We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A neighborhood favorite - Midtown East” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Destino - CLOSED

Destino
891 1st Ave, New York City, NY 10022-8009 (Midtown)
212-751-0700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 50th Street
Transit: Lexington and 53rd Street Station: E or 6 Train
New York, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A neighborhood favorite - Midtown East”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I've eaten at this restaurant many times and it's always wonderful. The staff is friendly and very knowledgeable. The food is excellent. There are always great specials to chose from as well as the usual offerings.

There a nice private room that will seat 15 to 20 people which is great for a small party. Destino's has a private bar area.

There's just one criticism about the restaurant. It's very noisy when it's busy so it's difficult to the people speaking at one's table. Consequently everyone is yelling which only makes it more difficult to hear people.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    17
    2
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Good but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Pleasant staff and a good and varied menu. The food is very well prepared, fresh and flavorful, but it's expensive.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food, Excellent service...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This place is awesome. My friends and are had so much fun. We went for a dinner and we had amazing experience. The playlist was so very well selected, a mix of great Italian songs that went great as our dinner did. The cocktail list is small, but the drinks are really well selected. My friends liked the Pometini, Sangria Margarita, and Bella Americana.Strong, but worth every penny. As we moved toward the table, the hostess was really engaging and friendly and gave us the best table where we could enjoy the coming crowd, as it was a busy night, the scenic ceiling painting, and bring our memories of Italy back. We started with some of their special appetizers for the day, which were stuffed zucchini with mozarella cheese and ricotta, and stuffed artichokes. They were divine. My friends had chicken franchese, and the special veal chop with mushroom, mozarella and spinach. Oh, I think everyone should try Destino's food. And bring a lot of people as they have big party space and trust me it is fun. And for desert try the twenty layers crepe cake, pistachio tartufo, and the tiramisu. The service was impeccable as well. The staff is so young and they make everyone so welcome in their "castle". Great experience, great food, highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“The best Italian Restaurant!!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We went to Destino last Friday. It was three of us. We didn't have reservation but hostess been really nice and gave us a table in 5 minutes. We enjoyed food and atmosphere. I order special black lobster ravioli. It was Delicious!!!!! Service was also outstanding. Highly recommend you to visit Destino.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Liked it alot!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Very nice restaurant overall. Good food and good service and good environment. Typical NYC inflated prices for some things but not terrible. Thanks for a nice dinner!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Destino also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Destino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.