We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Wolcott Hotel to your Saves list
Wolcott Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4 West 31st Street, Between 5th Avenue & Broadway, New York City, NY 10001   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct for Best Rate
Ranked #234 of 458 Hotels in New York City
CAPITAL HEIGHTS
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

im giving this a star because of the history and the building itself was beautiful and the historical value behind it is amazing. BUT........

THE CUSTOMER SERVICE WAS PISS POOR!

Me and my two friends arrived a little early before check in time so we were told we could store bags in the back til check in. so after standing there a few minutes getting our things together i heard a whispered comment behind us from a female (possibly latina) employee " they must want somebody to get their bags" as if we should already known exactly where to go and they're not suppose to help us at all.
she was so rude but she finally came from behind the desk to show us where to store our bags. from there we kinda brushed it off and thought hey welcome to new york lol

so because we were to early to check-in we decided to go get lunch to kill time.

we returned a little after three oclock so we could check-in and we heard conversation between the manager and a employee about checking us into dirty rooms. we immediately questioned the conversation and again we got a rude response of "he's talking about another situation that has nothing to do with you" it was said so condescendingly, it was jus shocking that they would talk to customers that way.

so after we get our things together the manager gets us checked in and gave us our room keys we headed upstairs. and i couldn't believe what i saw when i walked in.
immediately as you enter the room there were undergarments on the bed then we started noticing other personal belongings all across the room.

THEY GAVE US KEYS TO A OCCUPIED ROOM!

thank goodness the guest wernt in the room as we walked in. we couldn't believe it, all we could think of was what if they did this to us. what if we stay here, leave the room and they give our room keys to another guest and they walk in our room and just decided to take all our valuables.

We just felt so uneasy we went back to the front desk to get our money back.
as we approached the front desk we calmly addressed the manager about the mistake and we want to receive a refund. at that point a female employee (same latina) at the desk tells us well you haven't been charged so you cant get any money back they only charge at check out. which was fine so we asked for documentation that we was canceling the room. from there we proceed to tell us no "you have to wait til your bank puts the money back on your card" now we was confused.
we expressed how uncomfortable we were about the mistake and we just want to cancel. but the female employee began raising her voice and said she couldn't just cancel the room and wouldn't give us documentation that we canceled it. we asked could we be accommodated in any way and the female employee says " he said he was sorry and we're giving you another room but because your deciding not to take it we're going to charge you for the night as a no show"
it was ridiculous! remember we arrived at the hotel BEFORE check-in and even came back after check-in so why in the world would we be charged as no shows?

she was so irate, loud, rolling eyes, the whole 9 yards. we couldn't believe this is what they was passing as customer service. and she wasn't even a manager. we asked to speak to him but she wouldn't let him get a word in edgewise. he barley said a word at all as she yelled at us for about 10 minutes even as customers were walking in she wouldn't let up. even another employee came up and said "just cancel it kathy they don't want to stay here just cancel it" and she rolls her eyes and yells "no that's not our policy and you know it, we're charging them as no shows"

I almost felt like we were on the show "Punked" it was crazy. so after fighting with this woman for what seemed like forever we and my cousin sat off to the side to get our heads straight my other friend decided to talk to the manager ALONE without the rude and loud female employee. after they talked for a few minutes the female employee and the manager came out and apologized.
she gave this spill about another customer before us chewed her out so she unintentionally took it out on us.
regardless she was completely unprofessional, rude, loud and completely unpleasant to deal with. and as a manager he should have got her in check and handled the situation himself instead of allowing his employee scream at us in front of customers. he ended up giving us a bigger room at no extra charge and we decided to stay, after all it was only for a night.

we didn't see that female employee the rest of our stay

she was the ONLY unpleasant part of my experience at this hotel. the building is beautiful and the other employees were really nice afterwards and the rest of our stay was fine. and the rooms were clean. be mindful that its a old building so the design and the size of the rooms our different from our modern commercial hotels.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    707
    281
    96
    68
See reviews for
308
466
61
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

The lobby is very striking and not what you would expect from outside. Like all city centre hotels you trade the view for the street noise. In addition, in this hotel, ye olde Victorian plumbing makes a bit of a racket too.

Bedrooms are shabby and dated but clean and comfortable. Location is great just a couple of blocks away from the Empire State Building.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witten, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Yes, it's clean, i slept well in my bed (once i got past the omnipresent Midtown background noise). You're just three blocks away from the Empire State Building, Macy's and the Garnment District are right around the corner. Staff was not as unfriendly as othere report here. So you might say it's a great value.

But let's face it, this Hotel could need a makeover ... the "old world charm" that other reviewers report might apply to the exterior and the lobby, the rooms are just old, you might also say used up.

We were unlucky and had to face a clogged toilet the first morning ... definitely not what you want to experience on your first morning in manhattan. I'm giving 3 points anyway, because i think it was just bad luck,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Yes, NYC is expensive and this can be considered "cheap" but... in any case it costs a lot of money and apart from the positition, honestly it is difficult to find reasons to come back!
Rooms are old, small and noisy (I think that the air conditioner has been made during the Second World War!), breakfast is not included... they "offer" muffins and coffee in the hall if you find place where to seat, finally people at the front desk seemed to be very annoyed.
Fortunately we stayed in the hotel only few hours and temperature allowed us to sleep without the air conditioner on... I'm sure that for the same price it is possible to find some deals in Manhattan, anyway at least it is clean!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern, CA.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This hotel is old and has so much character. The rooms are clean and the beds were comfortable even for twin beds. I wish they would renovated because this could be a very posh hotel. It is close to the subway about a 2 minute walk and it is so close to shopping. The detail in the ceilings are amazing. I was concerned about staying here and if you just want a clean room and a nice bed this is perfect. If you want expensive linens and room service do not stay here. They do give free Muffins, Coffee and tea in the morning. We didn't love the coffee but there is a Duncan Donut right across the street. You can't beat the location. Nice employees too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davyhulme,, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The Wolcott is in a perfect location for midtown Manhattan and just round the corner from the Empire State Building, Get a room at the front and you may get a partial view of ESB.
The hotel is an old building and is over 100 years old so the décor is from a bygone time. Don't expect super luxury or 5 star standards as you are not paying 5 star prices. The hotel has a great charm about what it is and what it also used to be and is priced to reflect this.
We found the hotel to be perfect for our needs, who spends their time in New York in their room anyway?
So it doesn't have Wifi, so what, Do your research before you go away, Use Starbucks or better still turn your phone or laptop off.
The Muffins and Coffee in the lobby are an ideal way to start your day too,
Overall great value, we would certainly use the Wolcott next time we visit NYC.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front and high up get some view of the ESB
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upwey, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Good sized room with comfortable bed in a really good position. We didn't require breakfast preferring to eat out, so not having a restaurant was not a problem. Did enjoy the free muffins and coffee in the lobby for breakfast and all the staff were very helpful. With the Empire State building, Maceys and Time Square not far from the hotel this made the location a great starting point. The Wolcott was recommended to me prior to my visit and I would recommend to anyone else going to NY especially if you are looking for something to use as a base not a resort

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wolcott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wolcott Hotel

Address: 4 West 31st Street, Between 5th Avenue & Broadway, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
#176 Family Hotel in New York City
#240 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wolcott Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Wolcott is located in the center of tourist New York. Near the Empire State building, NoMad,UN, Macys, Circle Line, theater district, SOHO, the High Line and all public transportation. The Hotel offers clean comfortable, modern accommodations in an old-world atmosphere at reasonable prices year round. We have been written about in many domestic and international guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Wolcott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wolcott Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wolcott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.