We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would go stay there again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Save Saved
You added Excelsior Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Excelsior Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   45 West 81st Street, New York City, NY 10024 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #284 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“I would go stay there again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Walking distance to Central Park and shopping. Safe area. I loved the location. Perfectly working wireless. Good quality sleep. Clean room. Comfort. No problems.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    509
    151
    76
    68
See reviews for
314
330
53
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

stayed at this hotel on a 4 night visit to n y city,location was brilliant ,neighberhood wonderfull,out the way of all the main city noise,next to central park and the museum if your intrested,the hotel and rooms are excactly as you see on the web sight photos, very nice staff and spotlessly clean.we had a room on the tenth floor to the back of the building which was great no problems and smashing views towards the north,will stay again next time.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel a few times now. It has a great location- right next to the park and science museum and there's many restaurants/shops nearby. There is also a subway stop right at the corner. The neighborhood is great but it is still easy to access other parts of the city. I have always had a suite which has been great, but since it's an older hotel I imagine the regular rooms to be on the smaller side. However, the charm is what I love about it! I'm not a Marriott/Hilton kind of person I enjoy staying in local hotels whenever I travel. They recently added a bar and restaurant as well.

Room Tip: Get a corner suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Stayed for a night with my 11 yr old son because it was close to the museum. We were on the 15th floor with a view of the museum. We ran the fan all night which provided great "white noise" and the beds were very comfortable. An excellent night sleep. The hotel is close to two subway stops - 81st and museum is just down the road and goes to Rockefeller Center, the other line a few blocks away (79th I think) was also convenient.

We stopped in at the hotel breakfast on 2nd floor, but the $17 buffet is the only option. We decided that was too much for no atmosphere, so we got on the subway and found a much better place.

If you walk two blocks west of the hotel, there are many choices for restaurants - not many options really close to the hotel. We like Haru for sushi.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

We have stayed twice at this hotel once for a week and then 9 days.
The staff go out of their way to please and accomadate customer requirements,we have always been well treated by all members of staff from reception,front and back of house,maids and valet staff.
Always considerate in finding a room to suit the family ie parents with a teenager can be difficult in many hotels, here we stay in comfortable rooms with good installations and views,
Location is great for walking or metro is only yards away.
Intend to vist again hopefully in the near future.
Kedalls from Malaga Spain

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

Just spent a weekend at the Excelsior. We had their cheapest room (two twin beds, smallish, overlooking the park). NIcely appointed and located, and would have been fine except that the windows are single-pane so traffic and sirens etc very audible even on the 9th floor. And the heating system is antiquated so it sometimes blew cold air for a long time before overheating the place. Avoid the breakfast buffet -- $17 for weak coffee and unimaginative and generally greasy standard breakfast bacon, tater tots, scrambled eggs.

Room Tip: Park view is nice but traffic noise comes right through the windows all night, so ask for off-park s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

Very comfortable, nice suite at a good price. Good location for what we were doing. Downsides were: [1] found a AAA rate lower than our reserved rate and they told me they can't change it - that I had to cancel and rebook. Crazy. [2] Parking - you ca park across the street but I'm used to handing the keys to the valet and being done with it. Not as convenient but not awful. [3] staff is okay but not a hint of warmth. Shame for a boutique hotel and finally [4] no NY Times???!!!

Really, this place just needs to be tweaked to be wonderful.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Excelsior Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Hotel

Address: 45 West 81st Street, New York City, NY 10024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#241 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Excelsior Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Excelsior Upper West Side NYC Hotel Located in the fashionable Upper West Side neighborhood between Central Park and Columbus Avenue, the Excelsior Hotel is a beautifully renovated hotel with an abundance of old world charm and comfort. This landmark hotel is characteristic of Manhattan's architectural beauty among the dramatic Central Park setting; thoroughly complimented by modern conveniences and luxuries. The Excelsior Hotel is located in one of New York City's trendiest neighborhoods, overlooking the American Museum of Natural History and the Rose Center for Earth and Space. Popular attractions such as Lincoln Center, the Beacon Theatre, and Columbia University are within walking distance to the Excelsior. A leisurely stroll across Central Park to the Upper East Side leads to the luxurious boutiques of Madison Avenue, an endless selection of restaurants, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Guggenheim and Whitney Museums. If your plans include an evening at the theatre or site seeing among the hustle and bustle of Manhattan, famous attractions such as Times Square, the Empire State Building, and Rockefeller Center are a quick ride from the Excelsior Hotel by New York Taxi, Subway, or bus. Manhattan's Excelsior Hotel features an elegantly and comfortably appointed Lobby; inviting guests to feel at home upon their arrival. Its New York City hotel room accommodations are inspired with an Art Deco contemporary motif with countless amenities and services to make a stay at the Excelsior Hotel an experience for guests desiring more than a typical New York "tourist" hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Otel, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Excelsior Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior New York City
Excelsior Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Excelsior Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.