We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing little find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shake Shack

Shake Shack
Southeast Corner of Madison Square Park, Near Madison Ave. and E. 23rd St., New York City, NY 10010
2128896600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 11,765 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Ice Cream, Hot Dogs
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Shake Shack is a modern day version of a roadside burger stand from Danny Meyer's Union Square Hospitality Group. Serving delicious burgers, fries, hot dogs, frozen custard, beer, wine and more!
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing little find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We enjoyed a lovely bite to eat and we're happy to find this little surprise. The service was fast and very welcoming and asked everything we wanted in our burgers, the burger themselves were to scream and shout about they really were tasty and full of flavour.I enjoyed my burger so much I felt the need to enjoy another one. Defiantly would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,802 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,562
    881
    266
    55
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkby-in-Ashfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Yum Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We had been looking forward to visiting and it didn't dissapoint. The setting is lovely and the food is delicious. There isn't alot of seating but due to the nature of the food people are coming and going regularly so getting a seat isn't a problem.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nom, nom, nom”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I had one thing I wanted to do on my birthday - eat an awesome burger. I did my research and all roads led here. My other half, being the detail man he is even compared shake shack for shake shack....and the MSG one came out on top.

Oh boy, is it a tasty burger! I say it again, nom, nom, nom.

The double patty is worth it for their shakeshack burger. Tasty cheese, fresh bun, just the right amount of salad. I don't like to faff with a burger or it's accompaniments - so salted fries and a vanilla shake were all that was needed to make this the perfect burger experience.

'he' went for one of each, single patty - smokeshack and shakeshack. Preferring something a little more exotic, I understand the smokeshack is also highly recommended for those who like to move away from a purist approach to their burgers.

A peanut butter shake was also tried and adored. And for our friends dog, a pooch-ini - well it is NYC.

And to top it off it was a bright, crisp, sunny day in MSG, so the perfect place to chow down on our burgers.

What a great birthday treat....

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic burgers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

we decided to try this on a friends recommendation, I guess going to New York a visit to a burger joint is a must, I would not do it in the UK anyway. This was the best burger I have had, I had the smokeshack with cheesey fries. The bill for two was $32 as we had a few extras. I wanted to go back but this is very popular and gets busy, a sign of a good place. There is nothing like like this in the uk, as far as I am aware.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Shake Shake is probably one of the best places in NYC where you can get an awesome burger.

The service is great and very quick, don't be afraid of the queue! The restaurant is also well located.

Only one thing to improve: The number of seats and tables. The restaurant needs definitely more!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shake Shack also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Shake Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shake Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.