We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh how I loved The Kimberly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kimberly Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Kimberly Hotel to your Saves list
The Kimberly Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   145 East 50th Street, New York City, NY 10022 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #101 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vacaville
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Oh how I loved The Kimberly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

After a full week of business travel and let downs with other hotels The Kimberly was just what the doctor ordered. Great check in experience and gorgeous room at a less rate than I paid for a cruddy Sheraton across town. The ameneties were great! Slippers, robe, stocked wet bar, and the sheets where silky smooth. I need to find those frette sheets! The rooftop bar is fantastic with great views. The room service was the only thing lacking. This place made me feel like a million bucks!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    365
    85
    35
    16
See reviews for
331
275
39
166
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nokomis, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We have stay here before and each time it gets better with all the renovations being done. The staff and service is 5 Star and the location is perfect in mid-town close to every thing we needed.
The work being done can be a bit annoying if you are trying to do some office work in your suite during the day and hopefully it will be completed in the near future.
We definitely will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at MANY NYC hotels ranging from the Mandarin to the Marriott...I have also lived in Manhattan for 10 years so I know what I am talking about when it comes to NYC. I have NEVER had a better hotel experience anywhere than at the Kimberly Hotel. It is a small European style boutique hotel in probably the best location of Manhattan because of it's quick access to any area of the city. The rooms are GIGANTIC in terms of what you will find in other Manhattan hotels that are even pricier....you get a lot for your money! But...it's really the people/staff that make the hotel so special. The staff is friendly, professional, eager to help, grateful, sweet, and treat every guest as if they were a part of the hotel family. They make you feel safe and because the hotel is so small, they even remember you when you visit multiple times, which gives the hotel a very homey feel. I would like to give special thanks to a few employees that were stellar....Lonny at the front desk, Dzeva and Natasha in housekeeping, Kevin and Jose at the front doors. The only current negative that is a necessary evil for now is the construction being done on the front of the building to reinforce all the room balconies. The work is done on weekdays between 9-5 and is loud and annoying, but they are doing it for the safety of the guests, and once it's over the hotel would have no negatives at all.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I stayed here as it had good reviews and seemed to be a more reasonable option than my normal business haunts - the LondonNYC and the Surrey. Usually i like boutique hotels. Wish I hadn't. First, the hotel is undergoing some sort of external renovation, so it is swathed in scaffolding. I HOPE they are re-doing the lobby, as what is there at present is very tired and faded. Worse, there are two very old and slow elevators and they really can take an absolute age to come. Service when I arrived was, even by NY standards, distinctly unimpressive - "your name?" - no "welcome to our hotel" etc etc. The desk is small and so the line can be long. The concierge, tucked in a desk by the lift, was helpful and nice. The room style is very traditional indeed - too much so for my taste and more than is the norm in Europe nowadays - but it had what was needed, though I didn't think it was exceptional in any sense. Room service was prompt to arrive, but slow to clear. Breakfast on the roof was a peculiarly hit and miss affair. It has a sort of low-rent buffet with other options, and felt rather like they were camping there until something better came along. Very odd. It was nice and sunny but so are lots of places. My room - see below - was akin to a dungeon. It had the type of Aircon that I haven't seen for years, where you lift up a flap on a giant boxed radiator and twiddle a knob. The unit in my bedroom was so noisy I had to turn it off. And they charge for wifi which I think is really, really annoying. Won't stay here again, I think.

Room Tip: My room was on the second floor. I should have gone down and insisted on a change, but I was just t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tannersville, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The best of the best ,everything is perfect. It is located in a great area. The staff has been there forever and they remember you from Visit to Visit.the rooftop bar is great on summer day for breakfast. Would not stay anywhere else in the city.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My friend and I spend a week here, and we really loved the room. It was HUGE!
Fine kitchen, big living room, nice but small bathroom (with a tub) and 2 huge, lovely beds in the bedroom.
The bedroom was the best part - we sleept like babies. So comfy beds!
The balkony was nice, but we had a room facing the back of the hotel, so there was no view over the city.
The staff was very friendly and serviceminded.
There is only (free) wifi in the lobby.
We stayed in 15E.

There was some kind of construction work going on, were told by staff + note in the room. This was no problem at all. We usually left the hotel before 9 in the morning (we were on european-time...) :o)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed at the Kimberly Hotel for Labor Day weekend and the staff was some of the most fabulous workers I have ever come across while staying at hotels. Everyone was so nice and always willing to go out of their way for anything we needed. We stayed in a 1BR Luxury suite and it was amazing. The only complaint we have is that the bathroom was a bit on the small side and the water pressure of the showers was very weak. Loved the "Upstairs" rooftop lounge, amazing views! And we loved the sunset cruise that we took on the boat through the NYHRC. And a big thanks to all the doormen at The Kimberly for all their suggestions on dining and for our many questions on directions, you guys were the best! We did not get a chance to eat at the restaurant, Noir at the hotel, but the menu looked outstanding. Maybe next time!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kimberly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kimberly Hotel

Address: 145 East 50th Street, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in New York City
#64 Family Hotel in New York City
#75 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#140 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kimberly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kimberly is a traditionally styled, boutique suite hotel located between 3rd & Lexington Avenues. With 30 rooms ranging from 266 to 372 sq ft and 158 suites, ranging from 460 to 935 sq ft., we offer personalized service from a warm and caring staff. Most of our suites have balconies, a rarity in NYC and many offer views of the city. Our mattresses are covered with feather beds and decked with Frette linens, which earn comments such as "I didn't want to get up" from our guests. A bonus here, is that in addition to our on-site fitness center, work-out enthusiasts can use any of the NY Heatlth and Racquet Club's 9 locations, including pools and work-out classes at no additional cost and can enjoy a cruise for three hours on their 75 ft yacht (in season) for a fee of $25 which includes a light buffet supper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Kimberly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimberly Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kimberly Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.