We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Excelsior Hotel to your Saves list
Excelsior Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   45 West 81st Street, New York City, NY 10024 (Upper West Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #276 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Perth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Perfect Location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed at the Excelsior Hotel for 3 nights at the end of our holiday. A better location would be hard to find. This is a boutique hotel located right next to Central Park, the Natural History Museum and in a lovely area of Manhattan.

Although not a five star hotel the location is worthy of five stars in itself. Check in was efficient and we were shown to our suite's which were spacious, spotlessly clean and comfortable. Decent air con, flat screen TV's (who watches tv in NYC though), even an iron and ironing board even an umbrella for guests use.

The location is perfect. Directly opposite is a small park and we really enjoyed sitting on the park benches in the leafy avenue watching the world go by. Local dog walkers and joggers were all friendly and spoke in the passing too. Check out the luminous dragonflies in the park early evening. Wonderful.

Broadway is only a couple of blocks away, fifth avenue and times square a slightly longer walk or a short taxi ride. Plenty restaurants, bars and shops all within walking distance. With central park at the end of the street its perfect to wander for a walk early morning or evening.

The lobby area of the hotel is very colonial in appearance and get this - offers free wifi,. The only hotel during our stay which did. Well done Excelsior. Although the hotel was very busy (independence day) during our stay the staff handled this professionally and at no cost to the guests comfort.

Concierge arranged taxi's and a shopping trip to Woodbury Common for us which all went to plan.

If you're looking for a decent budget hotel in a perfect NYC location this is the one for you. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    604
    191
    89
    78
See reviews for
401
403
62
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our 6 night stay at this hotel. We arrived around 8pm and were super lucky to have received an upgrade. We stayed in room 1111 on the 11th floor. This room was huge, especially for NYC standards. Our room had a huge lounge as well as a balcony that had a separate outdoor table and chairs. The bedroom was really good with a comfy bed. The bathroom is pretty small, however I suspect that this would be a typical NYC sized bathroom.

This hotel is located opposite Central Park and near the Museum of Natural History. There was a subway station located nearby and we used this a lot. There is also a bus stop over the road and we found the bus service very useful.

There is a South American restaurant attached to the hotel. This restaurant is surprisingly affordable and proved to be very popular, especially with people outside of the hotel.

This hotel is very quiet and clean and the staff are very helpful and friendly.

This hotel does not have free wi-fi in the rooms and you will need to go down to the lobby to use the free wi-fi. This is probably the only negative about the hotel.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for your stay in NYC.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Lovely hotel if you need a place on upper west side in Manhatten. Very nicely furnished rooms/ suits Great bar downstairs. Right next to the middle of Central Park. Love NY. Would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

There was three couples in my group and this was our 1st time in New York, what a great introduction to the City. Hotel is right down the street from the subway, rooms were amazing, really big and clean and so quiet. Had a problem with my Iron and the service guy was there in less than 5 minutes to fix and repair it. Would have been nice to have a coffee maker or fridge in the room, but having to go to a deli across the street, just enhanced the New York experience. A great hotel and one we will all definitely stay at again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

After the fourth time, we are regulars. While it does not have the pool, huge lobby, roof deck bar, it has everything you need. And it is done with class and taste. Nothing gaudy or over the top disturbs this classic, clean, spot on W. 81st. Restaurants abound on Columbus and there is the subway at the end of the block. The staff is very alert and we once got an upgrade (I think because they thought I had nice manners). This is the place to go if you don't want to take out a mortgage to get a good room in NYC.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on 81st, but don't fret if you don't get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed in a nice suite on the ninth floor, so I can't relate to the reviews complaining about size (although, in Manhattan, you should expect a small room). Everything was clean and modern. Several of the reviews indicated they liked the North Views of the neighborhood, so we would have been fine either way, but the South View of the City is spectacular!

Lots of great food choices within walking distance, and the subway station at the corner is a wonderful bonus when you want to get anywhere fast.

We planned a week in Manhattan with our six year old daughter around one doctors appointment she had in the City. Unfortunately, she ended up needing to be hospitalized for that entire duration. As a result, we flew up our older daughters and the parents took shifts at the hospital. This meant the hotel had to make several adjustments - including extending our stay one night. They were incredibly gracious and accommodating in a difficult time - and it was so nice to come back to the peace of the Excelsior during our rest times.

We would gladly recommend the Excelsior to anyone, and we plan to be back on our next stay when we can enjoy the Park and Museum!

Room Tip: Andy's Deli has a good cheap takeout breakfast just around the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego CA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I've stayed at the Excelsior Hotel, an old gem on W81st St between Columbus and Central Park West with views of the Museum of Natural History and Theodore Roosevelt Park on a number of occasions. Its been throughly renovated. It has a new restaurant (Cuban, and hopping), attentive and friendly staff, and beautiful rooms. It is not cheap. But our 9th floor suite faced the Museum and park, and looked out over the Midtown skyline. We had a spacious living room, an equal sized bedroom, windows on three sides (all of which opened to the breeze but were above traffic and noise) and a nicely remodeled if small, elegant bathroom. It was raining and the closet contained two large umbrellas for us to use along with comfy fluffy robes. From the hotel you can walk to anything on the Upper West Side or catch the subway at 81st St and CPW. Its a wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: The corner rooms on each floor, facing W81st St seem to have Museum Park views and are suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Excelsior Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Hotel

Address: 45 West 81st Street, New York City, NY 10024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#211 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Excelsior Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Excelsior Upper West Side NYC Hotel Located in the fashionable Upper West Side neighborhood between Central Park and Columbus Avenue, the Excelsior Hotel is a beautifully renovated hotel with an abundance of old world charm and comfort. This landmark hotel is characteristic of Manhattan's architectural beauty among the dramatic Central Park setting; thoroughly complimented by modern conveniences and luxuries. The Excelsior Hotel is located in one of New York City's trendiest neighborhoods, overlooking the American Museum of Natural History and the Rose Center for Earth and Space. Popular attractions such as Lincoln Center, the Beacon Theatre, and Columbia University are within walking distance to the Excelsior. A leisurely stroll across Central Park to the Upper East Side leads to the luxurious boutiques of Madison Avenue, an endless selection of restaurants, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Guggenheim and Whitney Museums. If your plans include an evening at the theatre or site seeing among the hustle and bustle of Manhattan, famous attractions such as Times Square, the Empire State Building, and Rockefeller Center are a quick ride from the Excelsior Hotel by New York Taxi, Subway, or bus. Manhattan's Excelsior Hotel features an elegantly and comfortably appointed Lobby; inviting guests to feel at home upon their arrival. Its New York City hotel room accommodations are inspired with an Art Deco contemporary motif with countless amenities and services to make a stay at the Excelsior Hotel an experience for guests desiring more than a typical New York "tourist" hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, T4B, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, EasyToBook and Priceline so you can book your Excelsior Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior New York City
Excelsior Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Excelsior Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.