We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun dinner in the park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shake Shack

Shake Shack
Southeast Corner of Madison Square Park, Near Madison Ave. and E. 23rd St., New York City, NY 10010
2128896600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 11,777 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Ice Cream, Hot Dogs
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Shake Shack is a modern day version of a roadside burger stand from Danny Meyer's Union Square Hospitality Group. Serving delicious burgers, fries, hot dogs, frozen custard, beer, wine and more!
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A fun dinner in the park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Shake Shack is a great little burger joint in the middle of Madison Square Park. Service is quick and friendly, you get given a buzzer and go fetch your food from the window. Great shakes!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,804 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,562
    882
    267
    55
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good shakes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

The Shake Shack we went to was in Madison Square Park and we just had shakes. The hamburgs looked amazing and we wanted to get back here to try one but fate decided otherwise. Next trip though! The shake did not disappoint and was worth the wait!! Can't wait to try the burger! Sitting in the park was nice and relaxing.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT burgers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Went in here the other week whilst staying in New York with my wife. This place had been recommended to us by our hotel & it did not disappoint

I had the SmokeShack burger with cheese fries & Hopscotch frozen custard (vanilla, caramel & chocolate!). These were all excellent, espcially the burger. Rich & juicy & really tasty. The frozen custard is a good way to finish of the meal as well (the wife ate most of mine!)

Have just found out there's one in London now so will definitely be heading there soon!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giessen, Germany
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Sick of Mc D. or B. King? This is yours!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Went there because of the good reviews here on Trip Advisor.
When we saw the long lane we first didn't wanted to wait. But we were hungry, so we stayed. it were yummi burgers and hot dogs.the bread had a special taste. the meat was perfect, fries too. But all in all not the best burgers I every had.
So when you search another flavour then the common burger stores than taste shacke shack. If you are in a hurry skip it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Galway
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Long queues but the burgers are delish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We went here one chilly November evening around 5pm, there was still a queue of around 20 minutes before we got served. Our order got slightly mixed up, but not in a bad way as we got an extra burger thrown in. The food was excellent, burgers extremely tasty and the fries weren't bad either. We got one 'concrete' to share and it was more than enough to be perfectly honest. You need to be lucky to get a table though when it's busy (we were).

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shake Shack also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Shake Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shake Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.