We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but yum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shake Shack

Shake Shack
Southeast Corner of Madison Square Park, Near Madison Ave. and E. 23rd St., New York City, NY 10010
2128896600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 11,765 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Ice Cream, Hot Dogs
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Shake Shack is a modern day version of a roadside burger stand from Danny Meyer's Union Square Hospitality Group. Serving delicious burgers, fries, hot dogs, frozen custard, beer, wine and more!
Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Small but yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This place has a very cool atmosphere located in the park. There is a wait to order and another wait for your food, also a bit pricey. The burgers, fries and shake are all small but I enjoyed it :). I would go again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,802 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,562
    881
    266
    55
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Famous outdoor burger place in pleasant park”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Shake Shack is apleasant experience on a sunny day in Manhattan
Burgers taste very good though bread is disappointing
To avoid queues and get a table, be there early

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Over Priced!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The burger was actually quite good. However, I do not have cheesy chips to experience the orange cheap melted cheese on top, I have cheesy chips to experience hot stretchy cheese that tastes like cheese!! The milk shake was OK, but my main reason for 1 star is the price. Two of us had one burger, one fries and one drink each and it came to £35!! However I left no more satisfied than I would leave a McDonalds...but I was out of pocket by £25. NEVER AGAIN!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Wicklow, Ireland
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Pretty good if you're in the neighbourhood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The combined experience of the good food, nice park, sitting out on a balmy summer day and people watching made this an enjoyable lunch. Not sure i would go out of my way for it again but worth experiencing once.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great burgers and shakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Visiting this eatery was on our list of things to do while in NYC, however after seeing the line the first day we went there, we almost gave up. Luckily we were staying nearby and one day, on our way back from the subway, we noticed the line was almost non-existent and were able to grab a quick bite to eat for an early dinner before a broadway show. Burgers were great, I especially recommend the shroom burger.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shake Shack also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Shake Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shake Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.