We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Venue” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dizzy's Club - Jazz at Lincoln Center

Dizzy's Club - Jazz at Lincoln Center
Frederick P. Rose Hall, home of Jazz at Lincoln Center, Broadway at 60th Street, New York City, NY 10023 (Midtown)
212 258-9595
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #280 of 11,181 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Broadway @ 60th Street
Transit: 1,A,B,C,D trains
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Wonderful Venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Located in the Time Warner Center the 2 story windows behind the stage at this Lincoln Center Jazz venue overlook Columbia Circle and Central Park. We went on a Monday in December and were treated to a wonderful concert by the young, very talented musicians in the club's jazz orchestras. The white lights and snow were a perfect backdrop.
There is an admission fee and minimum that is easily covered with one drink. They offer a menu ranging from snacks to full meals but I go for the jazz not the food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    51
    14
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Horrible food and service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Beautiful setting and music was awesome. The appetizers were horrible and after an hour waiting for our entrees, we canceled them. Management tried to comp our entrees but it wasn't worth it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Good show, about 1 hour 20 mins which was a little bit shorter than expected but was perfect nonetheless. The acoustics in the club are great. We booked 2 table seats and were originally seated with another couple. The downside to this was that they had arrived first and so our seat were the ones facing away from the stage so we had to turn them so the table was behind us and it felt like we weren't really sitting together. But, there was a free table at the start of the show which we were allowed to move to so all turned out fine.
The cocktails were very good. We didn't eat but the menu looked a bit pricy.
The building dizzys is in also has a couple of restaurants and nice bars which we went to before and after the show which made a good night out.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Jazz Lovers Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

As a tourist, Dizzy's was everything I imagined. Classy, supper club atmosphere with high quality jazz. First, make sure you have a reservation. When I arrived, I still had to stand in line. People were dressed from casual to dressy. It is definitely an intimate date spot, though I was traveling alone. The staff was attentive but did not interrupt doing sets. I had a bucket - really an aluminum bucket - of fries as a snack. My cocktails, martinis were made perfectly. The best part of the restaurant was the jazz. When you stay late, you are treated with impromptu jazz jam sessions. This is somewhere I would visit every time I am in New York

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Superior in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We are jazz lovers; the music offerings are excellent. This is hands down one of the nicest setting in New York (not just for a jazz club). Fabulous view of central park. Food is good and well prepared. Staff is friendly and not intrusive. The big bargain is the 11:30 show.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dizzy's Club - Jazz at Lincoln Center also viewed

 

Been to Dizzy's Club - Jazz at Lincoln Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dizzy's Club - Jazz at Lincoln Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.