We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Thin Crust Pizzas Made to Order.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waldy's Wood-Fired Pizza & Penne

Waldy's Wood-Fired Pizza & Penne
800 Sixth Avenue, New York City, NY 10001 (Manhattan)
(212) 213-5042
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #586 of 11,771 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Terrific Thin Crust Pizzas Made to Order.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Great for sharing with a glass of 'good wine' or 'better wine' (or beer)as they advertise it, in a nicely funky, friendly atmosphere. Genuinely one of the best pizzas I've ever had, with good company, and no pretensions. Great place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    40
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Delicious pizza, tasty end to our day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Our Consiege recommended Waldy's as we had just arrived in NYC and were looking for a quick bite to eat, we being me, OH and 14 year old son. Small pizza just right for me and mediums for the boys. Friendly service, delicious pizza (fab crust). What more do you need?

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Just what we were looking for!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Stumbled across this after checking into our hotel much later than expected because our flight was delayed. A medium pizza and a pitcher of beer for 2 for less than $25? Unbelievable for NYC. We ordered the prosciutto and asparagus pizza and enjoyed every bite while striking up a conversation with a couple of locals.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Dissapointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The resturant is a "selfservice" resturant.
The pizzas is made well, but the cheese they use smells so bad, you loose your appetite.
If they changed to a desent quality cheese we would rate it 4.
Having a wood fired oven kind of sets a bar. Bad ingredients can only dissapoint.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleair Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“GREAT crust but should be called Waldy's Wood Fired Pizza and Parmesan!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Small place so unless you're going during off hours, order to go or call one in for pickup.
A little expensive for the amounts but you can add live herbs (clip yourself) to your pie which is nice.

Ordered 2 pies: 1 classic margherita and I think 1 sweet & hot sausage or pepperoni (I can't remember which tells you something)

the Crust? Outstanding!! Perhaps the best crust for a 'bar" style pie outside of Chicago, hands down.

The rest? Could have been great but OMG, parmesan cheese was so overwhelming that after a few bites that was all you could taste? Since you allow us to add it why do you need to have it so heavy?

Anyway, we were disappointed and had to suspend our 2013 NYC Pizza Crawl until the next day because we couldn't taste anything else.

Sorry, since the overpowering Parmesan can not be explained, I wont be coming back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waldy's Wood-Fired Pizza & Penne also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Waldy's Wood-Fired Pizza & Penne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waldy's Wood-Fired Pizza & Penne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.