We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A restful sleep in Manhattan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Kimberly Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Kimberly Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Kimberly Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   145 East 50th Street, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 449 hotels in New York City
Virginia
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A restful sleep in Manhattan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Our view was not great but the suite was big, clean and nice, albeit dated. We were in the 21st floor and so we did not have the street noise. The facade of the hotel is getting a facelift, but it does not get in the way. The staff are friendly and accommodating. The location of the hotel is great, close to the shopping places and is surrounded by excellent restaurants. I will not mind going back to stay in this hotel on our next visit.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    528
    316
    74
    30
    14
See reviews for
268
248
32
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Stayed here two different times in January. Excellent Staff, Big Rooms, Good Price & Great Location. They had valet parking but park across the street & get a coupon from the desk for $28 for 24 hourst. Great rooftop bar with very a view & good appetizers. They were doing facade work while we were there but didn't interfere with our stay at all. Will stay here next time we are in New York.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massapequa, n.y
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Stayed here in January on the recommendation of a friend. This hotel exceeded all of our expectations. We arrived in the city a little earlier than check in time, and was told our room was ready and we were upgraded to a suite! The room was beautiful, spotlessly clean, and very quiet. I couldn't find a thing wrong with this hotel. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a hotel in midtown Manhattan.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

I stayed here with my boyfriend for 3 nights for my birthday and we had a very enjoyable (though not perfect) stay.

The staff were pleasant at check in and friendly for the rest of the stay if not overly effusive. The lobby was a bit strange and there was a lot of construction going on - but there was a tropical fish tank which I personally loved!

On our first morning we went for breakfast in the bar on the 30th floor. The breakfast was tasty and extensive and the view was pretty nice and gave me the chance to oo and aa a bit. On the negative side the roof was a leaky and I felt a bit awkward at times and also the breakfast was crazy expensive!!

The highlight of the stay was the room. It was really lovely. There was so much space and the bed was so amazingly comfortable! The sheets and the duvet were wonderful I could have stayed in bed all day. The heating is as other reviewers have said a bit hit and miss but it kept us warm and cozy most of the time - too hot for me but perfect for my boyfriend. I was pretty unwell during the holiday so having a a good nights sleep really helped me out. The other facilities were pretty good - the bathroom was great but although there was a coffee maker there wasn't a kettle and I couldn't work out how to make tea or honey and lemon...

The area was good for my first stay in New York as it is close to all the 'big' sites. I would stay more down down if I were to go again though.

Overall I would recommend staying here. It is quirky though so if you don't like that go to somewhere more modern.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We love this hotel. Terrific staff, views, easy walking. A range of restaurants in the area made choosing easy at meal times. Loved the tapas in the upstairs bar on a very chilly evening as well. We'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

After reading plenty of reviews on the Kimberly before we went I was really excited about our stay there, but have to say I was a bit let down by what I saw there myself during our stay.

Firstly, the hotel is in a good location with Rockerfella, Times Square and Grand Central Terminal and other subway stops all within walking distance.

The room itself was ok with a very comfy bed. The windows are thin though and do not keep out the draft that comes with being in NY in January. The heater under the window blows out hot air but if you turn it on to keep you warm before going to sleep you wake up red hot, then you turn it off and you're freezing cold again in an hour. There's no inbetween.

The main source of disappointment for me was the service and attitude of most the staff. I was expecting a lot more after what I'd read before I went. The man who checked us in on the desk wasn't the friendliest and couldn't manage a smile. The doormen out front are helpful and friendly and sort your bags out etc, but due to there being a bar upstairs there are the other type of doormen in front of the hotel aswell. These big blokes stand there giving people dirty looks and looking people up and down as if you are something they trod in. If you've got a suit on and look like you have money to spend and want to go up to their bar they're ok with you, but if you're walking in in jeans and trainers from a day of sightseeing don't expect good manners because you won't get any. A group of 'suits' got to the front door about the same time as me and my wife, the doorman was ever so friendly to them before getting them in the door and almost knocking into my wife to get infront of her to get his customers upstairs.

What they need to realise is there are also customers going in who are paid customers at the hotel, not just going up to the bar. Which by the way, is pretentious and over rated. I am a generous tipper and I know a lot of staff depend on tips, but when I buy 2 bottles of Stella for $16 from an obnoxious bar man who says "do you want the change?" I think he shouldn't ask for it, it's not a god given right. So I said yes I do want the change. If he hadn't asked I'd have given him a tip. This was followed by a filthy look and my change thrown petulantly on the bar. Didn't feel comfortable in there and felt the staff were snobby and looking down on us.

There is a lot of construction going on at the hotel but it didn't affect us due to us not being there in the day. It did the job and gave us a comfy bed to sleep in after a long day sightseeing but that's about it. I wouldn't stay there again next time I go to NY.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

I stayed here twice in 2013: june and october.
Guess where I will stay during my next trip to NYC...

Location is great, staff is helpful, roof is gorgeus, rooms are huge and comfortable. Book the one bedroom suite.

Downstairs restaurant is trendy and cool crowd.
I can't wait to be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Kimberly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kimberly Hotel

Address: 145 East 50th Street, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#58 Business Hotel in New York City
#61 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#63 Family Hotel in New York City
#124 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kimberly Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kimberly is a traditionally styled, boutique suite hotel located between 3rd & Lexington Avenues. With 30 rooms ranging from 266 to 372 sq ft and 158 suites, ranging from 460 to 935 sq ft., we offer personalized service from a warm and caring staff. Most of our suites have balconies, a rarity in NYC and many offer views of the city. Our mattresses are covered with feather beds and decked with Frette linens, which earn comments such as "I didn't want to get up" from our guests. A bonus here, is that in addition to our on-site fitness center, work-out enthusiasts can use any of the NY Heatlth and Racquet Club's 9 locations, including pools and work-out classes at no additional cost and can enjoy a cruise for three hours on their 75 ft yacht (in season) for a fee of $25 which includes a light buffet supper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your The Kimberly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimberly Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kimberly Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.