We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Excelsior Hotel to your Saves list
Excelsior Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   45 West 81st Street, New York City, NY 10024 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #296 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Canandaigua
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed in a suite here in August. Visiting NYC for a Yankees game. The location of the hotel is prime. Upper west side Manhattan, across the street from Central Park West and The American Museum of Natural History. Lots of things to do in the area, great shopping and even better cafes and pubs. Clean room, spacious in the suite and a nice gym available. Only downfall was no cold showers available. The weather was very hot/humid and the water temp in the shower did not seem to go below 105 degrees

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    553
    178
    87
    71
See reviews for
350
378
56
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Novato, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

A clean great value 4 star Hotel at bargain price. Close to subway entrance and great restaurants.. Rooms in back away from 81 st are much quieter. Rooms are large by NYC standards.Very good Cuban restaurant opened inside Hotel between our last visits.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Me and my husband stayed here for our anniversary, and the hotel was wonderful. The rooms are very clean and up-to-date, the beds were comfortable. However the room was very small, and the view from our room wasn't great (looking into someone's backyard). If having a good view from your room is important to you, ask for a room on a higher floor.

The best part of this hotel is the location. Right across from the natural history museum and central park, and lots of great restaurants and shops. But keep in mind, the shops do all close at 8pm which I wasn't expecting in the "city that never sleeps." The subway is literally at the end of the street. What more can you ask for besides a nice, clean, comfortable hotel in a safe and central location? Overall, we were very happy with our stay here.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a good view, ask for one on a higher floor that faces to the front of the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights based on tripadvisors ratings. We required somewhere central but not too expensive which is quite difficult in New York. We used Hotels .com to book our room which was requested 2 weeks before our visit. We were gauranteed a full refund up to three days before our visit with no questions asked.We decided also to drive to New York and park the car, so we understood where the parking was beforehand and downloaded into the satnav. We found the hotel and car park (directly opposite in the Natural History museum) without getting lost albeit a few impatient taxi drivers hooting us for going too slow. Hotel has a deal for half price parking and you can access your car at all times. New York is an OK place to drive in town and much better than Rome or Thesalonika.
Arrived at the hotel for check in , the staff didnt crack a smile but the room was small but adequate andt clean, some things like the clock and desk light didnt work. Could have done with a higher floor as requested but got the fifth which meant a view of somebody`s scruffy back yard.
Curtains didnt close and were decorative only. Nobody explained blinds were in the casemeant. Please look for the chains. No tea making facilities in the room not good for us British.
For the money value could be improved by having tea making facilities and breakfast thrown in which is extra to the room charge.
The doorman was very helpful with directions.
Location to downtown was not walkable but subway nearby and central park within half a mile.
Breakfast was good self serve and not the usual twenty questions with anything here in the US.

IMPORTANT INFO FOR ALL READERS.....Not a bed bug in site.

Room Tip: Take your own travel kettle . Museum Views are better and of course the higher floors if they give...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in room 805. The room has a comfortable queen size bed,is large for NY and had a nice bathroom as well. The room looked out onto W 81st street and the museum of natural history We would have appreciated a coffee maker and fridge in the room and the safe being on the floor of the closet was rather inconvenient. It was very hot (mid 80's) and the airconditioning didnt keep up very well, but friends in a nearby room didnt have that issue. The room and hotel was noticeably cleaner than the last comparably priced hotel we stayed at in NY. There are some nice places for a drink, meal etc on Columbus nearby. World coffee, starbucks and Andys deli are real close. The 81st subway station is only a 2 min walk away. Overall the my complaints are minor compared to the comfort, convenience and location of the hotel.

Room Tip: Both rooms i saw on hte 8 th floor were in good shape and even facing the road there was not a lot o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Five of us (family of two adults and three teenage kids) stayed recently for 3 nights. I have stayed in NYC before several times but chose the Excelsior because I thought hot summer weather and a Central Park location might be a good combination.

What a nice hotel! The rooms were big, the beds comfy, the bathrooms clean tho slightly dated, quiet, friendly atmosphere, friendly front desk staff. And a PERFECT location for us!

Lovely neighbourhood - the Natural History Museum over the road, Central Park 5 minutes walk and Amsterdam Avenue 5 minutes the other way; Zabars deli 10 mins walk at most - fabulous food, Amsterdam Diner on Amsterdam 5 mins away - excellent for breakfasts. Very friendly local pharmacy, very friendly Barnes and Noble close by, market on Sunday morning stretched for several blocks and was really interesting. Such a nice chilled neighbourhood, also great bars and restaurants nearby, great for strolling in the evening. The Guggenheim and Met over the other side of the park and the subway steps away........... FABULOUS - thoroughly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Just returned from a wonderfull weekend in Manhattan. The Excelsior met all of my expectations and exceeded many of the on-line reviews. Could not be a better, more serene location. As you walk out the front door, you are greeted by the beauty of Roosevelt Park and a wonderful neighborhood with many fantastic restaurants and shops within walking distance. One block from the Natural History Museum, Central Park and the subway. The room was spacious and beautiful and extremely clean. The bed was very luxurious. The bathroom was dated, but very clean and quaint. Excellent water pressure in the shower and plenty of hot water. Was not fortunate enough to get a park view, but had a lovely view of the surrounding neighborhood. Would definitely stay at the Excelsior again and reccomend it to anyone visiting Manhattan.

Room Tip: Was upgraded to a King Deluxe Suite. Well appointed and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Excelsior Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Hotel

Address: 45 West 81st Street, New York City, NY 10024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#230 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Excelsior Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Excelsior Upper West Side NYC Hotel Located in the fashionable Upper West Side neighborhood between Central Park and Columbus Avenue, the Excelsior Hotel is a beautifully renovated hotel with an abundance of old world charm and comfort. This landmark hotel is characteristic of Manhattan's architectural beauty among the dramatic Central Park setting; thoroughly complimented by modern conveniences and luxuries. The Excelsior Hotel is located in one of New York City's trendiest neighborhoods, overlooking the American Museum of Natural History and the Rose Center for Earth and Space. Popular attractions such as Lincoln Center, the Beacon Theatre, and Columbia University are within walking distance to the Excelsior. A leisurely stroll across Central Park to the Upper East Side leads to the luxurious boutiques of Madison Avenue, an endless selection of restaurants, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Guggenheim and Whitney Museums. If your plans include an evening at the theatre or site seeing among the hustle and bustle of Manhattan, famous attractions such as Times Square, the Empire State Building, and Rockefeller Center are a quick ride from the Excelsior Hotel by New York Taxi, Subway, or bus. Manhattan's Excelsior Hotel features an elegantly and comfortably appointed Lobby; inviting guests to feel at home upon their arrival. Its New York City hotel room accommodations are inspired with an Art Deco contemporary motif with countless amenities and services to make a stay at the Excelsior Hotel an experience for guests desiring more than a typical New York "tourist" hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, T4B, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Otel, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Excelsior Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior New York City
Excelsior Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Excelsior Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.