We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great mexican” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Frida

Cafe Frida
368 Columbus Ave, New York City, NY 10024-5109 (Upper West Side)
(212) 712-2929
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Frida is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3,326 of 11,181 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
Transit: Subway 1 to 79 st Subway 2, 3 to 72 st Subway C to 81st Bus M7
Description: The authenticity in our Mexican Regional Cuisine is a ritual of flavors, aromas, colors and textures dedicated to your soul. Our knowledge and passion for the tequila culture has been awarded by the Tequila Regulatory Council of Mexico since 2006, making us one of the few restaurants in the world of having such honor. Come and enjoy the warmth of Mexico!
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“great mexican”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

great mexican food on the upper west side. The staff is friendly, but not overly pushy. The food was yummy- we had steak and shrimp fajitas which were excellent. The enchiladas were also tasty and not too heavy. The guacamole
was some of the best we ever had. We'll definitely be heading back there.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    75
    42
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Cafe Frida on Upper West Side”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Café Frida has a festive vibe and a very welcoming staff. A local fave on Columbus Ave right across from the Museum of Natural History. Great marguritas, homemade guac, traditional Mexican dishes. Sit upstairs for a more quiet spot.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“OK for the neighborhood ... maybe”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Four of us made a 5:30 Saturday reservation for dinner before a 7:30 theater performance a few blocks away. The restaurant was near empty when we arrived, about half full when we left a bit before 7:00. Having, among us, eaten at scores of Mexican restaurants in the city, and across the southwest, we decided to try Cafe Frida for the first time due to its proximity to the theater. We won't be retuning. There was nothing particularly unpleasant about our dinner but, at the same time, nothing to recommend it given the increasing quality of Mexican offerings all over the city. We had an array of margaritas, none particularly strong, the only standout being the "Diabla", made with blood orange; a bland, queso fundido with chorizo, poorly melted cheese, and inadequately warmed corn tortillas; shredded pork tacos that were bland and crying out for some kind of salsa to moisten them (none is offered with the tacos, and the (Englsh-speaking) waiter seemed not to understand our request to find something to perk them up); a bland chile relleno (which, at least, they'd gone to the effort to peel before filling); the "tamal del día" which was oily and as bland as the rest of the courses, not helped by the accompanying near-tasteless salsa; and a "jalapeña" salad, the most satisfying of the dishes we ordered. In all, a very disappointing meal, one we won't be repeating. Having not tried other Mexican restaurants in the immediate neighborhood, I can't say with certainty you can do better locally. I'd be shocked if you can't, however.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“great food, best ever guacamole, bit loud”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

There is a real shortage of mexican restaurants in the UK and those that exist tend to be very greasy, cheese heavy affairs. So cafe frida was a real treat.

Guacamole wad amazing, only downside of there wasn't enough of it! Mains were great, not food I am familiar with but the street food menu was amazing. Portion sizes were great, not overwhelming.

The music was a little too loud and a little too dancey and i don't think a restaurant needs football on the television. Service was good.

I did try a spiced beer with lime and soy. I thought it revolting, fair to say it is an acquired taste.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great experience at Cafe Frida!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My boyfriend and I visited Cafe Frida on recommendations from friends of ours. Everything from the drinks to the desserts were great. The tampiquena was outstanding and the coconut flan do die for. The service was very good. We will definitely recommend it and look forward to dining at Cafe Frida again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Frida also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Cafe Frida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Frida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.