We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely kimberly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kimberly Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Kimberly Hotel to your Saves list
The Kimberly Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   145 East 50th Street, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #121 of 459 Hotels in New York City
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“lovely kimberly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

What a good surprise,,,,in the heart of Manhattan, an independant middle-sized hotel with bargain prices....we never had so much comfort for so little money....we paid less than 400 dollars for a junior suite with beautiful real heavy furnitures...service is excellent from the doorman to the room service staff, the sleep quality was fantastic and the breakfast awesome...i had to check the bill twice to make sure they had not make a mistake in my favor...I recommend this hotel to anyone looking for excellence and a good bargain.

Room Tip: the 50 th street is quiet enough during the night so do not hesitate to book a street view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    352
    83
    36
    15
See reviews for
310
264
38
153
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
buffalo
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We'd passed ;by this hotel on other visits to New York City and thought it looked really nice. Lobby was under construction when we were there. Not so nice. Our room was pretty but there were no chairs in there. If we wanted a glass of wine, or to read - we sat on the bed. I complained at reception and was told that it was one of their "guest rooms". Oh, pardon me, it's a hotel - I thought all the rooms were guest rooms. No, that's Kimberly speak for low end (no chairs)? If I'd known, I wouldn't have booked it. Also, we heard sirens outside all night. I was told there was a police station down the street and that's the reason for the sirens. They were nice enough - though a bit grudging - to change us to a room with chairs and away from the street noise. Actually it was a great upgrade. But, really, "guest rooms"? No chairs? I wouldn't stay there again, in spite of the upgrade, because of the attitude at reception and the "guest room" thing.

Room Tip: Lots of street noise on lower floors due to police station down the street - sirens. Be sure you ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimmie145, Director of Sales at The Kimberly Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are so sorry that you had this experience. Our guest rooms all have chairs, so I am puzzled as to why there wasn’t one in your room. Granted, our suites provide a lot more seating areas as there is a full living room, so our agent might have misunderstood your needs thinking you meant you did not have a sofa. We would love to have you experience our property again in the way that is described by so many other guests who have chosen to post on TripAdvisor. Kindly contact me directly so that we may arrange your next stay for you.

Again, please accept our apologies as this is not the norm at The Kimberly.

Best Regards,

Marcia Skyers-James
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I travel to NYC 2 times per month and stay in a lot of different places. This time I stayed at the Kimberly Hotel. I book through Hotwire, so I never know where I am going to stay. However, i can say that my experience at the Kimberly was atrocious. As my title states the walls were so thin I could hear every word of the conversation in the next room. Because I booked through Hotwire, they put me in a terrible room...this has only happened to me twice in over 25 bookings...so beware. If you have the opportunity to stay elsewhere, please do..this is not a 4 star hotel...I would give it 3.5 stars.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimmie145, Director of Sales at The Kimberly Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are disappointed to learn that you had this experience with us. We really have never had such a complaint before, so I am at a loss as to what might have happened. Please accept our most sincere apologies and give us another opportunity to welcome you back in true Kimberly style. Please feel free to contact me directly so we may make your next visit a memorable one.

Best Regards,

Marcia Skyers-James
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Entire staff is efficient, courteous and knowledgable. Overall EXCELLENT! Hotel is a convient location for shopping, site seeing and dining. Hotel penthouse for breakfast, brunch, dinner or cocktails is favorably priced and has a spectacular 180 degree view of the city. Rooms are clean, large, well appointed and the beds are comfortable. We had stayed here before and will come back again and again. Charles, the manager is exceptional! He made our stay pleasurable. Again, THANK YOU to the entire staff!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

From the moment you arrive at the hotel, you are welcomed by a professional and friendly staff. The rooms are very large by New York standards, gorgeous beds and decor throughout. The bath is well appointed and good towels. Rooftop restaurant is good for breakfast and cocktails. New restuarant Noir, you must dine here. This will be my favorite New York hotel forever.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor facing east for quiet. Rooms facing West have views of the Chrysler...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimmie145, Director of Sales at The Kimberly Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us here at The Kimberly!!
We are absolutely delighted that you had such a great experience with us and the fact that you said "This will be my favorite New York hotel forever" has simply made our day!! :)

Looking forward to welcoming you back so please come and visit us again soon.

Best Regards,

Marcia Skyers-James
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed here for a long weekend in New York I would recommend this hotel the bedrooms/ suites were very large and comfortable the beds are huge and the facilities in the rooms are first class.The view from our balcony was excellent. i went with a group of 7 people we had 3 suites and each suite was very clean and comfortable with its own kitchenette and even an electric bed and a tv in the loo/shower room!

The Staff are very friendly especially the doormen.

The Kimberly is very central and within walking distance to Time Square.

This hotel is a must to visit.

Room Tip: room 23 d, e and f excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimmie145, Director of Sales at The Kimberly Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you having chosen to stay with us and are thrilled to know that we left such a positive impression on you and your group.
We are proud to say that our doormen are amazing and they are always a guest favourite!

Thank you so much for the great feedback and do come back and stay with us again!

Best Regards,
Marcia Skyers-James
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I just wanted to take a moment to say that was stay at The Kimberly was excellent. The staff was friendly, the hotel was clean and we loved the size of the rooms. I would definitely return again to enjoy this top notch hotel. Also a great location for getting around Manhattan. I would recommend this hotel to my family and friends. By the way my wife's name is Kimberly so she got a free robe, she really loved that.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kimberly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kimberly Hotel

Address: 145 East 50th Street, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#76 Business Hotel in New York City
#84 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#89 Family Hotel in New York City
#138 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kimberly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kimberly is a traditionally styled, boutique suite hotel located between 3rd & Lexington Avenues. With 30 rooms ranging from 266 to 372 sq ft and 158 suites, ranging from 460 to 935 sq ft., we offer personalized service from a warm and caring staff. Most of our suites have balconies, a rarity in NYC and many offer views of the city. Our mattresses are covered with feather beds and decked with Frette linens, which earn comments such as "I didn't want to get up" from our guests. A bonus here, is that in addition to our on-site fitness center, work-out enthusiasts can use any of the NY Heatlth and Racquet Club's 9 locations, including pools and work-out classes at no additional cost and can enjoy a cruise for three hours on their 75 ft yacht (in season) for a fee of $25 which includes a light buffet supper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, EasyToBook, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Kimberly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimberly Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kimberly Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.