We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for jazz” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dizzy's Club - Jazz at Lincoln Center

Dizzy's Club - Jazz at Lincoln Center
Frederick P. Rose Hall, home of Jazz at Lincoln Center, Broadway at 60th Street, New York City, NY 10023 (Manhattan)
212 258-9595
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #417 of 11,777 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: Broadway @ 60th Street
Transit: 1,A,B,C,D trains
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great spot for jazz”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The music is Terrific and the view is fantastic. There is a full menu but you can just have a drink or appetizer. The charge for the music is reasonable and the table minimum is low. The setting is sophisticated and intimate. The shows are great and usually last just over an hour. This is good choice for a special evening.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    43
    12
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Great jazz venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I had booked a table for the 7:30PM show. We arrived at 6:30PM and all the best tables were already gone. :o( You learn from you mistake.
Great venue with a fantastic view on Central Park and Colombus Circle.
Service is fast and attentive. The food is quite decent for a jazz club. We started with the N'awlins fry, fried crawfish, shrimps, oysters and calamari on a tasty remoulade. and the fried green tomatoes. Both very good. We then had the pork shank (huge) served with black eye peas (a little bit dry), my duck confit on dirty rice was a good and generous portion.
The lemon tart had a runny custard and was disappointing.
Overall with a bottle of wine, expect to pay arond $250.00 ($70.00 covercharge).

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Plainly disrespectful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I've just had my first experience at this venue, It couldn't have been worse,
This morning, I stopped by to see if there were any seats available for the night sets. There weren't, but the very kind lady who talked to me insisted that I should come by at 10pm, to be seated at 10:30, for the late night session that would start at 11.
So there I was. Because the 9:30 set had started late, I waited in line for one hour. Though I was very tired, I thought it would be worth it. As soon as I got inside, I would sit at a table and be able to have something to eat and drink and listen to good music.
Even though I was the first in line, the hostess led me to a high chair in the back. My feet couldn't touch the floor, so I couldn't rest my legs. No table either, just a narrow counter behind me. And they would have me pay a $20 cover charge.
It's true that most of the tables were still occupied by people who had been at the 9:30 set and were allowed to stay there, but I had been standing for one hour. Was it because I was all by myself? I'll never know. Shocked by how I was treated, I just walked out. And I'm not going back there.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“good music and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

It is usually difficult to have places that have good music and good food. This place is the answer, the music is excellent at least the night we went with my wife. we decided to eat there like this to have the hassle of finding a place before or after. I was very suspicious at first but when the bread arrived, then I started to relax. Of course we are not talking three stars at the Michelin but considering the price the location the diversity of the food, the quality was good. I tried my dishes and all dishes of my wife and no exception everything was well prepared and well balanced definitely a go in my books. The best is that the music is very good and since the orchestra is in front of Glass wall, you have an unbelievable view of Central Park and the sky of New York, beautiful company ( my wife), excellent music, good food, one of the best evening of my trip.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Modern and intimate place to see jazz”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Dizzy's isn't like your typical jazz club insomuch that it isn't old, and have the aura of legends having played there for decades. What it is is a thoroughly modern restaurant/club on the fifth floor of the Time Warner Center with a great view out the back of the stage, which provides its own authentic charm. There's no bad seat in the place - it's just not that big. The sound's good. And the people are nice. So in my book it's a winner. The food is - for a jazz club - decent, by no means amazing and a bit pricey (which is the price you pay to be so close to a headline musician). If the convenience of seeing the show and eating at the same time sounds appealing, go for it. If not, eat somewhere else beforehand or after, and just enjoy an appetizer and a drink.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dizzy's Club - Jazz at Lincoln Center also viewed

 

Been to Dizzy's Club - Jazz at Lincoln Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dizzy's Club - Jazz at Lincoln Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.