We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, great service, fine room...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Wolcott Hotel to your Saves list
Wolcott Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4 West 31st Street, Between 5th Avenue & Broadway, New York City, NY 10001 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct for Best Rate
Ranked #232 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Athens, Ge
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, great service, fine room...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My mother and I stayed at The Wolcott for three nights in July, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay very much! Check-in was quick and friendly, and the elevator up to our ninth floor room was efficient, while small. The lobby is beautiful, though the rooms are certainly dated. That's okay, though, because there is a very old school NYC feel about them. Our room had two twin beds, a small desk, and a tv mounted on the wall. The wall unit a/c kept our space cool and comfortable, and the bathroom was the best part! It was actually quite spacious and sweet. The linens were fluffy and luxurious, as well.

The only small issue we experienced - and I really hate to even call it "an issue" - was with the concierge. We asked if we could have a cab called for our very early trip back to LGA, and instead of offering information about cabs, she tried to sell us a seat on a shuttle for more than a taxi would have cost us. As it turns out, there isn't a number to call for cabs in NYC, though the hotel is steps from 5th Avenue where we found taxis abundant, even at 4 a.m. But really, her job is to sell "extras," so we understood.

The muffins and coffee are a fantastic offering, and actually was the tipping point for us when deciding whether to stay here or at a similar hotel nearby. Both were delicious and welcome breakfast each morning.

My only other small complaint would the the temperature of the hallways. I assume they are not air conditioned, and the halls were very, very muggy and hot.

Overall, we would absolutely stay here again. We far prefer the location to that of Times Square or even further that direction. The subway is close by, and there are some delicious restaurants around, too. Don't miss Waldy's Pizza. Best meal we had in NYC. Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    742
    290
    97
    68
See reviews for
323
485
66
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Very nice budget hotel, large rooms, good location situated 31st, fith avenue, you can reach a lot of attractions (e.g. central Parc) walking, you get free coffee and muffins for breakfast, nice and friendly staff, If I ever come to New York again I would book it again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs harbour
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Great Location , Nice muffins in the morning , good Coffee ( however the fact that their is actually no separate room to eat them is horrible ) everyone sitting around eating muffins and having Coffee , better to take away , The lady behind the desk ( Cathy I think ) is so rude we are ringing the manager ...apart from her , great stay , great Location ....

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We were able to take advantage of the Wolcott Hotel's 100th Anniversary Special, so my husband and I and my mother took Amtrak down from Boston and arrived at Penn Station. The hotel is a 20 minute walk with luggage on wheels along busy sidewalks. We asked very friendly NYPD officers for directions.
From the moment we stepped into the lobby of this hotel, we felt it's charm. We stayed for 2 nights, June 30-July 1st. The entire front desk staff, especially Cathy, greeted us with enthusiasm and answered those endless "tourist" questions with a gracious smile. Our room was a Junior Suite on the 10th floor. A queen size bed (very comfortable) with AC and a TV. Through the archway, my mom slept on a very comfortable day bed, with a TV and AC. The suite was clean and cozy.
When we arrived, we requested a refrigerator which was delivered by Will, a young man from Housekeeping within minutes.
The area around the hotel is well-lit and well-travelled. We felt very safe. There is an ATM on the lower level and a weight room (small/with 4 treadmills and a universal). Just go for a walk:)
Although the hotel does not provide free wi-fi,(silly), the deli mentioned below and most other
locations do.
We did not have a "view" of the city. We did not travel to NYC to just look out the window. For a view, we suggest a 3 block walk to the Empire State Building :)
The morning coffee and muffins were a great start to the day. We asked for recommendations to a deli for breakfast and walked just around the corner and down 2 blocks or so to
Au Bon Gout Gourmet Deli (276 5th Ave.) Here we were able to request made to order breakfast eggs, omelets, sandwiches, etc. They have great coffee, an extensive fresh fruit bar; salad bar; hot food; etc. They also have beer and wine. We asked them to wrap them for a day of sightseeing and they did so with enthusiasm.
We had easy access to shopping, cabs, dining, sightseeing and popular tourist attractions. The cab drivers were very friendly.
We took in 2 Off-Broadway Shows; a carriage ride through Central Park(a great history lesson) and several cab rides through the area. Uptown/Downtown travel is 1 block away. Madison Square Garden is right next to Penn Station- a mere 3 blocks.
Every time we asked for assistance, the Wolcott Hotel Staff went out of their way to help us. This is old-school charm, grace and most of all hospitality.
Thanks so much to NYC and the Wolcott Hotel Staff for a great visit!
K/B M

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miller Place
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

My daughter and I stayed here for one night following a concert at MSG. Very good location, close to Penn Station. We were upgraded to jr. Suite, which was an additional daybed, desk and t.v. Rooms are a bit dated, but very clean. Old world charm lobby. Muffins and coffee in morning was a nice touch. For the price, I would stay here again

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

I, my sister, sisters daughter, our mum and aunt stayed in Wolcott Hotel 5 nights in June. Hotel was very good, clean and cozy. Location was excellent! We had two rooms. Another was in inner court and it was very quiet place to sleep. Another room was in the street side and there were traffic noise, but it doesn't matter us :) I can gladly recommend this hotel!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We had a 5 night stay at the Wolcott Hotel. It was very close to most attractions and we walked all over NYC from the hotel. The muffins and coffee in the morning is a nice touch in an expensive city (around NZ$300 a night). The room was spacious and the staff were helpful.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wolcott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wolcott Hotel

Address: 4 West 31st Street, Between 5th Avenue & Broadway, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
#167 Family Hotel in New York City
#218 Business Hotel in New York City
#238 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wolcott Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Wolcott is located in the center of tourist New York. Near the Empire State building, NoMad,UN, Macys, Circle Line, theater district, SOHO, the High Line and all public transportation. The Hotel offers clean comfortable, modern accommodations in an old-world atmosphere at reasonable prices year round. We have been written about in many domestic and international guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Wolcott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wolcott Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wolcott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.