is apparently no service elevator so staff are using them frequently). My room was an interesting bilevel room with a spiral staircase, but the lighting was poor, no lamp on the desk or table, no turndown service. They have a small fitness center and free passes to a large NY sports club. Overall, it was just OK, but I've had "more for less" at other NYC hotels. I was hoping for better based on other Tripadvisor reviews.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kimberly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kimberly Hotel

Address: 145 East 50th Street, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#72 Business Hotel in New York City
#81 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#88 Family Hotel in New York City
#145 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kimberly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kimberly is a traditionally styled, boutique suite hotel located between 3rd & Lexington Avenues. With 30 rooms ranging from 266 to 372 sq ft and 158 suites, ranging from 460 to 935 sq ft., we offer personalized service from a warm and caring staff. Most of our suites have balconies, a rarity in NYC and many offer views of the city. Our mattresses are covered with feather beds and decked with Frette linens, which earn comments such as "I didn't want to get up" from our guests. A bonus here, is that in addition to our on-site fitness center, work-out enthusiasts can use any of the NY Heatlth and Racquet Club's 9 locations, including pools and work-out classes at no additional cost and can enjoy a cruise for three hours on their 75 ft yacht (in season) for a fee of $25 which includes a light buffet supper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Amex, Priceline, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your The Kimberly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimberly Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kimberly Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.