We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice setting good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Papatzul

Papatzul
55 Grand St, New York City, NY 10013 (Manhattan)
(212) 274-8225
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Papatzul is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,834 of 11,596 restaurants in New York City
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: West Broadway
Transit: 1, A, C, E, N, Q, R & W Subways to Canal Street.
PADOVA
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Nice setting good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The place is nicely furnished and features a lot of old poster of mexican/latino movies of the old days. Tables are of a decent size, light allows to see what you have in your dish and music (latino...no doubt!!) is not too loud so you can even talk to your guest and hear the conversation. Colors are vivid and bright and menu is quite extensive, maybe too much. A long line of choices, some of them maybe a little complicated but this tells about the attempt of putting some creativity in old specialties. Staff will help you finding your way with a smile on and some good advice. Anyway food is good enough, tap beer is good enough and at the end the bill is not overwhelming so a nice option for new York city's Soho.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    21
    16
    2
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
NY, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Papatzul has great food and yummy margaritas. I thought it was a little pricey for the amount of food though. Guacamole was a must have!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great service, super food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We booked and went, which turned out to be a great because within minutes of our arrival there was a long line waiting outside.
First thing first - don't order Sangria. NOT good. We felt that some of the fruit in the Sangria was over ripe and the wine in it vinegary. The house wine though, ordered by the glass was very pleasant. We tried a tamarind Jarrito which was really lovely - sweet-sour and fruity without being overpowering.
We started with Totopos Con Guacamole - excellent Guacamole with light, crisp tortilla chips.
Ensalada De Palmito - nice and crunchy. Quesito Con Salsa De Chile Ancho, Pasilla Y Piloncillo - the brie was melted to perfection. The sweet nutty taste was perfectly balanced with the savory notes of the pasilla. Couldn't fault it. Tacos De Carne Asada Con Chile De Arbol - we wished we'd ordered more and ended up ordering another one. Flautas De Pollo Con Salsa Borracha - another winner, the tortillas being crisp and the salsa had a tangy bite to it. We were still hungry so we ordered Taquitos De Tinga Poblana - small chipotle beef, salsa and sour cream tacos.
the food was tasty, served quickly and with a smile. The service was attentive and very cheerful.
I'd go there again. The food was authentic, with a slightly toned down spice level. SOHO is a great location with eye popping designer stores.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, NJ
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Yummy Fish Tacos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Tried Papatzul out for lunch today and was very pleased. The grilled fish tacos were so tasty and filling. They had some type of sauce that really made it. Also tried the Taquitos De Cochinita Pibil which were pork tacos and they were great and were served a large portion as well. Atmosphere was very quaint and authentic. Only downfall was that it was HOT inside so my group was sweating for a majority of the meal.

Would absolutely return to try some of the other dishes.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Guacamole is to die for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Cute neighborhood place. Great location away from SoHo shopping but close enough to everything. Great, robust menu. Guacamole was to die for. Just get that! I had the Budin Al Pasilla which was a layered tortilla casserole with chicken, black beans, cheese and cream. How can you go wrong!? It was delicious but thought it could use a little more kick.

Margaritas left quite a bit to be desired. Got it served in a lowball glass. It was the Hibiscus margarita and would not order it again. Happy hour specials only apply while sitting at the bar.

Got incredibly loud in here around 9PM on Friday night. That's purely an acoustic issue just know that you will have to strain to hear when it;s a full house.

Strongly suggest making a reservation to guarantee seating on a weekend night. We got lucky.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papatzul also viewed

 

Been to Papatzul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Papatzul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.